We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I would argue there is no better place to stay in...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Breakers Bamburgh

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Side view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Side view
Rear view
Twin/Double bedroom
Master bedroom
Kitchen dining area
Lounge dining room
Bathroom
Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bamburgh, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fatgeordi...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I would argue there is no better place to stay in Northumberland than Breakers Bamburgh”
Reviewed 8 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I am hesitant to recommend Breakers too much as it will become too popular and we will not be able to get to stay there again.

We have just returned from a week at Breakers and I cannot say enough positive things about it. It was absolutely lovely. Clean and very well appointed, in a good state of repair. Everything we needed was there including a potato ricer for the perfect mashed potato!

The decor is beautiful, the feel of the place is luxurious and everything was just so comfortable. My wife and daughters adored it.

It is about a mile and a half from Bamburgh castle with beautiful views of the castle from the front and the Cheviot hills in the distance from the back.

The locals are friendly and everything you need is right there. Assuming you have a car, this is a great base to visit the sights of Northumberland from.

Lovely and quiet, there was no noise at all through the night and luckily we managed to get a good weather spell through our entire stay. I suppose the only thing I can say is we will be back!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adriennem...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Breathtaking relaxing luxury family holiday!”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Cannot wait to go back. Absolutely stunning cottage, spotless and every little detail thought of. Breathtaking views of Bamburgh Castle and stunning sunsets from the private terrace. We especially loved - underfloor heating in the bathroom; White Company bedding in the master bedroom; wifi plus Spotify, netflix access; toys and books! ; too much to list. We had such a fantastic family holiday !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna H
Hexham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful pad”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This is a lovely property, sunlit rooms, lovely interior and great views of castle and countryside. It's the perfect place to relax and the little touches left by the owners were very thoughtful. I enjoyed a special birthday weekend here and we would love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIDAVE
Northamptonshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay at Breakers and I have to say this is possibly the best cottage we have ever stayed in, the position is perfect, one mile from Bamburgh with several inns and restaurants to choose from, it has views of the castle from the front windows and open countryside to the rear. Its an upside down cottage with the living/kitchen area upstairs, it is clean, modern and very tastefully furnished with everything you could wish for including a hard drive connected to the TV loaded with films and tv programmes for all ages and there was even a bicycle in the store room outside and a large private parking area. The owners obviously have great taste which shows in every department.The weather was cold during our visit but the cottage is lovely and warm with plenty of electric radiators and even a gas fired woodburner making it very cosy and welcoming after a day out exploring.
I cannot recommend this cottage enough, it really is FABULOUS

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
Thank you for all your kind words, fantastic to read so many positive comments. Please come and visit again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil H
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Top place in Bamburgh”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Simply put, simply brilliant!
We were looking to book somewhere en route to our main holiday and stumbled across this site by accident. As we were only looking to book 5 nights rather than a full week we contacted the owners direct. They could not have been more helpful with dealing with our request. Whilst the pictures on the website are really good, the reality of seeing this apartment in person was first class. The furnishings and decoration are so tastefully done and it is equipped to a very good standard whilst the location (1 mile from Bamburgh itself) was so quiet and peaceful.
This is an ideal location to explore the fantastic local countryside and one that you will look forward to coming home to at the end of the day. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: What's not to like
Liked least: Nothing stands out
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Neil. Many thanks for the wonderful review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breakers is a wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Breakers was a wonderful base for a weeks holiday in Northumberland. The house was beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It had everything we wanted. The views from the windows were impressive and the location was ideal for walks. The beach was spectacular and visits inland including Alnwick Gardens and Craigside were really enjoyable. The local people were very welcoming and the owners were very friendly, generous and thoughtful to ensure we had a wonderful time. I have no hesitation in recommending Breakers and have already done so to family and friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your weeks holiday and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helencole...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved breakers, on first walking in it had a wow factor; spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. All maintained to a really high standard. We felt so comfortable, comfy sofa, lovely linen, fluffy towels, all those home from home comforts The 3 children loved it, lots of nice toys and films to watch when the weather wasn't so good and a nice enclosed garden. We asked about a cot and a high chair and brand new ones were provided for us.

The area is of outstanding beauty, the views from breakers are stunning, the accommodation looks directly on to the coast and Bamburg Castle and open countryside. Just a few minutes drive from the beach, ideal location for local exploring.

Can't recommend highly enough

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, facilties, decor
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Helen. Thanks for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Breakers in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing