We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parade School Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

What a super place to stay. It is situated in a very quiet part of Berwick near the Old Barracks and Town Walls, with a free car park just across the road. It is also an easy walk to the railway station (45 minutes by train to Edinburgh).

The warmest of welcomes from Ann on our arrival - tea/coffee and chocolate biscuits. Our room "Barrack" was very stylishly and beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The bed was really comfortable and we also had a sofa - great for watching the wall mounted tv or just relaxing with a book. The bathroom just sparkled. It had a bath and separate shower - loads of hot water and warm towels on the heated towel rail. Warm and cosy bath robes are also provided.

Breakfast was tasty with loads of choice and Ann goes out of her way to make sure that your stay is as good as it possibly can be. She is more than happy for you to use the dining room if you want to bring a takeaway back - or sandwiches, as we did.

It's just a gem of a place to stay in, with the friendliest of people who make it feel like home from home. If we stay in Berwick again that's where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
85
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uae
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed with our young family in the family room. Great welcome and nothing was too much effort. Really friendly atmosphere and you could stop and chat all day. only slight complaint was bed was too soft for my liking but that was a personal preference. No qualms about recommending for future visits.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank stuchil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Parade School Guest House is a High Quality conversion into a B&B, property is very stylish with a lot of thought being made on its furnishings & overall finishing.
Anne is a lovely host who nothing is to much to ask, she is clearly dedicated in offering the best service possible to enhancing your stay.
Breakfast is to a good quality, rooms are clean & beautifully styled, I would have no qualms in staying at the Parade School Guest House if visiting this part of the world again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reddonnegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

There is nothing that i can say that is bad about this b n b. Ann and Jan are the people you see most they take care of you as soon as you walk through the door and cant do enough for you. The information that is in your room and downstairs in the breakfast room is amazing and if your not sure they will help you. Would go back there everytime i go back to see family xxx

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AngelSuzieTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

For the frequent traveller, who is looking for comfort at a bargain price, you can't beat The Parade School Guest House. The rooms are boutique-style, bathrooms are wonderful, the staff are extremely welcoming and, while they don't do evening meals, they will provide you with plates, cutlery, glasses etc so you can eat your takeaway in comfort, if you don't want to eat out - they will even make you a pot of tea or coffee. The location is ideal, being very close of free parking, quiet and away from the main road but within a few minutes walking distance of the shops, pubs and restaurants. Breakfast was a superb full English. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: You need to be aware that the local seagulls are quite vociferous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We booked last minute so had a room on the top floor. Anne offered to change our rooms the next day to a lower floor if we wanted. We thought this was a lot of effort for her so stayed at the top. The room was immaculate as is the whole house. The decoration is light, airy and modern yet retains a lovely homely feel.
Anne and her staff couldn't have been more friendly helpful and kind. They were willing to chat and offer advice about local attractions despite being busy.
Breakfast was excellent with a range of choice.
The position of the gust house is perfect. Central to the town opposite the barracks and the town walls. I would love to return for longer as I felt so relaxed.
Thank you Anne for developing such a haven.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Extremely clean with very stylish furnishings and decor.throughout. .Breakfast was fist class with an excellent selection and we particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit bowls comprising blueberries, raspberries, blackberries and kiwi fruit. Ann was very friendly and helpful offering us a lovely coffee with biscuits on arrival. Very quiet location but also convenient for walking round the walls and it was just a few minutes from the centre of Berwick - also a free car park opposite the house. We had a small room at the back of the house due to all the other rooms being occupied but even so it was really nice and the en-suite bathroom was delightful (the towels were the softest imaginable) We could not fault our stay and would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berwick-upon-Tweed hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
413 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
301 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 46 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#27 of 46 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#9 of 46 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parade School Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parade School Guest House

Property: Parade School Guest House
Address: 61 Church Street, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Parade School Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parade School Guest House Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing