We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb B & B with bonus of brilliant cooking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of West Coates

West Coates
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Coates
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Superb B & B with bonus of brilliant cooking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

This was one of the best places we have stayed - anywhere. The owners manage to achieve the trick of making you feel that you are staying in a friend's house (it's that welcoming and relaxed) but at the same time providing the kind of things one expects in a five-star hotel - including superb in-house cooking! We are already planning a return trip.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cultural_dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

This was a lovely old house up a long driveway north of the town. It is a little too far to walk unless you are quite hardy, but the railway station is definitely withing walking distance. We were welcomed with freshly made tea and delicious carrot cake, still warm from the oven. Our twin room was spacious and the beds exceptionally comfortable. The bathroom was large althought not en suite (but lovely white towelling dressing gowns were hanging behind our door for late night trips to the bathroom). We had to order breakfast the previous night, but it was delicious. Craster kippers are on the menu and should be tried at least once. They were by far the nicest kippers I have eaten in a very long time. Make friends with Sophie, a lovely deep black labrador who sits at the bottom of the stairs waiting to say "Hello".

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selseysilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2008

We stayed two nights in a beautifully decorated, spacious and extremely comfortable room with a large and luxurious bathroom. We have stayed in 5* hotels that offered less grand accomodation.

The welcome was genuine and warm. There is a breakfast menu with a choice of cooked or uncooked options served as generous portions of well-sourced local produce. Dinner is available on request. Karen will discuss the options with you and is a first-rate cook (she also runs a cookery school). Fine local ingredients are imaginatively cooked. You are welcome to bring your own drinks, with a modest corkage. I doubt that you can eat better within 30 miles.

The gardens are large, weel kept and attractive. We did not use the pool, but it looked inviting.

Would recommend with no hesitation.

  • Liked — Quality of the room, hospitality ad food
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cancerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2008

My husband and i spent three nights at this wonderful, top class bed and breakfast which is just on the edge of town and a short walk from Berwick upon Tweed rail station.
We were staying on a bed and breakfast basis on a winter three nights for two stay. The room we stayed in was called the Shuna and was a very well equipped en suite room with fantasic facilities. You can see why it has its gold award! The room was beautifully decorated and was very much in keeping with the age of this building (victorian). It was a very good size room with a homely feel and plenty of space to relax after a day sight seeing. The en suite was clean and bright with a large power shower. The attention to detail in the rom was much appreciated by us both!
There was an indor pool and hottub which really made our break! It was so nice to be able to relax and swim before breafast and after a day out walking in the winter winds. The indoor pool house was well equipped and had a tranquil feel to it (time restriction on use).
Breakfast was pleantiful and beautifully cooked. There was a choice of breakfast every morning including full english, smoked haddock, salmon, continental and kippers, not to mention the breads, jams and cereals. It was so filling and lasted us until tea time!! Great when out sight seeing all day. There is an option to order evening meal if desired.
Overall, this is a fantastic, small and intimate bed and breafast which pays close attention to detail and its guests. Karen and Logan Brown, the proprietors are so welcoming and happy to offer assistance where needed. It is far enough out of the town not to be affected by noise in the summer months and sits in two acres of private grounds which can be enjoyed by guests.
Would highly recomend this as a base to explore the boarders and surrounding coast line. It is convienient and easy to find and withing easy reach of a good rail link.

  • Liked — the pool house and hot tub
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank hhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berwick-upon-Tweed hotels
1.9 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parade School Guest House
Parade School Guest House
#9 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Vale House
Castle Vale House
#10 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Caroline House
Caroline House
#2 of 4 in Spittal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wallace Green Hall
Wallace Green Hall
#18 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.6 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coates

Property: West Coates
Address: 30 Castle Terrace, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your West Coates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coates Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing