We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular annual stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Granary Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Booked by our business clients several years ago but now a regular minimum annual stay for me. Pam and David are just wonderful hosts and provide excellent care and attention to detail. Loved the new shower in my ensuite and stayed longer than usual to just drench. Breakfast is a triumph with unusual choices rarely seen together on a breakfast menu. Booking again for next week.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

Amazing breakfast - never seen a fruit salad like it ! My eggs on a toasted muffin with trout and hollandaise sauce was to die for !
Very attentive and welcoming owners
A hidden treasure in Berwick upon Tweed - parking to rear

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Magic. Just magic. We chose the Granary to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. Excellent choice! We chose the Dream Suite. Another excellent choice. The room was perfect. The bathroom was even better!! The breakfast, from fruit platter with ginger syrup to marvellous full Scottish was fantastic. But best of all, by far, were Pam and David. So many kindnesses and loving touches. Nothing was too much trouble. As for the rose petals ...... !!

Everyone should come here to be delighted, amazed and engulfed in a relaxed, happy atmosphere - - - but please, not on our anniversary, we need it just for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

What a wonderful decision we made to book the Granary, based solely on Tripadvisor reviews! We had a one-night stay after visiting St. Andrews and Edinburgh, my husband and I had the Dream Room (aptly named) and our friends were in the Moonlight Room. Pam and David were terrific hosts, paying close attention to every detail. Upon booking, they twice mailed out numerous brochures which explained all the local attractions. When we arrived, they both insisted on carrying pur luggage to our respective rooms before giving us the royal tour of the guest house and thoroughly explained all the features in our rooms. They promptly took our orders for coffee or tea and set a time to meet downstairs. What a treat, sitting in the comfy parlor sipping our coffee and tea and munching on the assorted cakes and cookies! Before we retired for the night, Pam and Dave took our orders for breakfast and set the time.
We all took a quick walk outside to the wall and checked out the River Tweed. Lovely setting! Then we visited the pub right around the corner and had a quick shandy. Once back in our room, I took advantage of the beautiful tub and had a good long soak. I was able to stretch out all the way! Complimentary wine in the fridge was enjoyed before climbing into the extremely comfortable bed with quality linens. Breakfast was out-of-this-world delicious, we had the full Scottish and our friends had the eggs benedict with trout. Mmmmmmmmmmmm! All so fresh and delicious! Fresh-squeezed fruit juice, cereals, and a beautiful fruit platter with homemade ginger sauce, along with coffee and tea, accompanied the meal. I just cannot say enough about the Granary and the special pampering in every way by Pam and David. David even squeezed in a massage for my friend, working it into our tight schedule. They helped with our luggage as we were leaving and bid us a fond goodbye. We drove on to Seahouses to catch the boat out to the Farne Islands, also highly recommended. Next year, we will definitely be booking a 2-night stay at the Granary to be pampered once again and revisit the Farne Islands. Oh, we will be sure to have time to visit Bamburgh Castle and see a bit more of the local area. In short, the Granary is a gem and we cannot wait for our next stay there!

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerseytomatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Perfect place for exploring north Northumberland and the Scottish borders. Pam and Dave are wonderful hosts making you feel very welcome and taking care to make your stay great. The house is very comfortable with fine furnishings and fittings providing everything you need, we slept very well during our 3 day stay. Breakfasts are a special treat, an imaginative choice of food using local quality ingredients all freshly cooked and beautifully presented. We particularly enjoyed the eggs Benedict with smoked trout, and the best ever porridge with caramelised bananas. For lunch and dinner there are several good places to eat within easy walking distance. It was lovely to walk along the historic walls with fine views of the river Tweed, the sea and local nature. During our stay we visited the intriguing Rosslyn Chapel with its many carvings and the beautiful coast around St Abbs head and the working fishing town of Eyemouth.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Having 2 stressful jobs the brief for our weekend stay at the Granary in Berwick was relaxation. It began with a warm welcome at the station from David that continued on our arrival at the Granary as we were greeted warmly by Pam. After dropping our bags off we had a delightful walk on the walls with the sea in our view. It certainly didn't take us long to start de-stresing. On our return to the Granary we were served a lovely treat of tea and cake for 2. Delightful! Later with bags unpacked and feeling settled into the beautiful red room we enjoyed the experience of a massage. It was sooooooo relaxing. This is my 4th stay at the Granary and it never fails to deliver to the very highest of standards and service. On this visit I brought a new visitor my sister, who was blown away by what the Granary offers and admired the decor and attention to detail. Feeling chilled we later found a lovely new tapas restaurant 2 mins away then returned to enjoy a glass of complimentorary wine and chocolates to be found in our room. The.next morning we were served a first class cooked breakfast. Nice one Pam. Our stay was unfortunety short this time but exactly what we hoped for 'Very relaxing' Thanks again Pam and David will see you again I am sure when in need of a lovey retreat.





  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The Granary was the sunshine in what was a very wet weekend in Berwick. This is 5 star accommodation.  Pam keeps in touch even before your stay with emails.  You then arrive to a B&B that is nothing short of breathtaking.   Both David and Pam make you very welcome. There is also a car park for guests. The rooms are fantastic with some complimentary wine and fresh milk for your tea.  We stayed in the red room (which is much better than the website picture).  The shower is the best I have had yet and the breakfast was amazing with an excellent selection of cooked breakfasts.  We also made use of the massages available which were good value for money and very relaxing.  Overall the decor is great with some really nice touches throughout.  The quality here is much better than a lot of hotels and gives it a very boutique feel.

Overall it was a great stay (and David you are right the room we had elsewhere the next night was not a patch on yours).

We are hoping to be back in the future.
Cheers
Gillian & Douglas 

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Gillster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berwick-upon-Tweed hotels
0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
434 reviews
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
500 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
631 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Vale House
Castle Vale House
#12 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
146 reviews
3.2 mi away
West Longridge Manor
West Longridge Manor
#3 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granary Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granary Guest House

Address: 11 Bridge Street, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range: £90 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Georgian townhouse,centrally located in the historic Elizabethan town of Berwick upon Tweed. The Granary is a newly established 5 star Gold award winning stylish boutique and contemporary luxury bed and breakfast/guesthouse with free private parking in the courtyard garden.The Granary is dated as far back as Tudor times of the 1600's and is located in Bridge Street the oldest in town. In the 1850's a rather graceful Georgian cantilever staircase was added to her beautiful decor delivering relaxation to this lovely family townhouse from your footstep entry until your departure. The Granary Guest House aims are simple. We provide customer service of excellence while maintaining guest privacy. Provide a relaxed environment for all who stay. Serve the finest breakfast imaginable using locally sourced/organic ingredients. We are now listed in the Michelin Guide 2016. Altogether a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Granary Guest House Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed
Granary Guest House Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing