We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm Christmas welcome ”

Queens Head Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

From start to finish ambience was good, service was excellent and the food could not be faulted. Even enjoyed the bill when it came!!! Very good value for money even on a busy festive evening. Well done Gary who was our host for the evening and we will be back soon.

Thank heike0range
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thumbs up from us heike & more than happy the night dining with us was a resounding success. In truth everyone has their own perception of 'value for money' which is a fine line as we would like to think we offer great value as a whole experience but that's just my own opinion. Let's hope we see in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2017

Had lunch here on Sunday and the food was excellent. As it’s nearly Christmas, I had turkey but other members of the family tried pheasant curry, roast beef and salmon. Everyone enjoyed their food. Great choice with some more unusual choices from the menu. Staff were friendly, helpful and patient especially to those in the group who couldn’t decide what to have. Would definite recommend and hope to return.

Thank eck567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Many thanks for your kind words & we are pleased to know everyone enjoyed themselves & hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

We had an absolutely lovely family meal here for my mum's 80th birthday.

Felt really welcomed on arrival and the service throughout was so nice. They even put some decorations on the table when they found out it was a birthday.

Really good choice of dishes, for both starter and mains. Quite a few seafood choices if that's your thing. Also some good veggie choices. I had soup to begin which was really nice, and my steak was excellent.

The wine was good and reasonably priced. Real ale too for the beer drinkers. I think everyone left happy!

Overall, we were very happy and will hopefully be back. May even stay over next time!

Thank Hawklord_pxr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Many thanks for your kind words & pleased the special occasion was a successful & memorable occasion, hope to see you in the future & may return to stay with us next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Some of the restaurants shut on a Sunday night in winter, so we were relived to walk into the Queens Arms and be welcomed. The food was delicious and well presented, look at their menus online.
From the outside this place looks like an old pub, but is now a privately run hotel with a restaurant. As we did not stay there (wish we had), we cannot comment on the rooms. There were several diners, some of whom were residents, all seemed satisfied with the quality and ambience.

Thank Irvine-SoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Many thanks for your complimentary review & thankfully your Sunday evening turned into an 'oasis in the sand' lol sorry my twisted humour! We are happy everything exceeded expectations & next time you are both in the area you could possibly reside with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

From start to finish our experience at the Queens Head Hotel was very pleasurable indeed.
Gary, the owner, was extremley knowledgable on all aspects of the menu. We chose starters of Pan fried king scallops with a sun dried tomato tapanade topped with parmesan shavings and Smoked mackerel fishcakes served with honey creme fraiche both of which were delicious. The main of roasted venison served with a berry and port sauce was certainly the highlight of the evening although the pudding of rich amaretti coffee and mascapone tiramisu was like nothing I had tasted before.
On a Sunday evening in November there is no better place to enjoy top quality food with great service.

Thank Yorkie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

High praise indeed Yorkie! In truth not sure we deserve the praise because all we are doing is providing restaurant food without the pretentiousness & no extras added, character building with a contemporary feel & good service hopefully all combines to an enjoyable evening with us. The saying your 'only as good as your last meal' certainly bares some truth. Sincerely hope to see you return in the future & hopefully you both will have as just as an enjoyable time with us?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queens Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing