We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best stay of our touring holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
The Arch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Arch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Arch
Living / Dining
Arches Apartment
View over roof tops
Street sign
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bluejenn
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best stay of our touring holiday”
Reviewed 17 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Wish we could have stayed longer. Lovely apartment right in the centre of town. Berwick upon Tweed is delightful. The apartment was furnished to a high standard and very clean. The kitchen had everything we needed and the comfortable lounge was a great place to relax.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2018
H Jennie,
What can we say after your lovely and helpful review.
We try to make the apartment 'home from home' for our quests and being in the centre of town helps, wish you could have stayed longer.
Ian & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20Florenc...
Florence, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed 6 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Central, quiet and tastefully decorated. This comfortable appartment is in a modern, secure appartment block, close to all amenities.
A warm welcome from the owners, Wendy and Ian, makes this appartment almost a home from home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2018
Hi Claire,
Thank you for your kind review and your appreciation of 'home from home' and realise why you keep coming back.
Pleased you are back home safely.
Wendy & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
septimus1
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A hard act to follow.”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week over Christmas and had a great time.

Based on previous reviews we expected a lot and were not disappointed. The apartment is immaculate and furnished to a very high standard.

Wendy and Ian the owners could not have been more helpful. They had very kindly put up Christmas decorations and had provided lots of nice extras (the mulled wine and lemon cake were especially well received!).

The property is so close to the town centre yet in a quiet location with it's own parking and the lift is a great help when arriving and departing.

It has everything you could need and the surrounding area is full of history and lots of great walks.

Would definitely recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2018
Hi Andy, thank you for your great review and our apologies for not responding earlier. It is very nice to be appreciated for the effort we put in and we love for our guests to have enjoyed their stay at 9 Arches apartment.
Thanks Wendy & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian w
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great flat. Great location”
Reviewed 19 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Well equipped. Very comfortable. Helpful owners. Would like to stay in it again the next time we're in town, if it's available.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2018
Our apologies for not responding earlier, and we thank you for your excellent review and would certainly love to see you back, it will be available for you we are sure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M
1 review
“Fabulous luxury fully equipped well furnished apartment, owned by lovely people”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Car parking on site. Lift for use if needed. Two minutes from shops. Lovely historical and countryside walks nearby; beautiful views from Pier Rd looking south to Bamburgh and Lindisfarne; or across the Tweed to Spittal Promenade

It is extremely difficult for me to find fault! Fully recommended. Stay and enjoy!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review and we appreciate the comments for the apartment, ourselves, and the location and your emcouragement for others to stay and enjoy.
W & I
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tailscat
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant.”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at 9 Arches Wendy & Ian,s superb apartment it was very clean and tidy and equipped with everything you need for your stay in Berwick, good parking and a central location. Looking forward to staying again on our next visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review on 9 Arches, we try to minimise what our guests need to bring to enjoy their stay and we think from your comments we are getting there, and that the apartment provides everything you need and its location suits.
Thanks W & I ( what time next visit?)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denlin95
Lincoln
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect exclusive apartment”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This beautiful, clean, smart apartment was perfect for my family. Everything was provided including a welcome cake & flowers - very thoughtful. The location is ideal in the centre of town and Berwick had everything, lots of great places to eat, amazing vintage shops to browse in and a walk round the town walls is a must plus boat trips on the river and lovely coastal walks. If you need to venture further afield the train station is only a few minutes walk from the apartment and Edinburgh or Newcastle is less than an hour away. We would have no hesitation in booking again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Wendy and Ian would like to thank you for a wonderful review, this means a lot to us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing