We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Willey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Stay here two nights with my wife. Overall a nice hotel in a great location. Service from staff was good, no less and no more than you would expect. I great place to stay if visiting this lovely village. Maybe could be better value but in line with other hotels in the area. Room had an amazing view if the castle. Almost under the shadows of the castle and only 2 or 3 minute walk to the beautiful sandy beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wjperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    111
    54
    24
    21
See reviews for
61
227
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kendal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

stayed one night only as an impromptu visit. saw the hotel in the central location of beautiful Bamburgh & parked out the front & popped in to see the price etc. asked if we could see the room which was lovely so stayed. great central location. easy walk to beach. no need to use the car. very clean & comfy room. good size bathroom with good shower. nice brekky the next am. friendly staff. no problemo in recommending.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozgirlkendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

we found the rooms to be very comfortable, and the housekeeping spotless. The bathroom was nice and modern with a great shower!

The staff were all really friendly. The hotel had a very comfortable bar, and the foodin the bar was anything but "school dinner standard".

I will recommend this hotel to am friends, no problem, and it has by far the best location in the village, overlooking the cricket green and castle.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r0ckyr0bin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

Stayed for two nights at end of October in room 2. The location of the hotel is excellent with great views of the castle from the restaurant. The room was very clean and modern - a little on the small side, but the only thing that let the accommodation down, was that the window didn't open; apart from that, would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Room was cramped, with only enough teabags and milk pots to make one cup each when we arrived – so as to have tea in the morning we had to ask for more at the bar, where they were counted out. Had intended to eat at the hotel, but seeing the school dinner standard meals served in the bar, we went up the road to the Castle Inn (excellent food!). For breakfast at the Lord Crewe our choice from the full English resulted in one rasher of bacon, a standard egg, a very small sausage and a single triangle of (frozen) hash browns. For nearly £100 per night in a great foodie area we expected a lot better – and got it everywhere else we stayed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmsh20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
115 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed at the Lord Crewe for one night as part of a touring trip of the North-East in September.

The location of the Lord Crewe could not be bettered, being right on the main street and you can just step outside to see the magnificent castle. We were lucky and parked right outside the hotel but there is plenty of free parking in the village so I would imagine you can normally park within walking distance OK.

Our room was perfectly fine, large and overlooking the front of the hotel, a bit utilitarian but with all the expected facilties, including a comfortable bed and a good shower. Check-in was smooth but a little impersonal, which probably describes our overall stay, to be honest - all very professional but not particularly friendly or welcoming to be honest.

We chose to eat at The Castle pub just up the street which I think was a good call for us as it offered good beer and a lively atmosphere, whereas the Lord Crewe probably markets itself a little further up the food chain. That said our breakfast was very good and set us off for the new day in fine fettle.

In summary, a good hotel in a fantastic location and it's well worth stopping over in Bamburgh just so you can walk on the beach and see the castle when all of the day-trippers have gone home!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in the "Forster Suite" in early Sept. This is not a suite just a larger than average bedroom!
The room was clean, bathroom was nice, seating area at the far side of the room was not that comfortable, and the TV was smaller than our bedoom set at home. Tea coffee and milks were in short supply, had to go to reception to get some more on arrival and again the next day. Plastic cups in the bathroom, not what you would expect when booking a suite, probably health and safety gone mad.
The Italian restaurant was nice and food very good. We didn't eat in the bar area, although it was busy and the food looked and smelled great, prefering to go up the road to the Victoria Hotel which was very good.
The staff were friendly, the location was stunning, Bamburgh was lovely just felt there was something missing with regard to the hotel.
One hundred and thirty pounds per night B/B ouch!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank robanBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
6.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
4.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
23.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
18.3 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Lord Crewe Hotel And Restaurant
Lord Crewe Arms Hotel Bamburgh
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing