We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms in need of a refurb” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Purdy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Purdy Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rooms in need of a refurb”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed one night in July with husband and small child. We stayed in a family room which was run down and grubby. There was no air conditioning and windows were sealed shut. Would not recommend to friends and will not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave83024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We are very sorry that you were not happy with your stay. I apologise wholeheartedly for you not being happy with the standard of cleanliness that you found in your family room and we will look into this straight away. Unfortunately it is just not possible for us to have air conditioning, although the windows do open they are fitted with safety catches for the well being of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    132
    62
    17
    19
See reviews for
91
169
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We always stop off at Purdy on our way South from Fife to Tyneside. It's a perfect half way point for us. The staff are always polite, friendly and helpful, food is good and plenty of it. Cooked fresh to order. Given a choice between McDonalds at Berwick and Purdy Lodge, my 10 year old will always choose Purdy - he loves their real chips!!

Room Tip: I can't comment on rooms as we only ever use the café.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stewsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I am very glad that you are a repeat customer and we all love that your son picks to come here over McDonalds!! We look forward to seeing you again next time you make your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed one night here to visit the Farne Islands from Seahouses. Being right on the A1 it was easy to find but inside you could hear no road noise whatsoever! Room 2 was a good size, had everything you could require and had a lovely view across to Bamburgh Castle. The bed was comfy, the room was clean, the breakfast was delicious and the staff were very friendly. What more could you want! It was a 15 minute drive into Seahouses on a quiet bendy road so the location for us was great. There is a petrol station next to the hotel if needed. Overall, this was a perfect place for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for such a lovely review! We are all really pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

A number of us stayed here as we were all guests at a wedding at nearby Doxford Hall.

Staff were helpful and friendly enough as we arrived early and our rooms were ready. Even managed to book us a taxi at short notice which was extremely helpful.

The rooms are definitely a little tired and need refreshed. In particular the bathrooms - grout on the tiles all round the bathroom was messy, there was grime surrounding the shower area and the shower head itself didn't stay in one position (kept pushing itself to 1 side?!). The floor for some reason was also sticky. During our stay, the weather was also on the warm side, and in the evening, it was hard to sleep as the room felt humid. This may be stretching the mark a little but air conditioning would have been a god send!

Also, an ATM would be handy here, albeit there is one at the garage a short walk away across terrible ground. First time in a long long time I've seen an ATM that charges £2 for withdrawals though, so be warned!

We didn't try out the attached restaurant/bar but did venture into the cafe which is on the pricey side, but considering the whole place doubles as a service stop I suppose it is to be expected.

Overall, okay for 1 night, but don't think I could have stayed any longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I am glad that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly. I am very sorry for the issues with the bathroom and we currently have our maintenance team dealing with the issues that you mentioned. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we hope that we get to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed a couple of nights to explore the surroundings... the hotel is ideally situated for such an operation. Right at a main road, but rooms are at the back so you do not see it. Rooms are basic, but ok. Staff is friendly, but quite inefficient, especially at breakfast time. Eveving food is better than breakfast! Coffee is the worst I have had in a long time! Tasteless brown water or bitter poison. Beer at the bar is fine and it was nice to watch the world soccer games there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Winkels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay with us. We are disappointed that you found the staff at breakfast time to be inefficient and I can only apologise for this. We will use your comments to try and improve our service that we provide to our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Purdy Lodge, good overnight stopping place for visiting local attractions. Nice clean rooms, pleasant staff. Craster with its famous kippers, Abbotsford Sir Walter Scott’s house and Holy Island all within easy reach from the Motel. Has its own restaurant, good choice of well prepared dishes. It has a lorry park nearby but it does not affect the comfort of the place. Will certainly stay there again as and when we are travelling to Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gustav53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay with us. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay and managed to visit the many wonderful places that are all within easy distance from the hotel! We are very happy that you would stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We spent two nights here as a base to visit the local areas of the Holy Isle and Seahouses. Excellent location and terrific meals served in the restaurant. Staff were very friendly and cheerful. Breakfast was good but could be improved with addition of fruit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the farm at the back so there is less service station noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the food that you had with us. We appreciate your comment about the fruit and will make this more readily available for our guests in the future. Thank you again and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
4.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
5.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
11.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
20.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
20.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purdy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Lodge

Property: Purdy Lodge
Address: Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Purdy Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Purdy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purdy Hotel Belford
Purdy Lodge Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing