We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining experience.”

Queens Head Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 20 November 2017

From start to finish our experience at the Queens Head Hotel was very pleasurable indeed.
Gary, the owner, was extremley knowledgable on all aspects of the menu. We chose starters of Pan fried king scallops with a sun dried tomato tapanade topped with parmesan shavings and Smoked mackerel fishcakes served with honey creme fraiche both of which were delicious. The main of roasted venison served with a berry and port sauce was certainly the highlight of the evening although the pudding of rich amaretti coffee and mascapone tiramisu was like nothing I had tasted before.
On a Sunday evening in November there is no better place to enjoy top quality food with great service.

Thank Yorkie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

High praise indeed Yorkie! In truth not sure we deserve the praise because all we are doing is providing restaurant food without the pretentiousness & no extras added, character building with a contemporary feel & good service hopefully all combines to an enjoyable evening with us. The saying your 'only as good as your last meal' certainly bares some truth. Sincerely hope to see you return in the future & hopefully you both will have as just as an enjoyable time with us?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

After spending the morning in Lindisfarne we looked for somewhere for a late lunch. Luckily we came across the Queens Head. Even though it was almost at the end of food service they couldn’t have been more accommodating for our large group including 2 (fussy) little ones and 2 dogs. The food was exceptional. A small menu but everything ordered was amazing and you could tell everything was home made. The chap serving was friendly and knowledgeable about not only the menu but the local area advising on places to visit etc. My only disappointment was we visited on our last day of our holiday so couldn’t visit all the recommended places or visit a second time.

Thank WelshCeriBongard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Many thanks for your praise & compliments. I certainly remember you party coming on that lunch time & in truth it was a pleasure serving you all, shame you were returning home the following day. Nice to be called a chap that a surfer dude like people have called me in the past. Hope to see you all return in the future all being well. Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

This was our first visit to Berwick and we took the advice of a local to visit The Queens Head for dinner. The restaurant is tastefully decorated, warm and welcoming. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional. Food was excellent, my husband had the venison casserole, my son had the lasagne and I had fish and chips, all three meals were faultless; my husband is particular about venison being cooked correctly and was more than pleased with his dish. The desserts we ordered were equally delicious and did not disappoint. Compared to similar establishments we have visited, we found The Queens Head to be good value for money. We have recommended others to visit if in the area and we would not hesitate to visit once again ourselves.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank shonamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Many thanks Shona for your kind words & it is warming to know all of your family enjoyed all dishes served to you. Although we are No 1 on trip adivsor for restaurants in Berwick Upon Tweed which is a powerful tool recommendation & referrals play a big part in our business, this is by no means that we are complacent & continually look on how to improve our business.
Value for money varies form person to person but guessing that's what makes our profession so diverse? Let's hope to see you if you decide to return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Visited the Queens Head for a Sunday lunch. Beginning of October out walking out 3 dogs called into the Queens Head on the off chance we could get a table were made to feel very welcome including our 3 cockapoos's. We had a table just round to the right as you enter and can honestly say everything was great we opted for a 3 course meal with Sunday roast and enjoyed it all, service, quality and how welcome the dogs were.
Highly recommend for quality and being friendly
With be back soon

Thank mickwendy_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Many thanks for your complimentary review mickwendy. It must be welcoming from a customers perspective that you can relax eat & enjoy in a nice restaurant with the dogs without the worry & the usual not so dog friendly attitude. Although we offer dog treats, in truth the market is so competitive these days you have to be able to cater for all customers requirements & this I think we achieve but by no means are we complacent as we are always looking on how we can improve certain aspects in our trade.
Hope to see you both in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Stopped here for dinner and it was brilliant. Fillet steak one of the best I have eaten. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Thank GlasgowBaywatchbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Many thanks for your complimentary review, although brief 'is to the point'. It is great to know your beef was one of the best you have tasted, in truth its not just about the cooking of the beef. We buy full fillets & trim them up accordingly. As service starts the meat is left out at room temperature which is an important process part of cooking, followed by sealing the meat & leaving the meat to rest before serving to customers. Although I have mentioned this process briefly it's pivotal part of having a god piece of meat without the normally allocated steak knife. Maybe I am waffling on a bit but I am still passionate about my business.
Sincerely hope to see you in the future if you decide to return to our beautiful area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queens Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing