We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Berwick” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clovelly House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clovelly House
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful Berwick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

I stayed at Clovelly House for 8 nights March/April 2010 in the single room. The facilities were 1st class, with tea/coffee, flat screen tv, radio alarm clock and en-suite facilities included. Viv and Rocky were perfect hosts, and the breakfasts were an absolute delight and set me up for the whole day. I hope to visit there again in the near future, and would recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
64
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

Vivien and Rocky are the perfect hosts. The accomodation was first class. The rooms were tastefuly decorated. There were little extras, like chocoltaes on the pillows, biscuits each day. On the landing was a microwave and refrigerator if you needed them. The breakfasts were unbeleivable, so much to choose from and so much food on the plate.
We enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delta96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

Rooms were quite big enough, immaculate and hosts very welcoming. Lots of nice touches - access to fridge with fresh milk, biscuits and fresh fruit. The breakfast was amazing with everything from fresh raspberries and strawberries to fresh Craster kippers. Excellent value, would definately return.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_BSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
127 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

The B&B is located off the main shopping street and very well positioned for the shops and restaurants. Vivienne and Rocky are lovely people, totally focused on providing their guests with everything they could wish for. The rooms are large, all have their own private facilities although these may be in a room separate to the bedroom. The rooms are squeaky clean and so well appointed, they are more akin to an upmarket hotel than the perception of a B&B ..... bath robes, slippers, Rombouts coffee, a variety of teas, chocolates, fresh flowers, dvd player plus dvds, sofa, easy chairs, bottled water, sweets, Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries, cotton wool, lovely bed linen as if all that wasn't enough for £35pppn (double) / £40 pppn single, the breakfasts have to be seen to be believed. The choice is immense, the quality excellent.. I had hot and cold smoked salmon with scrambled egg and bagles, preceeded by fresh melon, strawberries and blueberries on morning. It was so delicious, I had the same again but with oatcakes and cheese and muffins on the second morning. My friends had porridge, fruit, yoghurt, boiled egg and soldiers, the biggest full English you have ever seen (inc potatoes, fried bread, haggis and black pudding as well as the usual) absolutely everything was available and the generous and attentive hosts really couldn't do enough for us. Free parking is available over the road with the B&B's residents' parking permit. Clovelly House is under priced and provides way more than you would expect for considerably more. It's great. Viv and Rocky rock!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottsGirlsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

The best bed and breakfast i've ever stayed in.
Very friendly proprioters
Rooms spacious,excellaent decor,and very clean.
Great food and great service.
Good central location

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midgetgem1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

We booked Clovelly House B & B after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. It was just as everyone had said, very clean, comfortable and with the best hosts in the buisness Viv & Rocky !! There are so many small extras too which make it a home from home. The breakfasts are a legend and with every reason, they are fabulous and there is no risk of leaving there hungry !!!
We can honestly say this is the best B & B we have ever stayed at and we will definately be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy-R-Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

Clovelly House has deservedly one an award for best breaksfast, every taste is catered for ranging from full english to continental plus vegetarian, fish and plenty of fresh fruits. The bedrooms are very clean and comfortable and very well equipped, A highly recommended bed and breakfast. We shall definitely be going back again.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank erinessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berwick-upon-Tweed hotels
2.6 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wallace Green Hall
Wallace Green Hall
#25 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cara House
Cara House
#37 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansergh House
Mansergh House
#33 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clovelly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clovelly House

Property: Clovelly House
Address: Clovelly House 58 West Street, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Clovelly House Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed
Clovelly House Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing