We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Well House

Well House
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Well House
Ranked #7 of 12 Belford B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stayed there on 16th July 2013 and was most impressed with the accommodation. I had the use of a private sitting room as well as a most comfortable bedroom and the place was spotlessly clean.
As a diabetic, every effort was made to conform to my dietary requirements and the breakfast on the morning of 17th July could not be faulted.
I cannot recommend Well House highly enough. Apart from the quality of the accommodation, it is in an excellent position (near the A1) and is an excellent base from which to explore Northumberland.

Room Tip: There is only one double bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

2 nights at the Well House, greatly enjoyed the hospitality from Lynsey & Phil. Breakfast could not be better after very comfortable evenings. Evening meals at local pubs that are recommended by our hosts. A great place to stay if you are planning a visit to the north East of England.

Room Tip: Only the one room - but brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is such a welcoming place to stay! We felt at home from the moment we arrived after a day's walking the St Oswald's Way. The room has has a bedroom area at mezzanine level and a small sitting room below. The B&B is close to places to eat in the evening and Phil and Lindsay have lots of local info available. What I really liked though and what made this B&B stand out was the fantastically thoughtful extra touches in the room. So flannels provided, tissues, extra toiletries, lots of books and information, nightlights, cakes, real flowers - so many of the little things that add that extra level of comfort and make you feel really welcome. I thoroughly recommend it here and really don't think its current Tripadvisor rating for Belford B&Bs reflects just how good it is.

Room Tip: There is only 1 room, and it feels more relaxing and somewhat more informal because of this. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraH53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

What a fantastic B&B! Firstly, there is only one bedroom so you have complete privacy with your own entrance and a lovely, cosy front room with TV, CD player, tea/coffee/biscuits etc. We received a wonderfully warm welcome from Lindsey and the breakfast the next morning was totally delicious! I would love to return again and would recommend to anyone and everyone! Well House is right in the middle of Belford, a lovely little village with lots to do and see in the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyb1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

This was our final B&B when walking the Northumberland Coastal path. We couldn't have finished in a more welcoming place. The accomodation was excellent with our own sitting room and entrance. Our breakfast was the best we'd had all week and they were excellent hosts. It was a shame that our schedule didn't allow us to stay another night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliah892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We booked this B&B for one night to attend a family birthday. Having arrived there after a three and a half hour journey to find a note on the door asking us to ring a mobile number as they were five minutes away. When I spoke to Mrs Nicholson we were told that we had been double booked and that they had found us somewhere else (Farmhouse Guest House). We were angry as we had booked months ago and had received emails confirming this. But the worst was that they couldn't even tell us face to face and she proceeded to tell us where to find the other place. Her directions were awful as we didn't know the area it took us a while to find it.
We finally got settled in the Farmhouse and couldn't have been looked after better. Needless to say that's where we will stay in future.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philnich, Owner at Well House, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
There was responsibility on both sides for the misunderstanding over reservation. Once we realised what had happened we quickly arranged for alternative accommodation. Fortunately we managed to find this at The Farmhouse, just round the corner, as they had a cancellation. The Farmhouse Guesthouse has a higher rating than us and has won many awards. We arranged to pay difference in cost, I offered to drive them to and from their evening venue, which was in the village . They were very happy with their accommodation and enjoyed their visit. I think we did all we possibly could to ensure a positive outcome and do not deserve the ' terrible ' rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingatestone
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

We stayed at the Well House for one night and will definitely be back. The accommodation is great and the attention to detail really makes a difference. From the eclectic ,(and right up our street), collection of CD's, books and DVD's, to the plentiful tea / coffee and assorted hot drinks in the room! The bedroom was superbly comfortable, and our daughter very snug on the bed settee!

Belford is a lovely, friendly village and in easy reach of some of the key Northumbrian visitor attractions.

We were extremely fortunate not only to have had great weather, but a super evening in Belford and such warm, friendly hosts in Phil and Lindsay. Will look forward to a return at some point!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fozziebret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
7.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
2.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
0.1 mi away
The Farmhouse Guest House
0.1 mi away
Market Cross Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Well House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Well House

Property: Well House
Address: 35 High Street, Belford NE70 7NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Well House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Well House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Well House Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing