We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Purdy Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Queens Head Hotel(Berwick-upon-Tweed)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed(Berwick-upon-Tweed)(Great Value!)
US$96
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
137
152
68
18
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
152
68
18
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamburgh castlehour cafepetrol stationlovely viewlooked nicefull englishcafe next doorbusy roadgreat place to stayone night stayshort staytea and coffeecouple of nightscomfortable roombreakfast was includedgenerous portionsevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Purdy Lodge is an independent hotel on the A1 and so very convenient as a stopover on a long journey. It's well placed to visit Bamburgh Castle and Holy Island, and other Northumbrian attractions. As a hotel it's fine for one night. The rooms are at the back with views over fields and so not affected by noise from the road. It was clean and reasonably comfortable but in need of some sprucing up. We opted for breakfast in the café next door (24 hours) and had a good choice of food. Fine for a stopover.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback that we get from our guests and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had stayed a couple of nights travelling back from Scotland 2 yrs ago , so had no hesitation in using Purdy Lodge again . This time for 4 nights while exploring Northumberland. The young staff were extremely efficient. Breakfast more than adequate and evening meals very generous and served promptly. It is a good centre for attractions ,we even managed a pub lunch in Scotland. Hope to visit again !

Room Tip: upstairs may be a bit quieter but all ok
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fenfreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your review! We are always really pleased to have guests staying with us who have stayed before! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Chose Purdy Lodge for a stopover on our way to Edinburgh, being right on the A1 it is very convenient. Had a family room for 3adults and it was a reasonable size with a view over fields towards Bamburgh Castle. I think all the rooms face this way and not towards the busy A1. Although our room was clean the hallways etc. looked as if they needed a little TLC. The lady on reception was extremely friendly and doubled up as our waitress for our evening meal. Food was very good but we did not stay for breakfast as we had other arrangements. Although not blown away by Purdy Lodge we would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaltzingMatilda06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay with us. Thank you for you kind words about our receptionist and we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope that if you are ever in the area again that we will get the chance to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stopped for the night en route from Edinburgh to York. We didn't book anything but saw the place from the main road, and good ranking on the web made us more comfortable in choosing to stay. We had two rooms. After getting in we found that Wi-Fi service was no good unless you are in the restaurant area. Staff said they'd try to reset the router but that didn't help. We ordered dinner for two children which was OK but nothing more. At a late hour we tried the showers, in both rooms the water flow was minimal and made shower a poor experience. The bath taps were flowing just fine - so guys please fix these showers, not everyone wants to take a full bath.

The next day we had breakfast which was a strange experience. Some of stuff is self service but for the most, even toast and coffee, you have wait for service, which took a long time. I'd rather have everything with self service.

To sum up, nothing disastrous but several small annoying things which call for improvement.

Room Tip: Ask about or check Wi-Fi coverage and view from the windows. Some rooms may be better than others.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SicTransit2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback that our guests leave following their stay. We have noted your points and will look to improve on these in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I agree with most of the other positive reviews published. We did one overnight stop whilst touring the area. Our room was clean tidy and spacious enough. The furnishings were fine, the king size bed was fine. It was on the upper end of the Travel Lodge scale. We had dinner and breakfast, both were OK but not outstanding. Service at breakfast time was disorganised, tables left uncleared, and some confusion about where we would be seated. Overall it was fine for a couple of nights or so when in the area.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Robbiexbobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback that our guests leave following their stay and would like to apologise that you felt that berakfast service was disorganised. We hope that in spite of this you feel as though you would stay with us again and if so we look forward to meeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews