We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and relaxing atmosphere”

Queens Head Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We were welcomed, with our dog, to enjoy lunch inside the cosy restaurant. The food was excellent, cider was delicious and our dog appreciated the supply of dog treats offered offered by the friendly waitresses.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank juliethetraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

A big thanks Julie & pleased everyone enjoyed including the dog. I'm sure it can be a stumbling block to try & find decent restaurants or pubs that are dog friendly & in truth it seems madness to me how some proprietors turn business away in this day & age with all the competition around.
Fingers crossed we see you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2018

have a look on the web page If you plan to go early, you will see that they do a special price but you have to book and remind them or else you will get the normal menu. The food is excellent and we will go again

1  Thank Englisheric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Many thanks Eric for your kind & constructive comments. We have slightly amended the service opening hours as from last week we serve food everyday from 12pm through until 8.30pm to avoid any confusion & fingers crossed we can deliver the same quality experience the next time you visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

We lunched there on the recommendation of a friend

All good

Pleasant dining room

Pleasant and skilled staff

Interesting menu and good food

Sensible wine list

Decent value with set menus

We will be back next time we are looking for a meal in Berwick

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Muffinthemule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Many thanks for your review Muffin & we take on board your comments regarding you enjoyable visit with us, fingers crossed we can replicate this on your next visit with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

We loved our meal at this hotel restaurant.
Staff were great if a little busy and rushed but still very attentive.
Would highly recommend ❤️

Thank CJB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Many thanks for your review & kind words CJB64 & it's nice to know that man;s best friend was also made welcome with treats etc. Hope to see you again if in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

After a gruelling day driving from the hot weather in Skye with just about every difficulty possible thrown in Ifound myself stranded in a rotten overnight stay that refused to serve food, So despite being tired, cold and starving hungry not having eaten for over 12 hours I was forced to find a place to eat.
How one's luck can change in an instant. I saw this restaurant and they found me a table, No big deal you might say, but I am disabled, was decidedly travel weary and looked it, My hearing aids had packed up earlier and thus was profoundly deaf and conversation needed to be at high volume.Not only found me a table but served delightful food extremely well cooked in the most efficient and friendly manner possible. Not cheap but wonderful fresh crab was followed by venison cooked perfectly and cheeses to die for. Despite dietary problems dictated by severe diabetes and a serious heart issue I was able to find and get not only suitable food, but delicious food served with a smile.

This is how restaurants should be, Congratulations to the staff there

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank daithelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Wow! very kinds words indeed & it's great we managed to put a smile back on your face after a gruelling day. Certainly makes our job rewarding when you receive comments like this & will pass on your gratitude to all members of staff who were working on the shift whilst you were dining with us.
Sincerely hope to see you again if passing in the area& again thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queens Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing