We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food”
Review of Amaryllis - CLOSED

Amaryllis
Price range: US$2 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely food”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

go to this amaryllis a lot, food is excellent and of a very high standard Ruth who owns it is really nice and all the staff are so freindly, nothing is to much trouble.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    36
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Light lunch with my partner”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We went here on the off chance today and had an excellent lunch, with friendly and prompt service. I had soup of the day with bread. Plenty of it and very tasty. Reasonable prices too!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Scrummy”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Amaryllis - Visited Berwick-upon-Tweed today, fancied something to eat and saw the family run café/bistro Amaryllis tucked away down West Street. How lovely. Very clean, staff friendly, menu not massive but what we tried was soooo tasty. It looked great too when it was carefully presened. Shame we were just too full to try the desserts on display. Will definitely go back when we up here next -

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ginamarina67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Changes...”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Amaryllis is a lovely restaraunt/cafe. A few of my work colleagues and I often lunch out here occasionally during the week or on a weekend. Girls very polite and happy to serve. We haven't been to Amaryllis since September due to change of duties/hours at work. There aren't many nice places to dine for lunch hence why we visit here so often. We had lunch one day last week and I must say I was not at all impressed. Staff were miserable, not only did they not greet us when we arrived but they took a while to attempt coming across to take our lunch order and drinks. Usually when being a regular for so long, you get to know staff and chat while being served but not this time. No familiar staff and just not the same atmosphere as it once used to be! Not the same place as it once was I'm afraid and it's sad I have to say.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scots-111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Something a bit different”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Looking for somewhere to eat early lunchtime, or even just lunchtime, around the Berwick area in January isn't particularly easy, especially if you're vegetarian. If you discount supermarket cafes and the local garden centre, then most other places offer standard traditional Sunday lunch, with precious little choice, and don't usually start serving till after 12 at least. It was a cold, wet, raw day and we'd been on the go since early. Took a chance on Amaryllis being open and it was, although we were the only people in at that time. However not a murmur of complaint at our early arrival, a full menu at our disposal, which has a variety of options, either full meals, or baguettes with rather more substantial than usual fillings, as well as soups. They even offer smaller portion sizes on a couple of the mains, which is good. Husband enjoyed a baguette with sausages and onion marmalade, which was well filled and tasty, along with some curly fries. I had a small portion of wild mushroom risotto, which was excellent and I doubt if I could have managed a full portion it was so filling. Great cappucinos and one of their many generous slices of traybake to finish and all for £20. Congratulations - we've been in before an odd time, but Sunday was specially welcome and we'll definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amaryllis also viewed

Tweedmouth, Berwick-upon-Tweed
Spittal, Berwick-upon-Tweed
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing