We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Bell Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Head Hotel(Berwick-upon-Tweed)
US$152
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed(Berwick-upon-Tweed)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveller rating
162
234
82
57
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
162
234
82
57
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteakold buildingcoaching innevening mealgin tastingfour poster bedwowcher deala bit tireda living social dealhot waterlick of paintduty managerpuddinglovely mealfriday nighttwo coursesmain course
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 566 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2012

My husband and I had a 2 night stay at The Blue Bell Inn as part of a road trip around Northumberland and the Lakes for our honeymoon. We stayed in a four poster room and it was absolutely lovely. The room was comfortable and spacious, and the staff were extremley helpful and personable. We dined in the resturant and thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the service we recieved. There is a varied breakfast menu which was very tasty and set us up for a days walking. Parking is right outside the hotel. We could not fault this hotel and will be returning the next time that we visit the Northumbrian Coast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebellheidi, Public Relations Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you so much for your review. we are delighted to hear you had such a lovely honeymoon and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Blue Bell Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

As we had had a lovely meal here a few years ago I purchased a living social deal for afternoon tea as we were staying near by. I pre booked as requested so they knew we were going. The car park was deserted, not a good sign, the paint on the front door was grubby, my heart sank! After finding a member of staff we were directed to the lounge, which was empty and unwelcoming. We were asked whether we wanted tea or coffee, no choice of sandwiches. When the food arrived there was ham and cream cheese, salmon and cream cheese on toast rounds and tuna mayo. Two cheese scones with cream, jam and marmalade!! and four big hunks of cake, 2 cherry 2 fruit, oh yes and 4 straws that had seen better days. Everything seemed past its best!. Needless to say we were saddened by the experience and would not return.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Daisysmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebellheidi, Public Relations Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

We're very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your afternoon tea experience at the Blue Bell Hotel. Thank you for your points, we are aware that the Lounge is not the most inviting room at the moment and we're currently making some changes to make this more welcoming including new furniture and background music. I'm sorry you found the food itself to be past it's best as we pride ourselves on our fresh local produce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

First visit to Northumberland, you could not start/stay at a better place than the Blue Bell Hotel Belford.
On arriving at a wonderful old building full of character and covered in red leaves a sure sign of autumn.
Both myself and husband were welcome by Gemma, who was warm and knowledgeable about the Northumberland Coast. Our was an enormous flowered patterned wall paper, but done tastefully with white traditional character furniture, the room was light and airy.
A queen sized bed, with lovely clean, crisp white sheets/quilt. The bathroom was so large, as its an old hotel, it does say that the water system can take time for the hot water to come thorough, we ran the tap for 5 mins and hot, hot water, who do you expect in a hotel this size and age.
Breakfast was amazing. if you watching the calories, then turn away. A full fresh cooked English breakfast, what ever combination you wanted. Smoked poached haddock with poached egg, done to perfection, the fish just melted in your mouth.
We had Dinner on all 4 nights in the bar , you could either eat in the restaurant or bistro, we chose the bar as the menu was the same where ever you sat. Locally produced meat, and vegetables, again all freshly cooked to your specification. We sampled Lamp shank, liver and bacon, and enormous Popyee sized piece of Cod, pasta with fresh chicken breast and pesto, and finally a fish platter, smoked salmon, tune, prawns, mackerel,,,, all served with an eye for details.( i have read prev trip advisor about the food, must have been an off day. 10/10 for food, hospitality, warm rooms and brilliant atmosphere . In fact we are going to go back and visit later on in the year.... Please go and see what you are missing along with a wonderful country side.

Room Tip: room 14, over looked the garden and massive bed
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melsimomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebellheidi, Public Relations Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us such a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We had a lovely room in the annex, while my parents had a room in the main building. Both were very nice, with our annex room being bigger and much more spacious. We ate in the restaurant and the food, staff and service were all very good. We had a few drinks in the bar and that was comfortable with a nice atmosphere. Our only problem was with reception. When checking in, we were informed that we were booked in for the previous evening and we were down as "no shows". I explained that we were definitely booked for the Saturday evening and after a little extra discussion - we were offered our two rooms. (Even after she said they had no rooms available) Luckily I was able to dig out the confirmation email from the hotel. Instead of the receptionist apologising - she insisted there must have been a crossed wire somewhere. Yes, she had crossed the wire, but blamed us.

Room Tip: I would go for the annex. Our room was very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebellheidi, Public Relations Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies for the mix up at check in but thankfully a room was sorted for you despite the mix up. Thank you again, your positive review means a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Like many other guests we had a 3 night break through a KGB deal. Lovely big room overlooking garden, great staff, delicious breakfasts and the restaurant served lovely evening meals. Great value, big portions. Very well situated for visiting local area. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and can't understand why some guests have a moan about it to be honest.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sevier123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebellheidi, Public Relations Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write us a positive review. We are very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews