We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$224/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillcrest House(Bamburgh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
147
25
4
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
25
4
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily hometea and cakeyellow roombudle bayholy islandthe secret gardencountry housewalk along the beachsweeping staircaseoffered teagrand pianohonesty barlocal eateriesbeautiful houseporridge'lived in'felt like home
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2014

We have just returned from a three night break with friends in Budle Hall. We all found it a relaxing and comfortable place to stay. It is a beautiful country house and our rooms were spacious, spotlessly clean and very attractive with the whitest of sheets and towels. Our hosts were delightful people who made us feel welcome. As we .left we agreed Budle Hall is a place we would like to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

Delightful hosts who made us very welcome. Nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was particularly enjoyable in the large dining room; all the guests (from 4 to 9 when we were there) sat at the long table and conversation was usually very lively. One morning breakfast lasted from 08.30 till 10.00! We stayed a week and were more than happy.
Our dogs were made welcome, even when our Labrador helped herself to the chickens' food and our Jack Russell found the resident dog's plate and helped himself. Celia even offered to collect us from a restaurant and drive us back to Budle one evening.
Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: We found the red room perfect. Large and very comfortable. The private bathroom is however down the landing. I think the other rooms mainly have ensuites.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2014

We have just had a wonderful weekend staying in Budle Hall with our friends. We are a family of four (children aged 3 and 5) and stayed with five other adult friends and this beautiful home was just perfect for us. We all had huge rooms on the first floor which had fabulously comfortable beds and were clean and decorated in a style in keeping with the period of the hall. Our (family room) bathroom was enormous with a free standing claw footed bath and a modern powerful shower. Guests have free access to a large portion of the hall including a dining room and living room. The latter having an open fire and was a perfect place to chat over a glass of red wine in comfortable sofas after the children were asleep. There is a good range of breakfast options available using local produce where possible and all made beautifully by our hosts. Celia and Ralph were the perfect hosts, warm and welcoming and providing local and historical information whenever we asked. They made excellent restaurant recommendations and even made the booking for us. They had all our needs covered, such as appearing with wine glasses when we came downstairs with bottles of wine and even offered medication when I mentioned our daughter had a fever. They kindly invited our children to play in their children's play room and allow free access to the beautiful grounds and two walled gardens. With their children playing with ours and their very relaxed dog Ziggy strolling around it was understandably difficult to get our children away when it actually came time to leave! There is an easy walk down to the local beach which was perfect for the runners in our group and the stunning Bamburgh Golf Course is only a few minutes drive away for the golfers. We would highly recommend staying at Budle Hall and will make sure we fit in another stay here before we leave the UK in a few months time.

Room Tip: We had a look in all the rooms and they were all beautiful.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014

We hired all of Budle Hall for the three days of our wedding. The hall was the evening venue for the wedding itself, and a base and wedding party accomodation for the day before and after. We also stayed as B&B guests while arranging the wedding.

As a B&B, staying at Budle is a lovely, calming experience. The hall is a very welcoming building in a beautiful location. Ralph and Celia always made us feel welcome as guests, and know when to be visible and when to leave us to our own devices. The hall is the opposite of an impersonal hotel - there are family pictures and souveniers, often children playing in the garden and hallway, and Ziggy the dog mooching around. As this is a B&B not a hotel there is no on site restuarant or bar, but if needed Ralph or Celia will help you arrange a meal out and transport. With notice they can also arrange a meal in the hall. The breakfasts are always fantastic! The guest rooms and bathrooms are large and decorated in a old-fashioned style that suits the hall, though I have to admit a touch more modern luxury would be welcome when it comes to the shower.

At the time of writing Budle Hall is not licensed for weddings, so we married at the nearby Blue Bell in Belford then moved to Budle for the evening. As a wedding venue Budle Hall was absolutely ideal for us. It it basically a large house with extensive gardens into which (Ralph and Celia permitting) you can drop whatever you want. This allowed us to put together a very personal day. The Hall itself does not have a ballroom or function room so we hired a double tipi for music and dancing, and used the reception rooms in the hall to lay out a buffet and as areas for people to sit and chat away from the music. We found the slight separation worked very well for our guests, in particularly the older relations who enjoyed having a real, comfortable sitting room to relax in. All our guests said how lovely the hall was, and those who found time for a walk to the beach before the dancing started were entranced by the views accross to Holy Island.

Ralph and Celia were very flexible and worked with us in the run up to the wedding to help us get what we wanted. They do not have fixed vendors so you are not locked into anyone, but they do have a good local network of suppliers they can recommend if necessary. They also arranged an on-the-day coordinator without whom the day would never have run so smoothly (thank you Liz Cross). We had access to the hall from Thursday for the tipis to be set up, and were able to leave them until Monday so we had time on Sunday to relax with family and close friends. If you do hire Budle Hall for an event, be aware that as noted the hall does not have hotel-style facilites so depending on the type of event you want you may have to hire things like a bar and/or waiting staff, generator, catering kitchen and extra toilets. Note also that there is a strict noise curfew at midnight, but we hired a silent disco for our guests to keep dancing which worked very well for us.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lizbubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here over a long weekend with all our friends and family to celebrate our wedding. Celia and Ralph are amazing. From when we first visited the hall nearly a year before our special weekend right up until the day. All of our guests were very impressed by the beautiful house, delicious breakfasts and perfect service. You are truly made to feel at home. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend Budle Hall for anyone visiting the area who wants a relaxed holiday in an idyllic location.

Room Tip: This is not a new hotel but a beautiful old house so there are quirks in and imperfections but they are what makes it so wonderful. We booked every room and they are all lovely, clean, spacious and well equipped with beautiful views.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SJWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews