We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
151
25
4
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
25
4
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family home tea and cake green room budle bay holy island the secret garden country house walk along the beach sweeping staircase offered tea great place for family grand piano honesty bar beautiful house porridge sitting room 'lived in'
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

A fantastic place to stay in a beautiful location. Very clean and comfortable with an excellent choice for breakfast which was cooked brilliantly and served with the same high level of customer service as everything was given.
The hosts are fantastic with nothing too much trouble. They will even drop you off at your local pub of choice for an evening meal and pick you up again with no charge.
They also offer free tea, coffee and cake in the afternoon.
I cannot emphasise enough the high level of customer service and the care they take to make your stay so enjoyable.
I can guarantee that if you stay here once you will rebook, we certainly will!

Mike & Jean, Batley, West Yorkshire.

Room Tip: Any room will be loved.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mikeburlingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budle H, Manager at Budle Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This is a beautiful property. Very well run. Nice hosts. Breakfast was lovely. Location fantastic, with a beautiful beach a few yards away. The owners recommendations for dinner nearby were appreciated and also very good. This is a family home, comfortable, tastefully decorated, with a really pleasant disposition. The linens were clean and crisp and the bed comfortable. The furnishings are not new but obviously loved and we loved it too, so much nicer to stay in a real home. If you are into modern interiors then perhaps this is not for you. We stayed in the red room, I think one of the few without an en suite. that was no problem as we had the sole use of a large yellow bathroom across the corridor and fluffy dressing gowns provided.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rower66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budle H, General Manager at Budle Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

A new venue for us, my wife and I spent two days in the 'Green Room' at Budle Hall for a weekend break. The location and surroundings are perfect for a quiet, relaxing break; set in its own grounds well away from any other property the house was an oasis of peace and quiet, and was within easy walking distance to the coast and a quiet, secluded, sandy beach overlooking Lindisfarne, with spectacular sunsets. The property itself is a beautiful example of a country house, family-owned and occupied, with lots of original features. Whilst it would certainly benefit from some small repairs and redecoration, the originality of its interior is quirky and fun. Our room was very comfortable, the owners and staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the 'full english' breakfast was very good - especially the locally-produced 'Bamburgh Bangers' (sausages) and Black Pudding. If modern, corporate 5-star facilities are your thing, then maybe Budle Hall isn't for you, but if you like originality and period grandeur, albeit a little faded, this is a fine example, and a perfect staging post for exploring the area. We had a lovely break and hope very much to be returning. Thankyou Budle.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank analyse999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in The Lodge in the grounds of Budle Hall and would highly recommend staying here. Location: 5 mins walk to the bay and some lovely walks, 2 or 3 miles off the A1, few mins drive to Bamburgh with its spectacular castle and beaches, 10 mins drive to Seahouses with boat trips to the Farne Islands, fish and chips, little harbour and more beaches, within a half hour drive there are more beaches, more castles, Lindisfarne (Holy Island) and Berwick. Accommodation: very comfortable and clean throughout - lovely quiet bedrooms, nice living room with comfortable sofas, large TV and good wifi connection, well equipped kitchen / diner with fridge, cooker with oven, microwave, kettle, toaster, etc. A continental breakfast is brought over in the early evening (croissants etc) which you can heat up in the morning; yoghurts, juice, milk, butter, coffee, tea, cereals, etc are provided in the kitchen. All in all a great set up, in a great location. Highly recommended if you are looking for a B&B service, but with the convenience and comfort of good quality self catering accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Thomson_Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We had a lovely stay at Budle Hall. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming from the lovely shortbread and tea when we arrived until the lovely breakfast just before we headed off.
I really cannot fault any aspect of our visit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews