We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable for short stay but could be improved!”
Review of Purdy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Purdy Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Acceptable for short stay but could be improved!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A number of us stayed here as we were all guests at a wedding at nearby Doxford Hall.

Staff were helpful and friendly enough as we arrived early and our rooms were ready. Even managed to book us a taxi at short notice which was extremely helpful.

The rooms are definitely a little tired and need refreshed. In particular the bathrooms - grout on the tiles all round the bathroom was messy, there was grime surrounding the shower area and the shower head itself didn't stay in one position (kept pushing itself to 1 side?!). The floor for some reason was also sticky. During our stay, the weather was also on the warm side, and in the evening, it was hard to sleep as the room felt humid. This may be stretching the mark a little but air conditioning would have been a god send!

Also, an ATM would be handy here, albeit there is one at the garage a short walk away across terrible ground. First time in a long long time I've seen an ATM that charges £2 for withdrawals though, so be warned!

We didn't try out the attached restaurant/bar but did venture into the cafe which is on the pricey side, but considering the whole place doubles as a service stop I suppose it is to be expected.

Overall, okay for 1 night, but don't think I could have stayed any longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I am glad that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly. I am very sorry for the issues with the bathroom and we currently have our maintenance team dealing with the issues that you mentioned. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we hope that we get to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    137
    66
    17
    19
See reviews for
94
178
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed a couple of nights to explore the surroundings... the hotel is ideally situated for such an operation. Right at a main road, but rooms are at the back so you do not see it. Rooms are basic, but ok. Staff is friendly, but quite inefficient, especially at breakfast time. Eveving food is better than breakfast! Coffee is the worst I have had in a long time! Tasteless brown water or bitter poison. Beer at the bar is fine and it was nice to watch the world soccer games there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Winkels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay with us. We are disappointed that you found the staff at breakfast time to be inefficient and I can only apologise for this. We will use your comments to try and improve our service that we provide to our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Purdy Lodge, good overnight stopping place for visiting local attractions. Nice clean rooms, pleasant staff. Craster with its famous kippers, Abbotsford Sir Walter Scott’s house and Holy Island all within easy reach from the Motel. Has its own restaurant, good choice of well prepared dishes. It has a lorry park nearby but it does not affect the comfort of the place. Will certainly stay there again as and when we are travelling to Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gustav53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay with us. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay and managed to visit the many wonderful places that are all within easy distance from the hotel! We are very happy that you would stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We spent two nights here as a base to visit the local areas of the Holy Isle and Seahouses. Excellent location and terrific meals served in the restaurant. Staff were very friendly and cheerful. Breakfast was good but could be improved with addition of fruit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the farm at the back so there is less service station noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the food that you had with us. We appreciate your comment about the fruit and will make this more readily available for our guests in the future. Thank you again and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Don't be put off by the location on the A1, the bedrooms are all on the opposite side of the building with a lovely view over open fields to Bamburgh castle and out to sea. It really is quite peaceful even with the windows open. Some things here are a little tired looking such as the rather dated bathroom fittings but everywhere was very clean nonetheless. The bed was particularly comfortable - a king being two singles made up together. The restaurant and communal areas have been modernised. The cooked breakfast was very good with decent bacon and sausage, fresh tomato and mushrooms but served with fruit juice, cereals and toast - no fruit for example. A 24 hour coffee shop serving food is useful too. So, this is definitely better than your average lodge and we bought an advance booking package and felt it was very good value for money and an excellent location for visiting the sights in the area.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms enjoy the view to the full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolliesaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are all very pleased that you were happy with your time with us and we hope to get to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent two nights here while sightseeing in Northumberland. Staff on check in we're friendly and helpful. Bar staff and waitress very nice and breakfast waitress was really good, nothing was too much trouble and very cheerful. The bedroom was clean and spacious and the beds were really comfortable. I would recommend to all as a great value hotel, we really enjoyed our stay. Thanks Purdy Lodge.

Room Tip: We had room 20 at the end of the hall so no passing foot traffic, really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about the staff; we are all very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that ytou would recommend us to others. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stopped here one night whilst at a wedding at Doxford Hall as accommodation was fully booked there. Arrived at 12pm , room wasn't ready but we knew that beforehand so were prepared. Receptionist took our case and said she would put it in the room ASAP. Arrived back at 12.15am, were shown to our clean comfortable room, no towels in the bathroom but a quick visit to the reception sorted that out. Quiet comfortable room overlooking the countryside followed by a delicious full English breakfast the next day. Only £10 return fare in the taxi to Doxford Hall ( there were 6 of us ) and 15 minutes down the road so very convenient..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ennaid57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very sorry that there were not any towels left in your room for you but am glad that the problem was quickly solved for you. I am very glad that you were pleased with everything and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
5.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
7.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
11.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
20.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
16.6 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purdy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Lodge

Property: Purdy Lodge
Address: Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Purdy Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Purdy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purdy Hotel Belford
Purdy Lodge Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing