We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab B&B in Belford near Bamburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Market Cross Guest House
Ranked #1 of 12 Belford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab B&B in Belford near Bamburgh”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Superb breakfasts, esp blueberry pancakes. Room extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. Amanda and Steve think of everything. They are both very friendly and happy to pass on local knowledge. All in all, very restful and relaxing and great value for money. This was our second visit, and would definitely go back again if in the area.

Room Tip: Green bedroom very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorcus_8, Owner at Market Cross Guest House, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi Alex,
It was lovely to see you both again and we are so glad your second visit was as good as the first. The pancakes are very much a must on the menu now as they have been so popular. We look forward to seeing you again when you are up this way in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
198
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Visiting Northumberland and surveying the Coastal Path we needed a 'one night stay' in Belford.
We found Market Cross, they accommodated the one night, which others often wouldn't, and provided excellent facilities, comfort and food.
Steve and Amanda met us when we arrived, greeted us with coffee and delicious home made cake.
The room was very comfortable, clean and modern including the very latest coffee machine with capsules supplied!!
We received good guidance on where to eat and advice that, with prior notice, Wendy was happy to provide an evening meal.
Market Cross surpassed our expectations and we will be returning later in the year as we tackle the full length of the Northumbrian Coastal Path walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorcus_8, Owner at Market Cross Guest House, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for the review Pat. We are looking forward to meeting your whole party when you come up for the full walk. We try to provide that homely feel with modern touches such as the Nespresso machines and we love it when our guests are comfortable enough to feel they can just chat to us if they want to.
"Wendy" will be happy to provide evening meals if you decide that you would like to eat with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed at Market Cross with my wife in late March, in the Blue Room. As others have mentioned the welcome was very warm with (very delicious) cake offered on arrival.

The room itself was very spacious and comfortable, with all the amenities that you could expect (and many more besides). Fresh milk was always available (I don't think I've seen that before) from the fridge in the dining room, there was a Nespresso coffee machine, a mini-fridge that could be used and lots of extras that we didn't need but nevertheless were very welcome (such as the 'emergency kit' available if you'd forgotten toothbrushes, deodorant and so on). The bed was wonderfully comfortable.

The breakfast was extremely good - I had the Northumbrian breakfast (and can definitely see why Amanda won the Belford Sausage-Off award!), and my wife had the blueberry pancakes, both times everything was cooked perfectly with obviously high quality ingredients.

We got plenty of advice on places to eat (Bamburgh, basically!) as well as things to do in the local area.

All in all, Steve and Amanda have come pretty close to creating the 'perfect' B&B experience. The only downside to Market Cross that I can see is its location - if you want a really good meal out you really do have to drive to Bamburgh or further afield (although there is also the option of eating at the B&B if you arrange in advance). Still, despite that I would absolutely stay at Market Cross as my first choice next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorcus_8, Owner at Market Cross Guest House, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
I think this may be our longest review John, and a really nice one too.
It's important to us that we use fresh local ingredients as much as possible and this extends to the milk for guest rooms. The flasks may be a little unusual but it ensures that our guests have the real thing for their tea and coffee. The "emergency kit" was just something we thought would be a good idea and so far it has proved very useful for some guests.
We don't profess to be perfect (who is) but we do listen to our guests if they have a suggestion or minor issue with something in the room. As we always say, if we don't know about it, we can't do anything about it, we want our guests to feel they can talk to us.
We hope you will stay with us again when you are next up in Northumberland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I booked this on a whim as an add-on after attending a wedding and can only say that I couldn't have chosen better! Steve and Amanda are great hosts, nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in Blue Room - a great en-suite with front views of the local church; breakfast was great; we were offered cake and coffee on arrival; there were homemade flapjacks and a "proper" coffee machine in the room AND complimentary mead and sherry on a table on the landing.
A great place - can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Rearward rooms are away from the road but all are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorcus_8, Owner at Market Cross Guest House, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for the lovely review Neal. Yes the cake does go down quite well with our guests and is something we thought was appropriate for settling in and gives an idea of what the rest of the stay should be like. Relaxed and friendly. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Others have said it but Amanda and Steve really do go the extra mile. They could not be more helpful. We stayed a couple of nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. The quality of the rooms is excellent with lots of personal touches. People have mentioned the breakfast which was delicious with a bit more than the usual choices but I also suggest sampling the evening meal which, although needing advance booking, shows off Amanda's fine cooking. Convenient street parking outside the front door. Belford is well placed to visit the Northumbrian coast which has much of interest in this area and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Two rooms at the rear may get less traffic noise than the front two looking onto the square but Belf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorcus_8, Owner at Market Cross Guest House, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thanks for the review. As we will have told you we have now completely refurbished all four of our rooms and we feel the quality speaks for itself. Thank you also for the recommendation for our evening meals. We have tried to provide a selection of menus we don't think many B&Bs/Guest Houses will offer and we are looking forward to the new summer selection. So if you are up here again this year then you will have a whole new experience waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Market Cross Guest House in late November. Firstly it is in a great location - with Bamburgh and the stunning coastline just a ten minute drive away. We stayed in the spacious tastefully decorated peaceful Blue Room with a large and very comfortable bed with big screen TV opposite. The roll-top bath in the bathroom was also very inviting. It was lovely to have homemade cherry flapjack in the room each day too - delicious! Oh and the complimentary mead and sherry was also a real treat! Breakfast was superb, full-English was very tasty - there was also an excellent choice of homemade jams. Steve and Amanda were great hosts, a lovely couple who had good knowledge of the local area - they made us feel very welcome.

In all, the Market Cross is the best guest house we have stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorcus_8, Owner at Market Cross Guest House, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a lovely review.
The bathroom in Blue is very popular. Mostly due to the bath of course. Amanda makes all the treats we put in the rooms as well as the cakes and bread (just been on another artisan bread course) as she wants that personal touch to extend into as much of what we provide as possible. And you mentioned the Mead. Something again we thought appropriate as it is made on Lindesfarne and may tempt some guests to purchase some for themselves and help the local economy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed at the excellent Market Cross guest house recently. The room and all other facilities were excellent. Lots of nice little personal touches and really great home cooking/baking by Amanda. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martydrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorcus_8, Owner at Market Cross Guest House, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thanks for the recommendation. We hope we will come and stay with us again if you are in North Northumberland in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
7.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
2.7 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Farmhouse Guest House
0.1 mi away
Well House
Well House
#7 of 12 in Belford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Cross Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Cross Guest House

Property: Market Cross Guest House
Address: 1 Church Street, Belford NE70 7LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Market Cross Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star accommodation and hospitality second to none await you at Market Cross Guest House with elegantly decorated en-suite rooms and secluded courtyard and garden. Excellent breakfast menu. Situated in Belford village, Market Cross is an ideal base for exploring Northumberland's beautiful countryside and coast. Close to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne, Bamburgh Castle, Alnwick Castle and Gardens and historic Berwick upon Tweed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Market Cross Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Cross Guest House Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing