We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Bell Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newton Hall(Newton by the Sea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveller rating
162
234
82
57
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
162
234
82
57
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteakold buildingcoaching innevening mealgin tastingfour poster bedwowcher deala bit tireda living social dealhot waterlick of paintduty managerpuddinglovely mealfriday nighttwo coursesmain course
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
477 - 482 of 566 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

stayed here this weekend on kgb deal and was well worth it. food was very good also staff were very friendly. would recommend to others. ideal location for visting the various castles in the area.
if you are going to visit a few attractions look for disount vouchers it soon adds up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friend02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I have just returned from an overnight stay at The Blue Bell. I purchased a KGB deal for an overnight stay for 2, with breakfast and a free bottle of wine if we dined there. Overall I think we got a "cracking" deal as the hotel was lovely (if a little dated in places). Our room had a flat screen TV, kettle etc and was very comfortable. Staff were really nice and the meals we had (Dinner & Breakfast) were hot, tasty and plentiful. There are a couple of pubs in the village and we were made to feel very welcome, joining in with a music night and a sing along (Try the real ale - a MUST!!!). There are loads of places to visit in the area and this would be a fantastic base for anyone who wants to visit Northumberland. Dogs are welcome also, free of charge but would have to be booked in through reception.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jancol2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed as part of KGB deal, which meant we did get a good offer, however I would not have been at all happy paying their usual rack rate. Village in lovely part of countryside close to several attractive villages and coastal beauty spots. Not much other choice for dining though in village area - although there were 2 pubs. 1 did have an outsourced Indian restaurant but they closed the weekend we were there - they hope to get other options for meals at some point. We had 2 nice meals down the A1 at Purdy's about 5-10 mins away.
We had a twin room (7) front facing so prone to noise from people standing outside to have a smoke or just socialising in general, although as its a quiet village this in general should not be too inconvenient. On our visit for some reason a coach trip gathered its passengers and left at midnight - which seemed to take forever. Furniture tired and old. Our room was one of few not updated and we had no freeview TV, so only basic 4 channels . TV & stand had not been dusted for some time. Bed comfy. Bathroom bit of disaster. Shower trim falling off, grout looked disgusting and black. Complimentary refreshments tray not cleaned properly and spoon /saucer both stained from previous occupants. Windows were old character with folding shutters - when trying out effectiveness (as you do) shutter fell off in my hand. No problem and I caught it straight away, but if a child would have pulled it this could have caused nasty injury as they were quite heavy. It was quite clear neither hinge was actually attached to the frame. Rooms were poorly soundproofed and our neighbours could easily be heard - and I did not think they were being inconsiderate. We ate in the restaurant for 1 of our 3 nights. Food ok, but didn't wish to stay again. House wine (Rose) was actually very nice. Bar prices seemed quite reasonable for a hotel also. Breakfasts very nice to set up a day out touring area, with all usual options. We were amused to note the same dirt/debris remained for 2 days on the staircase. As this is one of the first routes we saw en route to our rooms, it was already planting a poor impression. To date this was the poorest of the KGB breaks we have taken.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travisgud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We booked this thro Groupon as a low cost break, weren't we lucky! its an old hotel in a quiet village, the welcome was warm and sincere, the room was excellent (with a tv that worked) everything was very neat and tidy. The locals were great very chatty. It was during the Olympics and this common interest brought staff, guests and locals together in the bar supporting team GB. Our eveing meal was geat value for money with great portions, and the local produce on the breakfast plate was a treat. I got a bargain on Groupon but will stay there again and happily pay full price.!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We have just returned from KGB 3 night stay. Didn't know what to expect after poor reports.But I need not have worried.We had room 12,which looked to be newly decorated with flat screen tv and 2 lovely chairs to relax in.First night we dined in the restaurant and received a free bottle of wine. The food and service was excellent .In with KGB DEAL every morning we had full choice breakfast menu which included fish dishes.All staff were very pleasant and if in the area would definately use again.

Room Tip: Room 12 overlooks lovely garden and is quiet. Is a twin bedded room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbararA3779WX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews