We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful accommodation in delightful area”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Longlands Retreat

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Double Bedroom Private fully enclosed garden 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Lounge
Double Bedroom
Private fully enclosed garden 1
Rear of the Kitchen
Dining area in kitchen
Bunk beds in bedroom three.  The bunk bed has now been replaced with a wooden frame
Bedroom two made up as two singles
Bedroom two made up as a kingsize bed
The Snug
Bathroom
Longlands Retreat
Rear of the property
Decking area
The Craster Arms which has a beer garden
St Ebbs Church in the Village
The Beadnell Towers
Childrens Playground in the Village
Beadnell Harbour 5 minutes walk away
View from the dunes at Beadnell
Rocks off  Harbour Road, Beadnell - great for rock pooling
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Beadnell, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Julie W
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation in delightful area”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our family, including a ten year old and small dog, visited this lovely property for the second time and it was just as good as we remembered. It comfortably accommodates 6 people and has everything you might need. Kitchen stocked with plenty of utensils. Washer/dishwasher always make life on holiday easier. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished and beds very comfortable. Lounge is lovely and there was plenty of space for us. The "den" has a PlayStation, although we didn't get chance to use as weather was so good! Great selection of books and games - we enjoyed a game of Monopoly and Cluedo. Fully enclosed garden lovely to sit in and child/dog safe. It was a lovely suntrap and I thoroughly enjoyed the quiet area watching the wildlife. Literally minutes walk to beach and about a 5-10 minute walk to a vast beach next to the harbour. Would HIGHLY recommend this property - will definitely visit again!!! Both Beadnell and Longlands Retreat are idyllic places to visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely, relaxing week at Longlands Retreat. The location is perfect for exploring the Northumbrian coast. There are lots of interesting villages, castles and of course beaches, a short drive from Beadnell. The house is a few minute walk from the beach and quaint harbour. Perfect for evening strolls or early morning dog walks. None of the local beaches have dog restrictions so it is a great area for dog walking.
The house was cosy, comfortable and very well equipped. We do mainly self catering on holiday and the kitchen had everything you could need. The garden was fully enclosed and had comfortable garden furniture. The house was spotlessly clean and was the perfect place to relax after a day out exploring.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2017
I am so pleased you had a lovely holiday at Longlands Retreat. Thanks for the positive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan I
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Need your batteries recharging? Look no further than Longlands Retreat!”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Two friends, my husband and myself have just returned from five idyllic days in Beadnell and surrounding area. Staying at Longlands Retreat gave us easy access to Seahouses (The Ship Inn is a must), Amble (Visit the lovely little shopping pods and the very quaint Shack Cafe on the Harbour), Alnwick, Warkworth (Beach walk - Lovely) and Bamburgh (Beach and Castle) and we visited all of them! We walked on the beaches, enjoyed the lovely cafes and bars in each place and were blown away by the friendliness and warmth of everyone we met.
Apart from the Saturday, we were really, really lucky with the weather. However, on that one rainy day we visited the huge second hand book shop housed in the old Alnwick Railway Station - really worth a visit and the cafe there is marvellous. We visited the Craster Arms in Beadnell for dinner on two of the evenings. The food there is very good and the portion sizes? Wow! Not for the fainthearted.
We could not have had more warm and comfortable accommodation. Everything in the property is first class from the bed rooms, the bathroom, the sitting room, and the kitchen. We couldn't believe the fantastic array of high quality kitchen equipment and utensils. You have thought of everything. Thank you so much also for the welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk and biscuits and, of course, the wine.
We have all returned home relaxed, stress free and a tad overweight but who cares! Must return soon. It was fab!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2017
Thank you for such a wonderful review and I am glad you all had a such a great holiday. I have tried to make Longlands Retreat a real home from home, where everything is to hand. I hope you return sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillianri...
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back ...”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We love this superb cosy cottage in the heart of Beadnell, only 5 minutes away from the beach and warm and comfortable enough to stand up to anything that Storm Doris threw at us! Welcome bottle of wine gratefully received! The cottage caters for all the family with everything you need to have a brilliant week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Thanks Gillian, I am glad that you all had a great week despite Storm Doris and that everything was up to standard. I look forward to you returning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenB26...
1 review
“Average. Needs a good clean.”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Very well situated bungalow. Good parking. The property was dirty on arrival and a good clean and a hoover was needed. The rug in the sitting room was covered in dog hairs. Thanks for wine and biscuits. Steve and Heather.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
I am very sorry that the bungalow was not up to its normal standard of cleanliness. I do ask guests to contact myself or the caretaker if there are any issues that arise when staying at the property so these can be resolved and guests can continue to enjoy their holiday. Your review has been brought to the attention of the caretaker.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trail5571...
1 review
“perfect pet-friendly place”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

excellent place to stay, everything you need in the kitchen comfortable bed n settee , great location 5 min walk to beach. would book again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2017
Thanks for the great review, I hope you come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillyEjsy
Halifax
1 review
“A wonderful retreat!”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Just spent five wonderful days at Longlands Retreat. What a lovely holiday home - bright, modern, comfortable, spacious & spotless with all the facilities you need.

The location was ideal - tranquil and peaceful yet within walking distance of local pub, cafe and shop. The beach is close by and I enjoyed walking my dog there every day - saw some amazing sunrises! It's a great base to explore the rest of Northumberland and always lovely to come back at end of a busy day to a warm. cosy house and comfortable bed.

Will certainly return.

Thanks to the owners for such a wonderful break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Thank you Gill for such a lovely review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing