We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”

Queens Head Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely lunch here on our annual 600 miles pilgrimage to Berwick. The chicken curry was really tasty and beautifully presented, and the tiramisu was absolutely delicious. The service was top notch too. Our very friendly and extremely efficient waitress greeted us with a lovely smile, and cheerfully served our gin and tonics and coffee. The atmosphere here is very welcoming as soon as you set foot inside, and is very relaxed and informal. The food here surpassed expectations for a small restaurant, so it's well worth the five minute walk off the high street to find it. Here's to our next visit next year!

1  Thank wearytraveller010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

A massive thanks for your complimentary review Wearytraveller. It is great to know we exceeded your expectations on your lunch & sometimes I think these certainly have a more lasting memory rather than having a pre-conceived expectation of a place.
We try to achieve an informal contemporary feel but retaining the characteristics of a period building.
Obviously gin bars are very popular now so again we try to offer a good selection for our customers to choose from & many customers have complimented us on our tiramisu which is full of flavour & rich rather than a creamy sponge with little taste.
Sincerely hope to see you next year on your return to the local area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

This was a lovely meal for a first time of trying.
The menu was varied and very interesting choices
The starters we had were the Scallops with Chorizo and the Smoked Salmon 2 ways.
Main courses were John Dory and the sea bream, delicious
Looking forward to our next visit on my birthday at the end of this month

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank NomadicWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Many thanks for your kind words Nomad & pleased to know we ticked all the boxes on your first time dining with us. Looks like it was a 'fishy night' had by both of you.
Let's hope to see you at the end of the month for your memorable occasion. Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We ate here twice during our visit to Berwick. The food is innovative and varied. Service is pleasant but a bit hit and miss at times. They have ‘specials’ on a Friday and Saturday evening to replace some of their core dishes. However some of the specials had run out by the time we arrived for our 8.15 table, so not sure that this concept works. They have a nice bar area for a pre or post dinner drink. Worth visiting if you are n town but recommend booking ahead.

1  Thank KentLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Many thanks for your constructive review & apologies as I can only assume the dishes you were specifically looking for that evening were a popular choice & ended up not being available. With regards to the specials that we offer at weekends excluding Sunday nights is difficult knowing how much to order as you never know what our customers are going to specifically order but I certainly take on board your comments with regards to this.
Also accept our apologies if you thought our service was hit or miss, as we are normally competent in this department.
Nice to see despite some constructive comments, if in the area you would not hesitate to return or recommend to other potential guests. Many thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Myself and 3 others came for lunch today myself my dad gran and papa we all enjoyed our lunch and the fact my gran could have a smaller portion was just fantastic for her I had an amazing fillet steak. The staff were top notch thank you girls will Deffo be bk

1  Thank vhb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

A big thanks for your kind review. Please to know all the family enjoyed the food & we managed to keep your gran satisfied with delivering a smaller portion as requested. I will pass on your thanks to the staff who were working that day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We chose this place for lunch while on holiday in Northumberland as it was said to be dog friendly - as indeed it was. A lot of effort had clearly be put into making an old building attractive and welcoming. The staff were lovely and the food was excellent. We chose from the fixed price menu - both having the curry of the day which was totally delicious. For dessert my wife chose the cheeseboard and received three really interesting and tasty cheeses she had never tried before. My sticky toffee pudding also hit the spot. This is a great place and a jewel in the crown of Berwick on Tweed

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank edwardseago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Many thanks for your compliments & kind words. Although we offer a varied menu through the day our aim is to offer local seasonal produce, being served efficiently & offering 'good value for money', which I can appreciate varies from person to person. Thankfully we seemed to have ticked all the boxes. Nice bonus to be dog friendly where even the dogs receive treats. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queens Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing