We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent New Year Eve dinner.”

Queens Head Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Six of us spent a wonderfull enjoyable and faultless New Year Eve at The Queens Head.
We eat here once a month, enjoy it every time, so bringing in 2018 here with friends was a 'no brainer' the service, ambiance and all courses of food and wines were 5 star.
Can't reccommend highly enough.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RosiePeter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

High praise indeed Rosie & in truth not sure if we deserve it, as all we are doing is being professional & try to offer a memorable & enjoyable evening which by reading your review we managed to achieve. Sincerely hope to see you all in the not too distant future all being well?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2018

Just like last Hogmanay, we had dinner at the Queen’s Head and were rather satisfied with it. It contained a bit of everything: canapes, sole, gazpacho, steak, some other items and cheese, all topped with a nice bottle of Romanian Shiraz (which is surprisingly good) and sherry. The courses were carefully proportioned so as not to make one feel replete prematurely. It was all very sophisticated and well-prepared, and the staff, who recognised us from last year, were once again affable and accommodating.
Shall certainly be back at the end of the year, if not sooner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom_Pandelaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Very kind words indeed Tom & many thanks for returning to sample another taster menu on Hogmanay. I appreciate it's a competitive market out there so to keep returning gives us a little comfort that you are more than happy with what we offer you. Let's hope to see next Hogmanay if not before as you said.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

From start to finish ambience was good, service was excellent and the food could not be faulted. Even enjoyed the bill when it came!!! Very good value for money even on a busy festive evening. Well done Gary who was our host for the evening and we will be back soon.

Thank heike0range
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thumbs up from us heike & more than happy the night dining with us was a resounding success. In truth everyone has their own perception of 'value for money' which is a fine line as we would like to think we offer great value as a whole experience but that's just my own opinion. Let's hope we see in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Had lunch here on Sunday and the food was excellent. As it’s nearly Christmas, I had turkey but other members of the family tried pheasant curry, roast beef and salmon. Everyone enjoyed their food. Great choice with some more unusual choices from the menu. Staff were friendly, helpful and patient especially to those in the group who couldn’t decide what to have. Would definite recommend and hope to return.

Thank eck567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Many thanks for your kind words & we are pleased to know everyone enjoyed themselves & hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

We had an absolutely lovely family meal here for my mum's 80th birthday.

Felt really welcomed on arrival and the service throughout was so nice. They even put some decorations on the table when they found out it was a birthday.

Really good choice of dishes, for both starter and mains. Quite a few seafood choices if that's your thing. Also some good veggie choices. I had soup to begin which was really nice, and my steak was excellent.

The wine was good and reasonably priced. Real ale too for the beer drinkers. I think everyone left happy!

Overall, we were very happy and will hopefully be back. May even stay over next time!

Thank Hawklord_pxr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Many thanks for your kind words & pleased the special occasion was a successful & memorable occasion, hope to see you in the future & may return to stay with us next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queens Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing