We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haven House, Beadnell, Northumberland, England” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haven House

Haven House
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Haven House
Ranked #2 of 8 Beadnell B&B and Inns
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Haven House, Beadnell, Northumberland, England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

My family and I stayed one evening at Haven House B&B in Beadnell, Northumberland, England. It was an exceptional experience from the clean sheets, spacious and very clean toilet to the fine cookies w/tea or coffee set up. The breakfast was in a glassed-in, very sunny breakfast nook on the lower floor. The handcooked breakfast was fantastic as was the coffee. The lodgings are just a little over a block to a massive clean sand beach where our kids dug-in and make castles. In the evening we walked about a block up the road to a local, white washed, hotel which had a fine ale selection and a smattering of local foods. (Sadly their stew featuring local game and meats was out of stock at the time).

This is an excellent B&B in fine location; just south of the touristy area of Sea Houses. We highly recommend this lodging as it fit our American tastes and family perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rickgalusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We decided to break up our journey to Scotland, by stopping off at this delightful B & B. I wanted to fly my kite, but par for the course, chose a calm day with virtually no wind at all. I think the locals enjoyed our efforts, if nothing else!

Nicola was very friendly and professional, and showed us to our room upstairs. Talk about swinging a cat, well you could have swung an elephant in our room and it still wouldn't have touched the walls. Most spacious! The bed was of the 4 poster variety [without the canopy], and I'm 6'4" tall and managed to get lost in it. Must have been comfy, as I don't remember a thing from virtually the second that my head hit the pillow.

The breakfast was as commented on by previous reviewers. Beautifully cooked and presented and served in the delightful conservatory. One of the best we've had.

Only a few minor niggles. The shower wasn't the best and my partner found it hard to operate, although I put this down to her limited IQ, as I had no real issues. Struggled to shut the door as well, but no Titanic concerns.

No lock on the bedroom door, which is a 'perk' that I've never experienced in a B & B before. I could be staying in a convent with a bunch of Carmelite nuns, but I'd still fancy a lock on the door. You can never be certain these days. Let my better half sleep nearest the door, so that sorted that little difficulty! Plenty of parking and a short walk to the throbbing village centre, with its myriad of bars and nightclubs. Only joking, two pubs, one better than the other. One a bit trad and the other a bit Brewers Fayre. Both had a good selection of ales.

The whole house was spotlessly clean. Decided that needed a seperate sentence, because it was!

We probably won't visit again, as we're only 50 miles down the road, but if you're up in that neck of the woods, I doubt that you'll find better.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, one downstairs and one up. We were upstairs and our room had a nice view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Octoberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madster84, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your detailed review and honest comments and am sorry the kite experience didn't really happen (normally blessed with a sea breeze)! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we will endeavour to address the minor niggles for future perfection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We have just returned from Beadnell after a fantastic weekend, it is the ideal base for families. Nicola and her family welcomed us and we just loved the little puppy fudge - the room was large with enough room for the 5 of us and the beds super comfortable. Breakfast was amazing the choice was fab, it ensured we were all full for the day!

The little extras like luxury biscuits and filter coffee were greatly appreciated. We cannot recommend this place enough. Hope to visit again soon xx

Room Tip: Has massive family room with ensuite xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinsmumbeccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was a 50th birthday treat with friends and they certainly found us a little gem with Haven House! We were greeted by Nicola, her two children and Fudge, the dog. We were shown both rooms and our friends said we should choose which room we wanted - it really didn't matter, as both rooms had the wow factor - both are enormous, with king-sized bed and attractive furnishings. We settled on the garden room, which is a separate room, attached to the main house, with a small garden/patio area. There are many little touches of luxury in the rooms e.g. a fridge with complimentary milk and water, 2 bathrobes, dvd player etc. The room was extremely comfortable and we immediately wished we were staying longer. The bathroom was nicely decorated, but only had a shower, which was fine for us. There was only one thing lacking and that was a full-length mirror - apparently there were two of these in our friends' room upstairs!

Breakfast was superb - nothing too much trouble and everything served piping hot. The conservatory was a lovely place to eat. Haven House was pristine in every way.

The b&b was ideally situated for the beach and within a stones throw of 2 good pubs. We ate at the Beadnell Towers and the food was excellent..

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and Nicola's warm hospitality. We would love to visit again asap!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscart35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Clean, comfortable and good food. Nicola is particularly helpful. It's the place to stay in the Beadnell area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackthedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed at Haven House recently for two nights, for a 50th Birthday treat. Could not have asked for a more comfortable or friendly place to stay. It was spotless, comfortable, with good quality furnishings. The Selection of teas and coffees were great, and the luxury biscuits, most welcome.The breakfast was lovely, and we were well looked after. Very Friendly Hosts. We found The Haven to be the ideal luxurious place for our weekend getaway. We would deffinately stay again in the future, as all our needs were more than well met.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed overnight at the Haven House and found it thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing. We had the Garden Suite with a couple of comfortable single put up beds for the kids - the room was so big and with ample storage space we never felt cramped.
The included patio area would have made a great feature if the rain was not belting down for the entire duration of our stay.
Lovely breakfast and friendly owners means we will definitely be returning

Room Tip: Garden Suite has outside patio whereas the other room is inside the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beadnell
4.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Craster Arms
Craster Arms
#1 of 8 in Beadnell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beadnell Towers
Beadnell Towers
#3 of 8 in Beadnell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.7 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven House

Property: Haven House
Address: Haven House The Haven, Beadnell NE67 5AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Beadnell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beadnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Haven House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Haven House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven House Beadnell, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing