We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed”

Mirandas Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mirandas Guest House
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed a few nights here with a friend, just for a break away. Our twin room was not fancy and maybe a little dated, but it was clean and comfortable and had a nice selection of sweeties as well as the usual tea and coffee. The shared bathrooms are modern and very clean, and toiletries are provided. There are enough bathrooms for there to be no queue in the morning. Breakfast is very tasty and nicely cooked and Robin takes care to find out what all of his guests would like and makes notes to make sure that you get what you want each morning! Definitely get the impression that he and Angela would always go the extra mile - we were even offered a lift to the station on departure. Also, my friend arrived the day before me, late at night due to commitments in London, and the landlords made a key available in a safe for her and talked her through arrival by phone even though they weren't able to be present. Again, a kind bit of flexibility that helped us to have a very relaxed and convenient stay. Great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    4
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
15
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is our 4 years coming to Mirandas Townhouse. Robin and Angela are excellent hosts and are always welcoming. The kids love it so much and can't wait to come back each year. The townhouse is like a home from home, it's own well equipped kitchen, bathroom and very spacious living room. All the bedrooms have TV's. Can't recommend them highly enough excellent hosts.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We left it to the last minuet to book a room so we could come and see our family, Robin and Angela were so welcoming. They made us feel very relaxed and at home, nothing was to much trouble. Service was excellent, and we are definitely staying here again. Best breakfast I've had in a very very long time :).

Thank you so much for having us!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiannSharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I booked a room for an overnight stay on my way to Aberdeenshire.
On arriving I was greeted by Robin and given a quick tour, I was amazed at the quality and cleanliness of the place especially for the price.
I had a very nice room most comfortable and well equipped and in the morning was treated to a freshly cooked full english breakfast to order, I also stayed the night on my way back to Malton and was treated like a long lost friend.
Overall a very hospitable (nothing is too much trouble) clean well well equipped guest house with a fantastic host.
I for one will certainly be going back for another stay.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at The Miranda for 2 nights.It is a loverly clean friendly and well equipt place to stay and very close to all ammenities in Berwick.Robin was on hand at all time should he be needed.Breakfast was as you wanted,,,full or part breakfast,hot and presented well.I would stay there again even take family as there was room for a family in the house which Robin owned next door.It has 3 bedrooms bathroom kitchen and large living area.Thank You Robin we will be up that way again to stay with you.

Room Tip: Just ring the Miranda,rooms clean and tidy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandown2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Robin and Angie also have a fabulously central house with three double bedrooms, large bathroom with a bath and shower, fully fitted kitchen, dining area and large lounge. I was lucky enough to stay here for a month and loved it. Fully equipped for your stay with a fridge, freezer and washing machine in the kitchen as well as all crockery cutlery and many extras.

Wifi also available for free.

Highly recommended as a holiday base for a family as it is only two minutes from the Ancient Town Walls, River Walks and shops.

Perfect hosts - nothing was any trouble at all and they were extremely gracious in giving me a parking space in their yard.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

7 of us stayed here whilst working at the local theatre. Robin was hospitable and accommodating offing a good value group booking and even allowing me to make a last minute change! (thank you!)

Rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed (most rooms have sink basins) and the shared facilities are clean and plentiful enough that nobody has to wait or share shower cubicles with lots of other guests.

The guest lounge with fridge and pool table makes a great space to kick back and relax at the end of a day.

If you want luxury then you have to go somewhere else and pay an awful lot more. If you want a centrally located, welcoming and comfortable place to stay that offers excellent value for money compared to other B&Bs in the area, Miranda's comes highly recommended.

Thanks,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berwick-upon-Tweed hotels
2.6 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle Vale House
Castle Vale House
#10 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#23 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirandas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirandas Guest House

Property: Mirandas Guest House
Address: 43 Church Street, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Mirandas Guest House Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing