We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Blue Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Bell Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Belford B&B and Inns
East Calder, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My sister gave us a voucher for a 2 night stay (KGB) and after reading the mixed reviews did not have high expectations. The bottom line is the Blue Bell Hotel is a very old establishment, creaky floor boards, strange room layouts, frequented by hotel guests and locals alike - and if you accept it for what it is you can enjoy a very pleasant few days. We had room 9 which had a large bathroom and moderate sized bedroom area. The mattress was a little soft for my liking - but on both nights we slept well. We ate in the dining room one evening and in the bar the next and the choice and quality of the food was excellent and large portions too. Breakfast was enjoyable but as a constructive comment the sausage was too highly flavored with herbs and onion it spoiled the rest of the food. Breakfast on day two I asked for two poached eggs on toast and they were cooked perfectly. Belford is well situated for trips to the Holy Island, Seahouses and Alnwick though the town itself seemed to have little to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    208
    75
    54
    29
See reviews for
78
285
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We have eaten in both their pub and restaurant and stayed here on a number of occasions in the lead up to our wedding reception being held here on 7th July 2012. We have only ever had great quality food (especially steak night) and friendly service at this hotel and can never understand the bad reviews. We cannot fault this hotel.

In planning our wedding, we liaised with the wedding coordinator, Gemma, extensively and she was always happy to help, was so flexible and went out of her way to make our big day special. This was the only reception venue that we found where our wedding really could be the way we wanted it to be and not form part of a package. The food choices were extensive, we were able to bring our own wine and the ballroom was a fabulous room to hold our reception in.

On the wedding weekend itself, The Blue Bell provided a buffet on the friday night - all the food was great quality, and as for the quantity, even all our hungry guests could not finish it all. On the day of the wedding, my bridesmaids were allowed to bring me breakfast in bed and when I said all I wanted was a big bowl of porridge, they made sure it was a massive bowl to keep me going!! Gemma popped in throughout the day, checking if there was anything we needed, she supplied us with a full length mirror and helped with the flowers and getting me (bride) in the car! The food at the reception was fantastic, this was commented on by alot of our guests (even mentioned in the wedding video and guest book!). The Blue Bell even arranged a last minute three course meal menu for the remaining guests on the Sunday night at short notice, once again the food was great.

Overall, it was the service that was the most outstanding, all the staff could not do enough for you. The cleaners could not do enough for you, the bar and restaurant staff were fabulous and the chefs did an amazing job feeding a hungry bunch of food loving guests all weekend.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone - a weekend break, holiday or wedding. Thank you to everyone at the Blue Bell for the best wedding ever!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deejay153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed on a 2 day KGB deal and thought it was great value for money. We stayed in the main Hotel and our room was cute with a great view over looking the garden.
We recieved a free bottle of wine for eating in the restaurant, whcih our meal was fantastic home cooked food.
I do not usually like B&B breakfasts as they are usually cheap i.e rusk sausage but the breakfast here was of a very high quality.
I am going to go to Northumberland next year and approach them if we can stop at the KGB price from last year and fingers crossed.
We had a great holiday went on our motorbikes and visited many areas in Northumberland castles, jails, and found some excellant bike roads, which is why i cant wait to go again.


The only negative is i thought The Uk had noise laws between 7am and 11pm and the church clock went off every hour all night, and the extractor fan.

Room Tip: Join National Trust for a year and visit Northumberland, it is such a great place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdicko25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Like others, we stayed here on a 2 night KGB deal. Reading their reviews, it looks like we got one of the better rooms at the back of the main hotel overlooking the garden. Despite this, the room looked tired and the bathroom very dated. One reviewer in April stated that the light in the bathroom in room 12 was missing its cover and it still is now in late September! Dangerous, not sure.
We didn't dine in the restaurant on the first night because we were told the chef had refused to cook any of the specials the previous night!! We did book a table for the second night as there are not alot of places to dine in Belford. Probably didn't need to because it was nowhere near full. Wish we hadn't bothered. Ordered pate which was mediocre, definetly cheap shop bought stuff and it came with 2 small oatcakes. Next we ordered fillet steak with maderia sauce off the specials board. Yes specials were being cooked that night but we were informed they had run out of fillet. With this, the lady who appeared to be in charge disappeared with a, 'I'll come back when you've decided on something else'. It just went from bad to worse after this. We waited 25 minutes for someone to clear our plates when we had finished our main and then when we asked for the sweet menu we waited another 15 minutes and had to ask again before one was brought because some staff were busy having a cigarette outside the main entrance to the hotel! Staff seemed almost disinterested and the same staff appeared to be running reception, bar and restaurant.
Would definetely not eat here again for evening meal.
However the breakfast was very nice and to be fair for what we paid for bed and breakfast for the 2 nights it wasn't bad. I suppose you get what you pay for but would have been very disappointed if we had paid full price. Have stayed at far better places in Northumberland previously.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millymolly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Like other reviewers we took advantage of a two night stay at the Blue Bell through KGB deals but unlike them had a room in the main hotel and we couldn't fault it! It's an old coaching inn with some interesting original features, and our room overlooked the garden at the rear. Perhaps the only comment was that we realised that the church clock nearby would strike the hour all through the night but it wasn't that loud that it kept us awake. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the inn, with clean, warm, attractive, comfortable and well accessorised accommodation, a great cooked breakfast in the mornings and lovely meals in the evening. If anything, the portions were too large, and that's nothing to complain about! The staff were great, and special thanks to Denise who was on duty night and morning while some staff members were off sick. It's a good centre for exploring. We visited Holy Island, Alnwick, and Bamburgh, and explored some of the coastal towns and villages. We'd go back to the Bell any time!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eveeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Three quarter room in annexe. Cold - no heating and and apart from receptionist banging out meal times no instructions/information about anything in hotel. The toilet was accessed at the back of the bathroom door leaving no room for comfort. The breakfast haddock and poached egg (served with a dish of salad) left me wondering. The break was reasonably priced but needed a little thought to making life comfortable. Also the pair of underpants behind the chair did not add to the ambience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjdealtry43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belford hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Having just come back from a 2 night break on KGB Deal, we wouldn't want to return back. We were in a room in the annexe outside, the room was fairly clean and looked like it had just been updated, but bed was rather soft. They was no heating in the room, when we informed reception, we were told it was on a timer and didn't come on till 8pm. On returning back to our room at 10pm, the heating hadn't come on at all and it was warmer outside. On returning to reception we found it closed, but managed to speak to a waitress, who on telling her what our problem was eventually found an electric heater, which only worked for 5 mins, then you had to turn it off and turn back on 20 mins later.
We had a drink in the bar, but didn't feel welcome, we felt we were disturbing the locals, especially on Sunday, when we found out it was quiz night, as we were sat in someones seat!! We left with our drinks and went back to our room.
The food in the restaurant was very nice

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycouple2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
2.8 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
383 reviews
7.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
13.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,039 reviews
0.1 mi away
Well House
Well House
#7 of 13 in Belford
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Hotel

Property: Blue Bell Hotel
Address: Market Place, Belford NE70 7NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Blue Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing