We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but needs work.”
Review of Purdy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Purdy Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad but needs work.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The room was clean and large enough, with a comfortable bed, but the shower was pretty much useless - there wouldn't have been enough water pressure to rinse shampoo out of hair! Luckily I wasn't in a rush, so I was able to run a a bath, which conversely filled up really quickly, with no shortage of hot water.
The staff on reception wanted to charge a late checking-out fee but we explained that we'd had to wait 45 minutes for our breakfast to arrive in their cafe (it was definitely not worth the wait, by the way), and they (slightly begrudgingly) waived it.

I don't normally bother to write TripAdvisor reviews, but the mostly positive feedback on here made me expect a nicer experience than I think I actually received, so I thought I'd redress the balance a bit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I would like to thank you for bringing our attention to the problem with the shower and we will look into this matter. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the breakfast that you had in the cafe. I hope that you feel as though you would give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    146
    67
    18
    20
See reviews for
100
184
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I was undecided if to book this hotel , but wow I am glad I did . On arrival a very friendly receptionist,told us everything we needed to know . On arriving in the room , the fan shaped towels arranged on the bed was a very nice touch. The view from the window was over open farmland to the sea and castle The room was very clean and complementary toiletries in the bathroom ,. We ate in the bar and cannot fault the tasty food . The atmosphere was very relaxed ,just what you want after a long day . The staff on duty were friendly and polite . The hotel was very quiet in the night even though it was full ,so a good nights sleep was had .Overall this is a great little hotel and will certainly return and would highly reccommend to anyone visiting the area looking for a good value stop over .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aggs321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you very much for such a lovely review! We are all very happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you would recommend us to others! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel is right at the side of the A1 and next to a truck stop and filling station, please do not that put you off. Certainly ideal location for those on business. We were holidaying in the area and found the location very convenient for visiting local attractions.

Staff were very friendly and very helpful, could not have been nicer. The bar and and restaurant area airy and clean and the drinks and food were perhaps a little expensive but certainly not excessive as far as hotel prices go.

We ate breakfast at the hotel and it was more than sufficent, plenty of choice and I the cooked breakfasts were basic but made with quality sausages and decent bacon, making a pleasant change from the usual cheap rubbish you get. We also had one evening meal which sadly was not that wonderful. the fish I am told was bland and my chicken was over cooked to the point it was dry.

We had a family room which was clean and comfortable. The adult beds were comfy, however I drew the short straw and got the kids bed which as a fully grown adult was uncomfortable, Probably ok for and 8yr old though.

The en-suite was well equipped however the bath had very high sides making it difficult for those with mobility issues to get in and out, so worth asking for a shower room if you are unsteady on your feet or struggle climbing in and out a bath.

I said earlier that the hotel was clean and it is eye level and below, however a good dust would not go amiss on the dado rails and skirting on the corridors and on ledges such as the curtain finials and the plastic plants decorating the stairs were dusty.... did question the one that looked like a cannabis plant!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you very much for leaving us a review following your stay. I am glad that for the most part you were happy with your stay and I would like to thank you for bringing our attention to the issues that you raised. We appreciate all feedback that our customers give us and view this as an opportunity to improve our service that we provide. I hope that we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times. Each time I have been a weary traveller, getting out of a car into the cold. The Pudy Lodge staff have always given me a warm greeting, a very comfortable bed and a goodnigt's sleep. Thr also do a fantastic, freshly cooked full English in the morning. The hotel also has a marvellous view of the gorgeous coastline. The hoel is ideally situated, being a beacon of light in an otherwise lonely stretch of road, with no other stops before Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoiraSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! We are really pleased that you always enjoy your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley Stoke Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I chose this hotel because there were 3 of us, and it had a 3 bedded room available, and a lot of other hotels were fully booked as it was Easter.The hotel is basically a truck stop on the A1 but like a motel. The room we had was in desperate need of refurbishment(rm5) ,the floor board was broken near the dressing table. It was just a bit shabby really, but the bed was extremely uncomfortable with springs poking up in all directions, and when I sat up to read it moved away from the headboard , which was annoying.Also the sheets were lovely quality but not applied to the bed very well so that they were coming off when i got into the bed. The tv was very good and so was the speed of the wifi which was free. The bathroom only had a shower cubicle which had dirty soap scum around the edge so all together not very well cleaned.Clean towels were plentiful every day of our 3 night stay.Tea and coffee making facilities were fine with biscuits provided.The bar and restaurant areas were nice also the Cafe One was good with a good choice of cakes etc. These were not so shabby as the rooms, and food was plentiful albeit slightly on the greasy side. The staff were helpful and fairly friendly, but seemed to be multitasking all the time!

Room Tip: Room 5 was at the rear of the building so quiet and well away from the A1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay with us over Easter. I am very sorry that there were a few issues that you were unhappy with during your stay. We have now completely replaced the bed in room 5 and we are very sorry that it was not in an acceptable condition for you whilst you were with us. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future and that we get the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Lovely little hotel.

Was only expecting travel lodge quality due to previous reviewers but got much more.

Booked last minute as we decided to add an extra night to our trip away, we arrived just 4 hours later and was allowed to check in early (so gets an extra star).

The room was lovely and clean with a view out across open fields. Equipped with Flat screen tv, free wifi, hospitality tray and super bath.

Location was very close to Bamburgh about a 10 minute drive which was ideal for exploring the castle & beach.

Didn't eat at the hotel but the bar area looked nice.

My only negative was that the room was very cold when we arrived, but we soon warmed up with the heater.

Great value for £55.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauradennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we managed to exceed your expectations! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights and found it very comfortable and pleasantly quiet. Within easy driving distance to Bamburgh and Alnwick Castles, went to both, and highly recommend a walk on Bamburgh beach, stunning..... Plenty of tea and coffee in the room and oodles of hot water, very friendly and helpful staff. I would recommend eating in the adjoining café, open seven days a week and twenty four hours a day. Food was cheaper than eating in the restaurant, but of the same quality, and amount. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for all your kind comments. We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
5.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,247 reviews
7.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
19.0 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
210 reviews
20.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
369 reviews
11.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purdy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Lodge

Property: Purdy Lodge
Address: Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Purdy Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Purdy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purdy Hotel Belford
Purdy Lodge Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing