We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing - seriously overpriced.”
Review of Blue Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Bell Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Belford B&B and Inns
MATLOCK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very disappointing - seriously overpriced.”
Reviewed 14 June 2009

In line with most accommodation in the area prices were high. This Hotel with great potential was ruined by a lack of attention to detail and the absence of overall management.

The rooms were big enough but quite basic and tired. We cut sort our 5 night stay after two nights of poor quality meals. The first night was passable fish (but we overheard serious complaints about the lamb chops) but the second night was diabolical! How any cook could destroy a chicken breast by such overcooking and/or overheating is beyond belief.

Both meals were served on a bed of stacked mash covered with sauce or gravy. In fairness the waitress apologised and we were not charged for the meals on the second night - but still paid £54 pp for B & B.!

Overall this hotel needs a more disciplined management. Friendly staff are welcome at all hotels but not at the expense of efficiency!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN71007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    206
    71
    54
    29
See reviews for
75
281
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, Lincs
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Recently stayed for 3 nights on our return from Scotland. Hotel is pleasant from the outside and is in the centre of the village - this proved to be an issue on the first night (a Saturday) as both constant road noise and some rather loud locals returning from various pubs did not allow us a restful nights. Rooms1 to about 6 overlook the road and are therefore quite noisy (these 'standard' rooms also allow dogs to stay in them and whilst we did see dogs going into some rooms, they were not noisy, though not very hygienic in a hotel !). In the morning we asked to be moved to a room at the back and our request was handled sympathetically and efficiently by the receptionist on duty. Our 'new' room was nice enough although the decor, whilst clean, was a little ragged around the edges - wardrobe door wouldn't stay shut and carpet in the bathroom !
Food was generally good and staff very obliging and efficient, though whatever main course we ordered for dinner, came on a bed of mashed potato - not particularly imaginative !
All in all, nothing to be too upset about but it could be a lot nicer.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pogs147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwest
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

rooms average clean on arrival, but not very good at changing towels or cleaning the bathroom. Staff friendly, food average , most of it overcooked, only did mashed potatoes!!.Hotel in good location, but overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthwestBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

It was my turn to organise the annual golf trip for a small society of predominantly Scottish golfers. I am originally from the North East of England, so the choice of Northumberland with a good range of golf courses (links and parkland) at reasonable prices (try the Northumberland Coastal Classic trio - great value) was easy. My wife and I took a short break before finalising the arrangements to check out hotels around Bamburgh, Alnmouth, Seahouses etc. The best service and overview of available facilities was provided by the managress of the Blue Bell at Belford. She showed us each of the nine rooms that we needed - they were all fine - and showed us the sample menus available for our group DBB package. We were also offered a modest discount for the group booking. When we took the actual trip all nine members were more than satisfied with every aspect of the Blue Bell. Two of them subsequently came down from Edinburgh for a weekend break with their wives. An excellent choice!

  • Liked — Great service and personal attention
  • Disliked — Nothing - everything was great
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurley2rise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
2.8 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
370 reviews
7.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Farmhouse Guest House
6.1 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
0.1 mi away
Well House
Well House
#6 of 13 in Belford
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Hotel

Property: Blue Bell Hotel
Address: Market Place, Belford NE70 7NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing