We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and comfortable”
Review of Purdy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Purdy Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights recently whilst on a short break with a friend. From stepping through the door to leaving all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the furnishings were in good condition.The bathroom also was very clean and had good quality toiletries - the shower curtain was reaching the end of its life but I'm sure will be replaced soon?
We ate dinner in the restaurant both evenings and the meals were excellent, tasty and good sized portions. One breakfast was taken in the attached 24 hour cafe - bacon roll and coffee and the following day we had breakfast in the restaurant - I'm not a fan of sausages but the ones on the full English were delicious. Although directly off the A1 the rooms face fields to the rear so road noise is not a problem. Would definitely stay again as the Purdy Lodge is so well situated for Alnwick and the beautiful Northumbrian coast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nosro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We really appreciate all of your feedback and are very glad that you enjoyed your meals whilst you were with us and your lovely comments about the staff. We lok forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Family room was more like a box room, bathroom was disgusting, no air con in rooms, stifling hot, window barely opened to let in much needed fresh air. No fans were available. Hardly slept . Food terrible.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjm-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. All of our windows are fitted with locks for our guests safety but there is information in all that rooms that advise you on how to open the windows fully; i am sorry if you were not aware of this. I would just like to say to all reading this review that if you would please take a few minutes to have a look through our other reviews you will see that we usually have very good reviews regarding our food. We are sorry again that you did not enjoy your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

stayed here for one night while attending a wedding. despite being right on the motorway it was surprisingly quiet as all the rooms face the back of the hotel onto a lovely field, which u can spot lots of wildlife in, was lovely having breakfast watching about 20 finches eating the blackberries growing outside.

the food is all fresh and lovely, even if the breakfast service was a bit unorganized.
would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leeanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We found the Purdy lodge to be a basic roadside stopover, which is exactly why we booked it. It was much cheaper than staying in Newcastle and we needed a three bed room.
We were imediatley put off by the "dog friendliness" of the place, encountering several animals during our one night stay and with dogs which we could hear in the next room.
I have no idea how this is a four star other than it has a bar / restaurant and 24 hr cafe. The room was clean and comfortable with a good view over the fields, bathroom clean, but shower very weak and a mouldy shower curtain.
We ate in the restaurant , service fine and the food was okay for what it was but the table was very sticky which wasn't good.
I wouldnt stay here again but if you want a one night cheap stay its okay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lulu-Abz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry that you were put off by the fact that we are dog friendly; we do have a big customer base that do like to bring their pets with them when they are travelling but we are sorry that this was not something that you like. We will take all you comments on board and hope to improve on them in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Purdy Lodge is an independent hotel on the A1 and so very convenient as a stopover on a long journey. It's well placed to visit Bamburgh Castle and Holy Island, and other Northumbrian attractions. As a hotel it's fine for one night. The rooms are at the back with views over fields and so not affected by noise from the road. It was clean and reasonably comfortable but in need of some sprucing up. We opted for breakfast in the café next door (24 hours) and had a good choice of food. Fine for a stopover.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback that we get from our guests and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had stayed a couple of nights travelling back from Scotland 2 yrs ago , so had no hesitation in using Purdy Lodge again . This time for 4 nights while exploring Northumberland. The young staff were extremely efficient. Breakfast more than adequate and evening meals very generous and served promptly. It is a good centre for attractions ,we even managed a pub lunch in Scotland. Hope to visit again !

Room Tip: upstairs may be a bit quieter but all ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fenfreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your review! We are always really pleased to have guests staying with us who have stayed before! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Chose Purdy Lodge for a stopover on our way to Edinburgh, being right on the A1 it is very convenient. Had a family room for 3adults and it was a reasonable size with a view over fields towards Bamburgh Castle. I think all the rooms face this way and not towards the busy A1. Although our room was clean the hallways etc. looked as if they needed a little TLC. The lady on reception was extremely friendly and doubled up as our waitress for our evening meal. Food was very good but we did not stay for breakfast as we had other arrangements. Although not blown away by Purdy Lodge we would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaltzingMatilda06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay with us. Thank you for you kind words about our receptionist and we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope that if you are ever in the area again that we will get the chance to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
5.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
7.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
19.0 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
2.7 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
216 reviews
11.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purdy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Lodge

Address: Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Price Range: £70 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purdy Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Purdy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purdy Hotel Belford
Purdy Lodge Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing