We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost there......”
Review of Craster Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Craster Arms
Ranked #1 of 8 Beadnell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed at The Craster Arms for 3 nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
As a previous reviewer said, they can still do more but that is exactly what the Manager told us ("we are getting there").
I paid the same as I would a 4* city centre hotel however the space we got almost made up for that. We stayed in room 1 but did not get the noise issues a previous reviewer did.
I agree with the quality of the towels comment and there was no bath/shower mat so we had to improvise.
We were told we could get milk from the bar (but never managed to remember!)
The breakfast was fabulous (especially the salmon and scrambled eggs!!) and the staff could not do enough to help. They were great.
Only other points to add:
the bathroom could do with more shelves, hanging places for clothes & towels!
as they provide crockery, you really do need somewhere (and something) to wash it with.
Fridge door opens the wrong way.
Need a 'long' mirror.
Overall loved it and hope to be back! THANKS

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLady40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is our second stay at The Craster Arms and overall have found it to be a good place to stay. The rooms are decorated well and offer a good amount of living space, however there are a few points worth mentioning.

Fresh towels are provided daily but these are very small. Although tea and coffee facilities are available in the room there is no milk, very strange! A smell of cooked and fried food fills the bathroom from time to time especially on an evening. We stayed in room 1 and found it quite noisy (much worse than our first stay in May) Noise coming from adjoining door to pub where staff whistle and bound up the stairs at all times of day and night. Noise from room above too, you can even hear the guests using the toilet!!!!! Bed is very uncomfortable and some new, more substantial pillows could be invested in.

I also find it quite strange that the rooms are not cleaned on a daily basis. This is a basic expectation for a stay in any hotel/guest house.

However, I must stand up for the hotel and bar staff in relation to past comments on this site. I have always found them polite and helpful and find peoples comments in relation to their age unjustified and ageist.

Overall, happy with our stay and we will probably be return in the future. Its a great location and very dog friendly. Just a few points for management to take on board and hopefully rectify. A few small changes would make this a 'great' place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matty144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We came across the Craster Arms by chance when staying in a cottage in the village. We have never been up this way before but so glad we did and will defiantly be coming back in the forseen future. The first time we entered the Craster Arms it was a very busy night and we did wonder if we had made the right decision. It turns out we did and as we ended up here most nights. Upon arrival, despite how busy it was we managed to jump straight into a seat. When we ordered our meal we got told there would be over an hour wait and despite being told this our meals arrived within half an hour, excellent service. The staff were all welcoming and friendly depsite how busy it was. They seemed to make time for everyone and make conversation especially the young blonde man behind the bar, who made an effort asking about our day and our holiday.. A little effort like that goes a long way. The one thing I would fault would be the lack of staff behind the bar as at times the que seemed to be endless. I was very happy with the food and the service and will most defiantly be returning. Thank you Craster Arms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyO186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The food is very good, patience is required at busy times as food is cooked to order, but worth the wait, scampi and steaks are fantastic.
All the staff are friendly and obliging especially Myra who makes a wonderful hot chocolate and always has time for a chat with you ( described by other reviewer as the manageress ) Most of the staff are young but try their hardest to help you.
The rooms are amazingly beautiful especially rooms 1 and 2 which have sofas, dining table and chairs and a fridge for your supplies. They are clean and airy and are all en suite .
They have a good variety of hot and cold drinks
Dogs are made welcome in the first part of the bar and in the bedrooms
There is a lovely large beer garden with tables and is almost totally covered. Music nights are becoming more and more popular here and are held outside on the newly built stage.
It is a family and pet friendly pub and would recommend it highly.
I cannot understand the couple of poor reviews as we came for 3 weeks and never had a thing to complain about

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrasMinibuses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Visited 14/8/11 for Sunday lunch arrived at 12.20pm, ordered lunch (2 x roast beef lunches and 2 x lamb lunches) and was eventually served at 1.30pm. Staff made no effort to inform us and other customers as to why there was such a delay. We were eventually told that we were waiting for yorkshire puddings. When the food arrived they had rationed what they normally serve up ie 1 roast potato, 1 boiled potato with a small spoonful of cabbage and carrots. Prior to this my family and I were regulars to the pub but the attitude of most of the staff had to be seen to be believed

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We went for a two night break and couldn't have been more pleased. Our room was lovely, very modern in a very old building, beautifully furnished and comfortable.
The food was fantastic, good quality, prices reasonable and very speedy service. The staff couldn't have been kinder or more attentive.
All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We have been coming to Northumberland for several years and the Craster Arms was a pub of choice for us, good food, friendly service and good beer....what has happened?

We went today at 6pm, expecting a busy pub and possibly a wait for a table, how wrong we were, a virtually empty pub at teatime in August!!

The pub appeared to have run out of crisps and even straws for the younger kids drinks.

We were about to order some food when a member of the waiting staff came running through the pub screeching with McDonalds for everybody in the kitchen, a good sign!!

The kitchen door was open and we saw several staff smoking in the door to the outside, there appeared to be lots of teenagers in the kitchen with no management visible.

We drunk up and left and promptly went elsewhere.

A good pub ruined, has it changed hands. It certainly is not the pub it was last year.

A note to the manager, watch your kitchen staff, they are totally disorganised!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crasterarms, Owner at Craster Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

We welcome any review by a member of the public, but I feel in this case I must respond as this is not a fair reflection of my staff and premises.

Firstly there has been a few changes in recent weeks with Kitchen Staff and management being the main focus of theese changes. On the day in question we had just completed a very busy lunchtime and needed quite a few staff, regardless of age, to help prepare us for the evening ahead, this would reflect in the amount of younger staff you would have witnessed in the Kitchen.
We are mainly a seasonal pub which requires quite a few part time staff, there simply aren't enough local people to provide a workforce, this is made up with students and young people from the nearby caravan sites, all of which have proved to be effecient workers.

Moving on to the smoking and Mcdonalds issue, all of the staff are entitled to a break in which they can smoke and eat, this was the first break for many inside of 6 hours, no smoking took place in any public area's and a Mcdonald's was brought in as a treat for my hardworking staff, yes this may have been brought in more inconspicously, however I will not be treating that as a major crime!

At the time I was completing a return trip from the local Cash and Carry, as there had been a delay with one of our suppliers, an unforseen circumstance, we had run out of a few items the previous day as we had not anticipated it to be so busy. I can only apologise for this, however it is not unheard of for the Kitchen to provide over 300 meals a day, mainly being a family friendly pub this can run certain items out of stock very quickly.

I have just completed my second full year in The Craster Arms, and whilst it has been a very steep learning curve, I have enjoyed each minute and have been delighted with a lot of our past comments on Trip Advisor and by our Local and Regular customers. I feel your review was very harsh and judgemental and if you feel you would like a more detailed explanation or a chat, please feel free to contact me by calling 01665 720272 or simply e-mail ; michael@crasterarms.co.uk,

Regards

Michael Dawson

The Craster Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beadnell
4.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
4.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
6.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,078 reviews
5.9 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beadnell Towers
Beadnell Towers
#3 of 8 in Beadnell
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craster Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craster Arms

Address: 2-4 The Wynding | Beadnell, Beadnell NE67 5AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Beadnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beadnell
Price Range: £67 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craster Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Craster Arms has been serving locals and tourists alike since 1818 offering a true Northumbrian welcome to all its guests. Providing free wi-fi in public areas and serving food all day from breakfast to late evening snacks with local produce including seafood landed at nearby Seahouses featuring heavily on the menu. Our rooms are large, two of which feature seperate lounge areas ideal for families. We are a dog friendly establishment with designated dog friendly areas located throught the hotel and public bar. The Craster Arms is great for entertainment, playing host to local bands at weekends throughout the year from traditional folk to contemporary and tribute acts. In July our fantastic beer garden is the venu for our annual beer festival where ales from our many local micro breweries can be sampled along with great produce and entertainment. The Craster Arms is in an ideal location for touring northumberland with Holy Island (lindisfarne) and Bamburgh castles to the north and Dunstunburgh and Walkworth to the south. Inland 15 miles is the market town of Alnwick with its majestic castle (featured as hogwarts in the harry potter films) and the famous Alnwick gardens and treehouse. Three miles off the coast is the world famous nature reserve of the farne islands, nesting site to over 300,000 seabirds including puffins and razorbills and permanant home to a grey seal colony numbering 2000. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Craster Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craster Arms Beadnell, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing