We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Queens Head Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I ate here last Saturday and enjoyed the most superb meal. The staff were attentive, friendly and the owners should be very proud of the team in the kitchen presenting delicious, perfectly cooked food. We both had a plate of scallops to start followed by halibut with a mussel risotto. Outstanding. I hope you enjoy the experience as much as we did. Thank you.

Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Christopher your review is appreciated & I will certainly pass on your thanks to all staff involved. Although we have owned the Queens Head for 17 years thankfully in this time we have managed to retain many of our team which is great. Regulars certainly like to recognise staff faces as they build up a rapport & continuity is an important factor in running a business.
Your review mentioned that you both had scallops followed by halibut. Again as mentioned in our previous management response suppliers can deliver fresh produce 'seven days per week' & our halibut we get is wild halibut with the size varying from 11kg up to 40kg & this providing chunky fillets rather than farmed flat fillets which are tasteless. Maybe that is just my opinion?
Sincerely hope all other customers in the future have just as much enjoyment as yourselves?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Visited this restaurant a few times and always had a wonderful meal. Extensive menu for lunches, dinners and meals. Lots of local meals with seafood a speciality. Selection off draught beers at reasonable prices
Would certainly recommend for evening dining for to our larger numbers.

Thank headdolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thanking you for your complimentary review headdolphin & upon reading your review you have dined with us & enjoyed on all occasions. I can only assume you a gluten for punishment lol.
On a serious note though the size of the menu depends on the time of year as they vary significantly & our aim ids to always use fresh local produce. In all honesty there is no excuse not being able to offer fresh produce as demands these days local suppliers offer seven day service. This being part of the 'knock on effect' to provide customers with what they expect & demands are so much higher these days as well as competition.
May see you in the future all being well?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

We decided on a last minute visit to Berwick upon Tweed to break our Jourrney home. We checked tripadvisor before going out for a meal and noted the very good reviews for the Queens Head Hotel Restaurant so decided to eat there. We were greeted warmly by a newly appointed member of staff. Indeed all of the staff turned out to be warm and friendly. The decor and the atmosphere was lovely and we enjoyed a very nice three course meal of Scallops, Fillet Steak and Banana and Ginger cake. Each of our plates were empty when removed from the table. We really enjoyed our experience there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Many thanks Michael fro your kind words. Our host trip advisor is a powerful tool & although it is impossible to please everyone, the general consensus is that potential customers look at the overall picture thankfully. Again like my previous response you were complimentary about the surroundings, atmosphere & service. Clean plates speak volumes. We hope to see you again if you return to the surrounding area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely lunch here on our annual 600 miles pilgrimage to Berwick. The chicken curry was really tasty and beautifully presented, and the tiramisu was absolutely delicious. The service was top notch too. Our very friendly and extremely efficient waitress greeted us with a lovely smile, and cheerfully served our gin and tonics and coffee. The atmosphere here is very welcoming as soon as you set foot inside, and is very relaxed and informal. The food here surpassed expectations for a small restaurant, so it's well worth the five minute walk off the high street to find it. Here's to our next visit next year!

1  Thank wearytraveller010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

A massive thanks for your complimentary review Wearytraveller. It is great to know we exceeded your expectations on your lunch & sometimes I think these certainly have a more lasting memory rather than having a pre-conceived expectation of a place.
We try to achieve an informal contemporary feel but retaining the characteristics of a period building.
Obviously gin bars are very popular now so again we try to offer a good selection for our customers to choose from & many customers have complimented us on our tiramisu which is full of flavour & rich rather than a creamy sponge with little taste.
Sincerely hope to see you next year on your return to the local area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This was a lovely meal for a first time of trying.
The menu was varied and very interesting choices
The starters we had were the Scallops with Chorizo and the Smoked Salmon 2 ways.
Main courses were John Dory and the sea bream, delicious
Looking forward to our next visit on my birthday at the end of this month

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank NomadicWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Many thanks for your kind words Nomad & pleased to know we ticked all the boxes on your first time dining with us. Looks like it was a 'fishy night' had by both of you.
Let's hope to see you at the end of the month for your memorable occasion. Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queens Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing