We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing home from home stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Belford, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah S
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing home from home stay”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was the perfect place for our first holiday with our three month baby boy. The place was full of little touches and amenities. Jane the host was so lovely and accommodating and the place has such a warm home from home feel about it. Very close to travelling to around Northumberland including Holy Island, Seahouses, Alnwick and of course Bamburgh. We loved it and can't recommend it enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best cottage we've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have just returned from staying at the delightful Sawmill Cottage where we had a wonderful week exploring Northumberland. We have stayed in many cottages over the years but this was one of the best! So well equipped, spacious and beautifully furnished it was just perfect.
Jane provided us with a delicious welcome cake and she and her family made us feel very welcome.
Sawmill Cottage is located close to Holy Island, Bamburgh Castle, and the Farne Islands with Dunstanburgh and Alnwick Castles less than 30 mins away so it's ideally situated to explore these attractions and the beautiful coast and countryside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay with Sykes Cottages. We’re glad you had such a good time at Sawmill Cottage in Northumberland. We hope you consider making another booking with Sykes Cottages in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Ramsbottom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, warm well equipped cottage with home made scones in the fridge when we arrived.”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have just returned from a lovely family weekend at Saw mill cottage, despite awful weather we were warm and toasty in the beautifully equipped property. Home made scones with jam and cream were very welcoming .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanney01
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just back from a week in this fantastic cottage, I never write reviews but felt I had to let people know what an outstanding property this is. It wants for nothing and the standard of decor and finishing is superb, the owners are close by and are very friendly and willing to help any way they can but are happy to leave you to
Your own devices. Close by to loads of lovely places and beeches and only a short trip from Alnwick castle and gardens which are superb for a day out. We will definitely return here in the future

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
We are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed Sawmill Cottage so much that you felt compelled to share this lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We will be sure to pass all of your great comments along to the owners and hope you return for another stay very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R
Northumberland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb cottage in a idyllic location between beautiful coastline and hills”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This cottage is a wonderful escape from the busy routine of life. The cottage is set beside woodland, a stream, and fields, with a short stroll to see the wonderful Northumberland coastline and the historic Lindisfarne Castle on Holy Island. The Old Sawmill is a superb cottage, with attention to every detail, and comfort being a priority. Bill and Jane, who own the cottage, are welcoming and accommodating, and any query is never too much trouble. I could not recommend this cottage highly enough, and we look forward to returning at the earliest opportunity. Thank you for letting us be able to share this magical place. John, Helen and William.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That is hard - location, high standard of cottage, the locals.
Liked least: Not Applicable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;