We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
149
25
4
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
25
4
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily hometea and cakegreen roombudle bayholy islandthe secret gardencountry housewalk along the beachsweeping staircaseoffered teagreat place for familygrand pianohonesty barbeautiful houseporridgesitting room'lived in'
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is our second time at Budle Hall and the new hosts, Ralph and Celia, went out of their way to make the weekend very special.
The rooms are very spacious with lots of character with ours having a very large walk in shower.
The breakfast was excellent with a wide range to choose from including traditional full English to salmon and kippers. There is also a choice of quality wines hidden away in Ralph's cellar to relax with in the evening.
They are making a number of positive changes (including very comfy super king size beds) without losing the charm and character of the place with the antique furniture and ancestors paintings on the walls, this is a real family home and you are made very welcome.
The village of Bamburgh (and it's fantastic beach) are just a mile away were there is a surprisingly large choice of pubs and restaurants to choose from,
We will definitely visit again and would recommend to anyone looking for something different from the hotel chains.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark_elliott88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was our first stay at Budle since it changed hands. The hall is an amazing old place with high ceilings and big rooms. The current owners are gradually upgrading the place but this sort of property takes lots of time and money so don't expect perfection. What you get instead is a charming country house experience with gracious and thoughtful hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. We were given lifts to and from the excellent local gastro seafood pub, tea and cake in front of an open fire when we staggered in after a long wet walk on the fabulous beach and a hot water bottle in our large and very comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent with a range of options including fresh eggs from their chickens. They have a short but well chosen list of alcoholic drinks on offer including some lovely wine from the original wine cellar. We absolutely loved it and it felt like we had been staying with friends as we left. Would definitely recommend this so long as you don't want a sterile business hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancashireBlackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this charming house full of character and delightful antique furniture with an outlook over fields and woods. The bedrooms are tastefully furnished and the beds are very comfortable.
Our hosts Jo and David were very happy to help and answer questions about the locality. They also cooked our breakfast and dinner to order as our group was more than 6 persons and the food was of very high standard and locally sourced. It was also so quiet and peaceful being off the beaten track a little and we finished off our stay with a walk along the beach in perfect weather which was a bonus. We would definitely recommend Budle for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jainine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My partner and I stayed her for 2 nights over the recent bank holiday. The whole experience was good from the initial phone call to the actual stay. Upon our arrival we were met by the proprietor and shown to our clean and pleasantly decorated room. Breakfast was freshly cooked at our requested time. Both the kippers and the full English were excellent with as much toast as you cared to make for yourself plus many jams and marmalade, fresh fruit and an assortment of cereals too numerous to list here. There was also the cutest of little cats called Imelda who is simply adorable and such a little character.
I would highly recommend this establishment and we will definitely be re-visiting this area and this B&B again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was our second stay with Jo and David who are the perfect hosts and most accommodating. The rooms we booked were very well appointed and the beds very very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order and 5 of us demolished the full English.

Jo and David, thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews