We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do better”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Certificate of Excellence
huddersfield
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must do better”
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We went on a two night stay expecting a delightful pub/dining experience with or without contemporary touches.The reception gives the luxury feel of up to-date.From there on it was down hill all the way.The Forster Suite was run down,dingy,bathroom from the ark.The bar was just that,charm bypass.The restaurant was amateur and barely good,a meal in the pub was plain food and expensive.The cost all in all was twice what it should have been.It was typical of all that can be wrong with British hospitality.No attention to the details we all expect to be there,high hopes not fulfilled

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoneboyhuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    115
    54
    25
    22
See reviews for
63
241
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

I recently spent a great weekend at the Lord Crewe Arms.We stayed in a superior room wich seeemed to have been recently refurbished.Dinner in there Italian the Olive tree was great and the service from the staff was good.We look forward to returning next year .

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleMarkone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2008

Costumer Care .... very serious issues at this place reading the reviews i must have to agree with the rudest ginger man behind the bar! but on our arrival the receptionist hardly spoke to us , the way out she was reading a book at the reception, no interest or soever at the costumers, Meals very expensive for what you can get. Been to some pubs in the area for the second night i can only say how upset we felt :( but we try to book at other places but Unfortunately the other hotels were fully booked. Terrible holiday! My friends believe me this is the last place you want to be! SEARCH SEARCH .... :)
Rude Staff
Lack of interest
Food expensive
Bar man ( should not be working on hospitality)
Room too small, bathroom cobwebs :(
Entrance the only nice area :)

  • Liked — LEAVING
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DorchesterWiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2008

We spent a night at the Lord Crewe in October when travelling south. Our room the Forster Suite, which had recently been refurbished was spacious, clean and comfortable. We sampled the hospitality in the bar and dined in the Olive Tree restaurant, both most enjoyable.

Before deciding to stay there we checked out other hotels in the area but found their rates extremely good for the high standard of accommodation offered.

  • Liked — The Forster Suite and the excellent food in the Olive Tree restaurant.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheekychar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Stayed two nights in the Crewe Suite. Room recently refurbished very nice, although a little bare on the walls. Large bathroom with corner bath - very nice! Bar food very nice, barmaid pleasant and efficient. No sign of 'grumpy old man' (see previous reviews) Olive Tree restaurant very nice, service good. Pub quiz in bar (only lasted an hour) which was entertaining and also popular judging by number of people in bar. Breakfast good. Had reservations about booking after seeing bad reviews but would like to reassure everyone it is a lovely place to stay, great food, lovely people and don't be put off by previous comments. However, cannot say the same about the weather! Rained for hours!

  • Liked — King size bed and corner bath
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshiregirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2008

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights with my partner, upon arrival i was greeted by the receptionist with a smile and willing to help, which was a relief as we had a bad journey coming up, our room was spacious and very clean. we went down to the bar after settling in and found a rather rude man on the bar after asking a few times to view the menu we gave up and asked another gentleman who seemed vary distant and hyperactive. realizing that there was an alternative menu in the Olive Tree we ventured through not knowing what to expect, upon arriving there we were greeted my a young lady who seemed very anxious to fit us into their busy night. there was a young curly haired girl who was not very helpful when asking about the menu and was prancing around the restaurant, another girl who spoke not very much English was rather rude to us and it felt like she thought she was doing us a favor by being there, this did not spoil our night tho because an English girl came over and helped with our queries and her service was excellent with a smile all the time, i had a very pleasant convosation with a waitress from the Caribbean who was polite, i say the restaurant would run alot better with the English and the Caribbean lady's. the food was excellent and the vibe within the restaurant was very inviting. after our meal we headed back to the bar only to find that man still on the bar after ordering our drinks he was very gruff with us so retired to bed.

  • Liked — The 2 ladys from the Olive Tree and the receptionist
  • Disliked — The ginger man on the bar and the jumpy waiter
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lady50001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2008

The room had obviously been refurbished but the beds were twins, out of the ark!. They were so uncomfortable, noisy springs and sagging in the middle, we had a terrible nights sleep. I suggest they need to get new beds, we complained to the receptionist, who was very pleasant, she asked us to contact the owners. I emailed them with my complaint, but no response! surprise, surprise. The restaraunt was chaotic, no one in charge, waiteresses running around like headless chickens, we still had the remains of our starter on the table when we were eating our desserts, and if you don't like chicken then the menu was very limited. I love Bamburgh but would definitely not recommend the hotel until they get their act together.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank luxuryWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
205 reviews
6.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,227 reviews
8.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
23.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
364 reviews
13.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Lord Crewe Hotel And Restaurant
Lord Crewe Arms Hotel Bamburgh
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing