We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FANTASTIC”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Breakers Bamburgh

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Side view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Side view
Rear view
Twin/Double bedroom
Master bedroom
Kitchen dining area
Lounge dining room
Bathroom
Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bamburgh, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
helencole...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved breakers, on first walking in it had a wow factor; spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. All maintained to a really high standard. We felt so comfortable, comfy sofa, lovely linen, fluffy towels, all those home from home comforts The 3 children loved it, lots of nice toys and films to watch when the weather wasn't so good and a nice enclosed garden. We asked about a cot and a high chair and brand new ones were provided for us.

The area is of outstanding beauty, the views from breakers are stunning, the accommodation looks directly on to the coast and Bamburg Castle and open countryside. Just a few minutes drive from the beach, ideal location for local exploring.

Can't recommend highly enough

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, facilties, decor
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Helen. Thanks for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Breakers in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahCHa...
1 review
“A stunning coastal retreat!”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had the most fantastic week staying at Breakers last week and only wish we could have stayed longer.

The location is perfect for accessing a number of the beautiful beaches in the area as well as exploring Bamburgh, Alnwick, Holy Island etc.

The luxury and attention to detail at Breakers is beyond fabulous and our toddler was kept entertained with the great selection of both toys and books available too.

The views across to Bamburgh Castle from one side of the house and the beautiful Northumberland countryside stretching for miles from the other side are truly spectacular and we were lucky enough to see some stunning sunsets on an evening too.

The layout and space at Breakers is perfect and it was a delight to return to the house each day. We loved spending our evenings there and being pregnant too, I felt completely relaxed and able to unwind whilst enjoying the views from the balcony.

We would recommend Breakers so highly to couples and families and would really love to return ourselves in 2017!

Hannah & Tim Hardy

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Hannah, thanks for the wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jam4teaLi...
lichfield
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A fabulous place”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Finished and furnished to a very high standard. A very welcoming feel as soon as you walk through the door. Very clean and flooded with natural light during the day. Spacious bedrooms with great storage facilities. Large bathroom with a fab shower. Hard to believe all the pIping hot water apparently comes from solar power. House got warm quickly by the sun but on a couple of cooler days warmed up swiftly when we turned a few radiators on. There is also a feature gas fire and I think this would be lovely and cosy for winter break. Well designed house with the bedrooms on the ground floor so the lounge/kitchen/diner above gets the glorious views. Nice garden too, with shelter when the wind blows, as it frequently does in this area! Great tv with hard disc full of films and tv series. Nice balcony with table and chairs for warm summer evenings and watching the sun set over the trees. View of famous castle from lounge windows. Short walk down quiet road to Bamburgh - just over a mile. Plenty of pubs and restaurants to choose from, a great butchers and a small shop for fresh food. It was blissfully quiet at night. There was a welcome tray on the table well stocked with teas, preserves, a box of chocolates and bottle of wine! Nice touch. The mugs were printed with the words 'I'd rather be in Bamburgh '. How I do agree! Looking forward to going back as soon as we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location within walking distance of lovely Bamburgh
Liked least: No black out blinds in bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2016
Thanks for the great review Julie and your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire...
Odiham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous well-appointed cottage in great location”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Comfortable, very clean and stylish with everything provided to get our holiday off to an excellent start; thoughtful touches such as a copious supply of dishwasher tablets and other miscellaneous sundries that one really doesn't want to have to bring along were readily provided at Breakers, including welcome wine and choccies. We found the beds very comfortable and things like the bed linen and towels all good quality. The open plan living/kitchen/dining area was light and spacious. The driveway was also spacious with plenty of room to shut the gate and turn our car around. The grounds were immaculate and everything including neighbouring properties had the air of being well maintained and in good order. We found the location quiet and the views breakthtaking, whether looking east across to Bamburgh Castle whilst eating breakfast or looking west across to the Cheviots whilst sitting on the balcony. Ideally situated about one mile out of Bamburgh (which has lots of good eating places), with easy access to both coast and inland and a network of country lanes to drive or walk along. Being interested in history and archaeology there was no shortage of sites to visit and we also popped into Borders Gliding Club at Milfield and managed to fly in gliders over Wooler and the Cheviots. We would be very happy to stay at Breakers again, - it is probably one of the best if not the best cottage in the area and and thank the owners for making our holiday perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience of the property - very well equipped, clean and excellent location.
Liked least: Having to come home at the end of the holiday !!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Dear Guests, thank you so much for all your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve c
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely First Class Cottage !”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is modern, clean, spacious and has everything you will need for a fantastic break. While we were there it was great to be be able to have breakfast and on several occasions dinner on the balcony. It is a superb base to explore Bamburgh on foot, bike or in the car. We walked on beach from Bamburgh to Seahouses. I have to say I don't think I have ever seen such a clean unspoiled beach anywhere else in UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Incredibly homely.
Liked least: Nothing to report.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C
Strensall, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant Breakers at Bamburgh”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were delighted to have found Breakers for our very last minute few days in Northumberland. Our visit to this area and our stay at Breakers did not disappoint.
Breakers provides 5 Star and well appointed accommodation in a fabulous location with wonderful views from the first floor (open plan lounge leading to balcony, dining and kitchen area..) to the front Bamburgh Castle and the Farne Islands and from the rear balcony, far reaching hills and fields. The 2 bedrooms, a double and twin, bathroom with shower and luxurious bath and utility room are located on the ground floor. Breakers was spotlessly clean and extremely well presented.
There were lots of unexpected extras provided such as Elemis bath products, a welcome selection of holiday treats (thank you Lisa and Peter) and a good selection of films and TV Series on a 'hard drive'. It was a pleasure to return to Breakers to relax after great days out. We didn't manage to find a better route to walk into Bamburgh other than the main road so will definitely need to return for further investigations!! Excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and high quality facilities with additional and unexpected extras
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June B
Newborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breakers and Bamburgh - Fantastic combination.”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Breakers certainly has the 'WOW' factor, a beautiful place to stay; so clean and so much attention to detail.
Wonderful views over Bamburgh Castle and the Cheviots.
Breakers was a lovely place to stay in the Summer but, it would also
be a very good place to stay in the Winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, the furnishings and the views.
Liked least: Wish we had booked for longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing