We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located hotel to explore Bamburgh and the Northumbrian coast.”
Review of Mizen Head Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mizen Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Bamburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Ideally located hotel to explore Bamburgh and the Northumbrian coast.”
Reviewed 2 October 2010

My partner and I have just spent a couple of days at the Mizen Head Hotel while see the Northumbrian coast.
The staff were friendly, particularly Crissy who checked us in.
The room decor was very pleasant similar to the photos on the site.
We had driven quite some distance so decided to eat in the hotel on Thursday when we arrived. There was a pizza buffet and salad bar which was very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4_Seasoned_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    63
    14
    12
    11
See reviews for
50
193
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hope
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

The Good.
The food was cooked to order and was very nice, Fiona,s fish and chips was a massive meal. The girl on the bar was very helpful and pleasant. Thursday is pizza night, which was a nice change and the quiz on Friday nights is good fun , organised by some local people for charity.

The Bad.
We arrived early afternoon and were greeted by a young lady ,she was talking in spanish or something to a freind on a mobile phone. She tried to register us , but was having difficulty operating the laptop on reception, maybe this was because she was still on the mobile to her freind. Eventually she told us we were in room No 1, and showed us to our room. Great view of the workforce coming too and from the adjacent building site, builders cars and vans everywhere.

The room itself was clean and well decorated, then the night! We were in bed trying to sleep when the occupents of room 2 came in. When they were walking round it sounded as though they were in the same room as us. When they got into bed then our bed physically moved. The walls are obviouslly extremely thin???. The next night, new occupants in room 2. Young couple, very passionate, lots of noise, grunting and groaning........Nice. Won't bother with this one again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopevalleydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Perhaps we expected too much, but we left disappointed after our stay.

First the good:-
Very friendly staff, fabulous views(at the front), good food, nice sized family room.
The bad:-
Ought to have informed us this backs onto an active building site. Work started before 8am on the Saturday morning.
Certainly ought to have told us that they had booked a 21st birthday party on the Saturday night. We couldn't use the main bar as it was full of party guests, and the music blared on past 12.30 at night. We booked were there with a small child and specifically advised we were treating our mother in law to a 60th birthday weekend break. Had we wanted to listen to tub-thumping music until the early hours we would have booked a stay next to a night club. On check out offered us £30 off our £460 bill.
Mucked up our deposit. Took £230 instead of £100, then despite protestations refused to accept we had paid £230 at checkout. I asked this to be checked with the manager who confirmed only £100 paid. Only after I'd returned home to prove that £230 taken from my account was the extra money refunded. Should not have come to this.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cakhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Check-in at the Mizen couldn't have been easier and we were shown to our small but clean, comfortable double room.
Dinner in the bar was lovely, proper home cooked food, it did take a little while however I'd much rather have freshly prepared, tasty food than microwaved rubbish and I don't think waiting 25mins for your meal is unacceptable...
I have noticed others complaining of dog smells in the hotel - we had no prolems of this kind. It is clearly noted at the entrance that dogs are welcome and there were a few dogs in the bar area when we were eating but they were kept on leash and were sleeping under tables where owners were eating. Not a problem at all to us.
The friendly atmosphere in the bar was lovely and the service was excellent. The owners and staff could not have been more helpful and we were made to feel like part of the family.
Live music in the bar most Saturday evenings is fantastic and well worth a visit, home grown talent - we had a great time.
Breakfast was exactly what we needed, fresh, homecooked food in a clean, friendly environment.

I will definitely be back to sample to family atmosphere, home cooking and brilliant live music!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyneandsoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2010

The hotel was good value for money, great location for beach and centre of Bamburgh. Don't eat at the Forsters Hotel/restaurant, horrible food and no atmosphere. Do eat at Blacketts, lovely food, service and nice friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trampin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Didnt stay in the hotel this time bud did pop in for evening bar meal on Monday 2nd Aug 2010 with wife and kids. Only one memeber of staff seen who was acting as sole barmaid and waitress and later as mediator. Flatulent dog belonging to guests a few tables from us frequently released clouds of unpleasant fumes that travelled all the way to tables at the top of the room. The regular emmissions of foul stench were ignored by the dogs owners despite children at all tables complaining in loud voice at the offputing pong. Barmaid kindly opened some windows at my request to help alleviate the stench. Food ordered took over an hour to arrive at out table despite being relatively simple pizza and fish and chips.Other tables who ordered before us took even longer and at least one family with 3 young (very patient given the wait) children left before they completely lost the will to live waiting foir their meal. The long wait really spoiled the experince for us though the food was nice when it arrived. Put us off returning for the weekend to stay in the hotel ginven the poor service. I did request that my round of drinks be free to us given poor experinece which was agreed to. Very disappointed with this experience and would not return there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hotpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We recently spent 3 nights B&B (at £100/night) and were not impressed. Very expensive for what it was, basically a Travelodge with a much smaller room. They conveniently charged my card with the full 3 nights before we arrived, perhaps they were expecting people to try to cut short their stay.

Room (newish, in recent extension) was VERY small. Bathroom ditto. Both reasonably new but bathroom not very clean at all. Areas of tiling covered in soap/toothpaste/whatever splashes and never cleaned. Towels not changed in 3 days, and both cups and bathroom mugs not clean. Oh yes, a wardobe with a rail at about 2 metres high. I am not that short and it was a real stretch to reach a hanger. Anyone under about 5'6" would have a problem.

No lounge, just a public bar that doubles as a restaurant and residents space. Ambiance nil points. Dogs welcome (but not by me !) Food was just about acceptable on the first night, the rest of the time we ate elsewhere ! I really don't want strangers dogs poking around my table when I'm eating dinner.

Oh yes, it's right beside a building site, so expect diggers/concrete mixers and general mayhem from 7:30am onwards.

I will not be going back !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CousinJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
198 reviews
6.5 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,203 reviews
4.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
23.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
13.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mizen Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizen Head Hotel

Property: Mizen Head Hotel
Address: Lucker Road, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bamburgh
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mizen Head Bamburgh
Hotel Mizen Head
Mizen Head Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing