We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handily placed”
Review of Purdy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Purdy Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Reviewed 29 July 2014

As the hotel is situated on the A1 it is an ideal base to visit the various attractions in Northumberland, just 5 miles from the coast at Bamburgh and a short distance along the A1 to Alnwick. The hotel itself is pretty basic and the rooms fairly bland, although the beds were quite comfortable. Cleanliness left a bit to be desired, the bedside lamp, of which for some strange reason there was only one, had not seen a duster since Hadrian built his wall. Also the walls were pretty thin because you could hear everyone who passed along the corridor and any door that was closed. We ate in the restaurant one night and the steak was not at all bad but the bar closes at 11pm so tough luck if you want a late session. The staff were pleasant enough and if you just want to use this as a reasonably priced base rather than luxury accommodation it probably fits the bill.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have field views
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dodgycockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay. We are sorry that you felt the cleaning was not up to scratch. We are glad that you enjoyed your steak and we hope to get the chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for Purdy Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed one night in July with husband and small child. We stayed in a family room which was run down and grubby. There was no air conditioning and windows were sealed shut. Would not recommend to friends and will not stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave83024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We are very sorry that you were not happy with your stay. I apologise wholeheartedly for you not being happy with the standard of cleanliness that you found in your family room and we will look into this straight away. Unfortunately it is just not possible for us to have air conditioning, although the windows do open they are fitted with safety catches for the well being of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We always stop off at Purdy on our way South from Fife to Tyneside. It's a perfect half way point for us. The staff are always polite, friendly and helpful, food is good and plenty of it. Cooked fresh to order. Given a choice between McDonalds at Berwick and Purdy Lodge, my 10 year old will always choose Purdy - he loves their real chips!!

Room Tip: I can't comment on rooms as we only ever use the café.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stewsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review, I am very glad that you are a repeat customer and we all love that your son picks to come here over McDonalds!! We look forward to seeing you again next time you make your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed one night here to visit the Farne Islands from Seahouses. Being right on the A1 it was easy to find but inside you could hear no road noise whatsoever! Room 2 was a good size, had everything you could require and had a lovely view across to Bamburgh Castle. The bed was comfy, the room was clean, the breakfast was delicious and the staff were very friendly. What more could you want! It was a 15 minute drive into Seahouses on a quiet bendy road so the location for us was great. There is a petrol station next to the hotel if needed. Overall, this was a perfect place for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you very much for such a lovely review! We are all really pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A number of us stayed here as we were all guests at a wedding at nearby Doxford Hall.

Staff were helpful and friendly enough as we arrived early and our rooms were ready. Even managed to book us a taxi at short notice which was extremely helpful.

The rooms are definitely a little tired and need refreshed. In particular the bathrooms - grout on the tiles all round the bathroom was messy, there was grime surrounding the shower area and the shower head itself didn't stay in one position (kept pushing itself to 1 side?!). The floor for some reason was also sticky. During our stay, the weather was also on the warm side, and in the evening, it was hard to sleep as the room felt humid. This may be stretching the mark a little but air conditioning would have been a god send!

Also, an ATM would be handy here, albeit there is one at the garage a short walk away across terrible ground. First time in a long long time I've seen an ATM that charges £2 for withdrawals though, so be warned!

We didn't try out the attached restaurant/bar but did venture into the cafe which is on the pricey side, but considering the whole place doubles as a service stop I suppose it is to be expected.

Overall, okay for 1 night, but don't think I could have stayed any longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank msg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I am glad that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly. I am very sorry for the issues with the bathroom and we currently have our maintenance team dealing with the issues that you mentioned. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we hope that we get to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed a couple of nights to explore the surroundings... the hotel is ideally situated for such an operation. Right at a main road, but rooms are at the back so you do not see it. Rooms are basic, but ok. Staff is friendly, but quite inefficient, especially at breakfast time. Eveving food is better than breakfast! Coffee is the worst I have had in a long time! Tasteless brown water or bitter poison. Beer at the bar is fine and it was nice to watch the world soccer games there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank R_Winkels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay with us. We are disappointed that you found the staff at breakfast time to be inefficient and I can only apologise for this. We will use your comments to try and improve our service that we provide to our guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Purdy Lodge, good overnight stopping place for visiting local attractions. Nice clean rooms, pleasant staff. Craster with its famous kippers, Abbotsford Sir Walter Scott’s house and Holy Island all within easy reach from the Motel. Has its own restaurant, good choice of well prepared dishes. It has a lorry park nearby but it does not affect the comfort of the place. Will certainly stay there again as and when we are travelling to Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gustav53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay with us. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay and managed to visit the many wonderful places that are all within easy distance from the hotel! We are very happy that you would stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
5.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,264 reviews
7.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
19.0 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
527 reviews
11.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,058 reviews
20.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purdy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Lodge

Address: Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Price Range: £66 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purdy Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Purdy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purdy Hotel Belford
Purdy Lodge Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing