We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

Queens Head Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

This is our third year staying at the Queens Head and it did not disappoint. A lovely stay in every respect and we were sorry to leave. Excellent room with plenty of space and lots of cupboards in the bathroom. Room really really clean - no problems with my dust allergy throughout. Breakfast very good. We ate here all four nights as the food is excellent. The Berwick crab salad starter is to die for but everything we had (monkfish, pork, venison) was superb. Staff remembered us and service was excellent, friendly and attentive. Highly recommended.

Thank LDreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Many thanks for your kind & honest review & guessing I am just reiterating what I have just said in one of my last management responses. This is a very competitive market & it's pretty humbling or satisfying from our perspective that you & many alike continue to return to our hotel.
Thank you very much & we hopefully we can continue to be pro active but maintain that personal touch that so many guests enjoy. ps hope to see you both in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2018

We went as a party of 5 on Saturday evening and were welcomed warmly and seated at a booth which was very comfortable, the staff were friendly and attentive and food is absolutely delicious and a great quality and extremely well cooked and cared about, I noticed only two chefs on Duty ! So well done for presenting such a meal and shows well experienced chefs.
The Mairtre D and waitress are Husband and wife and their experience shows.
All in all a great experience and not an expensive bill.
Great place to take the family.

Thank josie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Many thanks for your kind comments Josie & your dining experience was an enjoyable one. Attention to detail plays a big part & the smaller touches do add up to a more enjoyable experience, guessing that's only if the guests recognise this.
Thankfully we have staff that take great pride in their work & the old saying 'your only as good as your last meal' certainly bares some truth.
Just to let you know the Mairtre D is not my wife, she is my assistant manager but in truth you are not the first person to say this!! lol again I guess it just shows the young lady enjoys her profession & lastly enjoys working at the Queens Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

This is a charming little hotel - very welcoming, helpful staff. Attention to detail is amazing, with lots of thoughtful touches in the very well appointed rooms. Very comfortable bed, and a great shower! The food is excellent, and Gary is a terrific host. Our second stay, and we will definitely be back.

Thank johnandmaureenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

A big thanks John & Maureen for returning to our hotel & we appreciate this considering how competitive the market is. We must be doing something right??
In truth it is getting more & more difficult in our industry to please customers, so it;s great when the guests give you positive feed-back & I will most certainly pass on the gratitude back to the staff.
The old saying 'you are only as good as your staff' certainly bares some truth & thankfully we have consistent & reliable staff who returning guests recognise which makes a difference.
Fingers crossed we hope to see you in the not too distant future & continue to deliver what you both have come to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We have visited the Queens head several times recently since last review, firstly as 4 for Sunday lunch with our youngest son and his wife, secondly for an evening meal for 2 and thirdly as a family meal for 6 with children aged 9, 7, and 2, and can honestly say thoroughly enjoyed every meal and service, the children's meal were home made and the kids really liked them no complaints and thinking they want to go back, our evening meal for 2 was excellent and could not fault the Sunday lunch, so all in all top notch

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mickwendy_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thanks Micheal for your comments & happy to know your recent visits either just ourselves or with the grand children were a success. In a small town like Berwick reputation either through word of mouth, recommendations or repeat business is everything & we would just like to say thank you very much for your continued support & ps hope to see you all soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely meal food always very good, they made it very special for my daughters birthday, will be back again soon

Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Many thanks for your kind comments Veronica & it's pleasing to know your daughter enjoyed her special occasion & all being well we see you return again if not before the next birthday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queens Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing