We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay to visit lots of places in Northumberland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Purdy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Purdy Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay to visit lots of places in Northumberland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Great place to stay. Situated on a main road but with all rooms located at the back of the hotel there was no noise from the passing traffic. Lovely view from room over fields to Bamburgh Castle in the distance. Clean room and bathroom. We ate in the restaurant a few nights, lovely meals and average prices. You can chose to eat in the bar or restaurant. Excellent service, quick check in even though staff were multi-tasking serving in the restaurant, at the bar and also on reception. Conveniently located for Bamburgh, the Farne Islands, Alnwick Castle and Gardens and Holy Island (all well worth visiting).
We will stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lj_shrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    132
    62
    17
    19
See reviews for
91
169
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stayed at Purdy lodge to be near bamburgh, seahouses and berwick. It was perfectly located between these. We stayed with our 10 month old son and the hotel staff were great with warming his food ect. Rooms very clean, were cleaned each morning . Also quite big, plenty space for the travel cot. Big bathroom with a great bath and shower. Only downside how close to the road it was and no garden. Also offers free wifi which we could only get in the bar not the rooms.

Room Tip: Often promotion deals on the purdy lodge website
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Countrylass1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Unable to get a room on the coast due to the half term holiday we booked in at Purdy Lodge which didn't look too grand from the outside being right next to the main road and beside a service station, but once inside the staff were extremely welcoming and the rooms were clean, comfortable and had a nice view over the surrounding countryside We ate dinner at the accommodation both nights and was very pleasantly surprised at both the quality of the food and the excellent service provided. Breakfast was also first class and served quickly and efficiently by a very friendly waitress.

We were more than pleased that we chose to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tweetiepie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
134 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

I decided to stay here as I needed to drive to Ediburgh, early the next morning. Hotels are pretty rare in this area, so it was interesting to see what was on offer.
The staff are very friendly here and anxious to please. You never get the impression that they are just going through the motions of the have a nice day brigade. The rooms are just ok, and about what you would expect from a travel lodge type of place. I was concerend by the close location of the busy A1 but all the rooms are at the rear and back onto open fields with the sea in the distance. The rooms could be more modern but I was only staying 1 night and they did the job. On the negetive side the noise from people coming into the hotel at 3 in the morning woke me, and several other guests up. Thin walls and lack of consideration combines for a poor sleep.
The food is very good, and particularly breakfast were it is freshly made, and served with a smile even though I had a very early start. Overall good value for money, and provided other guests are considerate a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

We arrived at The Purdy Lodge mid afternoon and were met by a smiling receptionist who checked us in swiftly. Our room was lovely and immaculately clean. Modern bathroom with bath and shower, huge super kingsize bed with gorgeous white linen, flat screen TV and coffee/tea and shortbread. We really had everything we needed. Our heater wasnt working and as we were going out for a look around we informed reception, we returned about an hour later and the heater was fixed. We had opted for Breakfast and Dinner and headed down to eat at around 8pm. The restaurant part is very nice with a modern look. The staff couldnt do enough and were very very friendly and attentive. The menu is quite modern which we loved. My other half had prawn and cray fish to start and I had Mushrooms in a filo basket, for main he chose Lamb stew and I chose beef stroganoff, everything was presented beautifully and tasted amazing. Top marks to the chef!! Drinks are a little pricey with a pint of Stella being £3.20 and a large dry wine £4.05. There is also a cafe next door that you can use, this is open 24 hours a day and serves just about anything, excellent and very handy. Overall the staff here are something else, obviously hired for their excellent manners and smiling natures. We would definately return here its a lovely lovely hotel and we were sad to leave after having a wonderful weekend. An excellent base to explore this gorgeous area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scallyally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

Great place to stay and really easy to get to, great transport links. The rooms are all at the back of the hotel facing toward Bamburgh Castle and the sea so you get a great view. Our room and bathroom were really comfortable and clean with freeview TV and plenty of teas and coffees. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent and we found the staff to be really friendly and helpful. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pip01073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

my genuine opinion of this hotel.
Staff wonderful helpful and attentive, but given too much to do, some minor mistakes made, Food excellent out of this world, bar area, comfortable.
Rooms unfortunatly these let the hotel down somewhat. Tired and a bit dirty, the sheets appeared clean, carpet disgusting, kettle disgusting, windows dirty.
A new coat of paint had just been applied in my opinion a waste of time.
The bathroom terrible...urine stains on the toilet seat, mouldy grout, tired shower cutain and a shower head I would not allow anywhere near me.
The manager should spend a couple of nights in each room and see what are simply minor faults which could so easily be rectified.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bumblebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
4.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
5.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
11.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
20.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
20.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purdy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Lodge

Property: Purdy Lodge
Address: Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Purdy Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Purdy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purdy Hotel Belford
Purdy Lodge Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing