We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B & B we ever stayed in.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clovelly House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clovelly House
Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best B & B we ever stayed in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Every thing was perfect from the moment we arrived. Already when we booked I got the feeling of kindnes and wishes to do the best for their guest. We stayed for 4 days in 2 different rooms and both rooms were perfect with everything you can wish for, things you will not even get in a luxery hotel were you pay ten times more. All you had to do, was to ask for it. Breakfirst all homemaid and fresh, even homemaid marmelade, all kind of fresh fruit, cheese, ham, salami, you name it and it was there. I wish to thank Vivienne and Rocky for a wonderfull stay in Berwick,
they made the beginning of our vacation, before we went to Scotland to a wonderfull time.
Clovelly House is no doubt the best place to stay in Berwick, in centrum, close to busses (next street) and railway, the river, and if you are smokers there is a wonderfull little garden with flowers, and a baldakin if it is raining.

Thank you both from Elna and Ebbe from Denmark

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
64
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Fantastic B&B, felt comfortable and welcome from the minute we arrived. The room was more like a mini hotel suite! it would make a perfect base for a longer stay (we were only in Berwick for the one night unfortunately)

They really do go the extra mile here, the hospitality was second to none with complimentary beer and wine, bottled water, toffees and biscuits and that breakfast! I didn't have to eat again till 4:00pm!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Excellent B & B; the best we've stayed in. The hospitality and welcome from Viv and Rocky was brilliant, with so many nice touches. Breakfasts are awesome; set you up for the day! The location is very central with parking convenient and very nearby. Thoroughally reccomended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Vivienne and Rocky were excellent hosts and provided far more nice touches than you would expect in the average B&B, which were really nice. It is well located, warm and comfortable, although we found that the breakfasts while being cooked very well, and offering a fantastic range of options, were a bit over the top unless you specified exactly what you wanted. I have a large appetite, but was still struggling to get through what was given as a smaller portion - this seems like a strange complaint to make, but Viviennes eagerness to feed us up was a bit disconcerting.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigtallscotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Clovelly Gouse is located in a lovely cobbled street close to the centre of Berwick and close to the Old Bridge. Ideally situated for exploring the town, walking the ramparts and following the Lowry Trail. It's easy to find using the map that Vivienne and Rocky supplied or a satnav - you are guided straight to the front door. There was off-road parking for our car and a parking permit that allowed us free parking in council car parks in Northumberland whilst we were staying at Clovelly House.

Our room was lovely, very clean, with ensuite facilities (the shower had good water pressure and hot water!) and with a very large and very very comfortable double bed. We had a TV and video and dvd players. There were some very useful tourist dvds in our room and a selection of films, on tape and dvd, and books on the landing. We were provided with a map of Berwick when we arrived and Vivienne provided details of the local eating and drinking establishments.

There was complementary wine in our room and more wine and beer in the fridge on the landing that we were invited to help ourselves to - and we did! On arrival we were provided with a lovely box of chocolates and our room was kept topped up with toffees, Kit-Kats, biscuits and bottled water.

The breakfasts were every bit as high quality and large as previous reviewers have commented on, The menu is vast and everything we tried from it was cooked to perfection. Vivienne and Rocky do cater for guests with very large appetites so if you have an average or small one you need to ensure that you specify the quantity you require!

Vivienne and Rocky are fantastic hosts with plenty of information to help you make the most of a stay in Berwick without seeming intrusive.

We really enjoyed our stay with Vivienne and Rocky at Clovelly House. It was relaxing and provided a perfect base for exploring Berwick and the surrounding sights.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just home from Clovelly House we still cannot get over our luck we were just staying staying overnight but what a host and hostess they could not do enough for our comfort. Breakfast was unbelievable. If we go down to Berwick again we would love to stay there again only longer next time. Thanks once more Viv&Rocky

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanorc807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

we have stayed at clovelly house on a number of occasions the last time we were there was june 2012 for seven day every thing about clovelly house is EXCELLENT the rooms are of high class cleanliness the beds are very comfortable what every you want is there for you but what can i say about the breakfast only first class







W
We have stayed at clovelly house on many occasions the last visit was june 2012 for seven day the cleanliness is of first class what ever you need is there and the beds are very comfortable everything about clovelly house is perfect including the breakfast and ROCKY AND VIVIENNE

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berwick-upon-Tweed hotels
2.6 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wallace Green Hall
Wallace Green Hall
#25 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cara House
Cara House
#37 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansergh House
Mansergh House
#33 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clovelly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clovelly House

Property: Clovelly House
Address: Clovelly House 58 West Street, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Clovelly House Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed
Clovelly House Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing