We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Hotel”
Review of Purdy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Purdy Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprise Hotel”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Lovely little hotel.

Was only expecting travel lodge quality due to previous reviewers but got much more.

Booked last minute as we decided to add an extra night to our trip away, we arrived just 4 hours later and was allowed to check in early (so gets an extra star).

The room was lovely and clean with a view out across open fields. Equipped with Flat screen tv, free wifi, hospitality tray and super bath.

Location was very close to Bamburgh about a 10 minute drive which was ideal for exploring the castle & beach.

Didn't eat at the hotel but the bar area looked nice.

My only negative was that the room was very cold when we arrived, but we soon warmed up with the heater.

Great value for £55.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauradennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we managed to exceed your expectations! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    145
    66
    18
    20
See reviews for
99
183
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights and found it very comfortable and pleasantly quiet. Within easy driving distance to Bamburgh and Alnwick Castles, went to both, and highly recommend a walk on Bamburgh beach, stunning..... Plenty of tea and coffee in the room and oodles of hot water, very friendly and helpful staff. I would recommend eating in the adjoining café, open seven days a week and twenty four hours a day. Food was cheaper than eating in the restaurant, but of the same quality, and amount. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for all your kind comments. We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Ive passed Purdy Lodge dozens of times while going up and down the A1 and thought it was just a truck stop with rooms. However this is far from the truth, it is a little gem if you are prepared to drive to the abundant tourist spots which are all within twenty minutes from the Purdy. You can eat in the bar but I would recommend you walk through the door from the bar to the 24hr café which is more like a cafeteria in a garden centre and cheaper than the Purdys restaurant. I would recommend the Northumbrian stew. The portions are generous and the menu is extensive. You would think by being by the A1 it would be noisy but not at all and the views from the back stretches out onto Bamborough Castle. The only fault with the room (No 5) was a crack in the sink, which apparently is on the repair list. If you need to get a taxi, no problem but expect to pay about £8 to Bamborough and £14 to Seahouses. All in all a good budget hotel where the food excels its budget status.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeenandDone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are all pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and are especially pleased that you enjoyed your meals! We hope that we get to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed for two nights over the weekend, wasn't expecting much but we were pleasantly suprised! The rooms were simple but clean and had everything we needed( little personal touches were lovely) breakfast was plentiful and nothing was too much trouble for the attentive and friendly staff although rushed off their feet it was hard to notice as everybody was well looked after very excited to return in the summer! Thank you for our lovely stay to all at the purdy lodge!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovethenort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay. We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we very much look forward to meeting you again in the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

lovely welcoming room nice, bed very comfy, glad we took some alcohol for our room instead of drinking in the bar as we were the only ones there so not a very good atmosphere,and there was nowhere walkable nearby we dined in the restaurant and the food was delicious but we were unimpressed with the breakfast to me an all day breakfast should include beans have to the say the sausages were lovely though and made up for it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your meal that you had with us in the restaurant on the evening, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast. Please accept our apologies as we should have explained what was on the breakfast for you as we do serve beans and would have been more than happy to provide you with some. We are very glad that you enjoyed the sausages though! We hope that we get the chance to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

we stayed here last month so we didn't have to drive back to teesside after visiting bamburgh castle. we only paid £40 or £50 with a living social voucher but I really wasn't that impressed. the sheets were a bit starchy and the kettle was filthy. basic accommodation.
atmosphere in restaurant terrible as we were the only ones dining there in the evening. sample menu was 10x better than what was actually presented. my vegetarian option was Mediterranean vegetables and salad with a poncy name which made it sound much more exciting. essentially veg+veg+veg. Needless to say, I didn't finish it. Breakfast the next morning was somewhat better but, again we were the only ones there, despite there being other guests staying in the hotel. we both opted for full english but seemed to get totally different components, despite not having specified anything other than for me to have veggie sausages.

overall I wouldn't really recommend it. it was okay but was located on A1 and I think that a hotel in Bamburgh would have been nicer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharliMarsh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your time with us. I am sorry that you were not impressed with your stay. We were very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your food that you had with us; the vegetarian option of field mushrooms with Mediterranean vegetables is one that we usually get very good feedback about so we were disappointed to see that you hadn't enjoyed it. It is unfortunate that you were the only ones dining in the restaurant, it is a quiet time of the year and I can only hope that you may come back to us again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This was a late last minute booking for us, we wanted a place to rest our heads while on a long drive the length of the A1, was wasn't expecting luxury for what we paid.

We were presently surprised, we had a quick swift checking, was told the procedures for ordering dinner in the evening, and told about checkout.

The public areas of the lodge (dining room, bar, cafe, reception) are immaculate, clean and fresh looking, the rooms on the other hand are very dated, but this didn't put us off.

We will be returning here again in the summer to explore the Northumbria coastline for sure. :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Deanoboy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your comments and are very pleased to hear that you will be staying with us again in the summer; if you keep an eye out on our website we will have some special offers that will be running that may be of interest to you. We look forward to seeing you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
5.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,228 reviews
7.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,025 reviews
20.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
19.0 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purdy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Lodge

Property: Purdy Lodge
Address: Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Purdy Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Purdy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purdy Hotel Belford
Purdy Lodge Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing