We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and atmosphere - so good we've returned 2 years in a row”

Queens Head Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 22 July 2018

What a great find in Berwick Upon Tweed. The restaurant of the Queens Head Hotel will not disappoint. A welcoming team who immediately put you at ease in their lovely restaurant. We first visited in July 2017 when visiting Berwick Upon Tweed with friends and decided to return again when we visited again this year and we were not disappointed. We enjoyed fabulous starters and mains and complemented by a lovely wine list. Well worth a visit if you're local you're already know about it but if you're looking for somewhere to eat in Berwick Upon Tweed there's a good reason the Queens Head Hotel Restaurant is number 1 on Trip Advisor so check it out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Kind words indeed Shona & your obviously gluten's for punishment??
lol
In truth though with the market being as competitive as it is, it's great to know your first visit had created a lasting impression that you decided to return & thankfully we managed to maintain & repeat the standards & experience you had expected.
We do not have an extensive menu but what dishes we select are chosen carefully taking into consideration seasonal local produce. In my own opinion an extensive wine list can be some what confusing & we would rather have on a list that sells at a price customers don't raise their eyebrows at, like in main high end restaurants.
Hopefully in time you may return to the area & you can visit us where we can provide just as much of enjoyable experience as your previous visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2018

We booked this hotel and restaurant as an overnight stop. The hotel is excellent, grade 2 listed so a little quirky but lovely. Great greeting on arrival. The dinner was superb, service was excellent, friendly and efficient. The food was just lovely and I would highly recommend it.
Breakfast was very good too.

All in all an excellent overnight stop.

Thanks!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Many thanks for your kind words Peter & it's great to know all of the departments met your approval & more. In truth I think it's very important that we are able to deliver & meet the guests requirements & expectations as with the market being so competitive & if this is met guests are more than likely to return or pass on recommendations to family & friends.
All being well that you may decide to return in the future & your next visit will be just as an enjoyable one?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

We enjoyed dinner, we all had a different meal and enjoyed it. The service was friendly, cheerful and efficient.

Thank bramble40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Many thanks for your kind words & nice to see all of your group although choosing different dishes enjoyed their meals & the hospitality you were given. In truth their is such a fine line between being efficient & professional rather than being annoyingly intrusive, thankfully all the boxes were ticked & we may see you in the future all being well? Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

2nd visit and enjoyed it even more this time ! Food presentation, quality and mix of flavours was excellent. Service was exceptional and all staff were extremely welcoming and attentive. Dog also made very welcome and doggy treats made available. Will definitely be back . Thank you

1  Thank Max3123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Kind words indeed Max! It's great to see that both times you have visited us you have enjoyed. Consistency is everything or you are both gluten's for punishment?? lol
On a serious note though being here 18 years we still continue to be pro-active & look across the board where we can improve our business.
Let's hope next time you visit us with the addition of your furry little friend we are able to provide another enjoyable experience.?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

First time here. Heard ok reports so we popped in without booking. All 3 corse of my husbands meal were not acceptable food was either over cooked or under cooked. We didn't pay for his meal and staff were apologetic but not sure if I would go back again.

Thank Shacklock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thank you for your constructive review Shadlock & firstly let us apologise for your not so enjoyable visit with us.
I am slightly perturbed with you mentioning that you had just heard ok reports from other friends or family as with being here for 18 years we have gained a very good reputation for providing a package of consistency, quality, locally sourced seasonal produce, friendly & efficient hospitality.
I have spoken to all our members of staff with regards recent visits & no-one can recollect experiencing the problems you experienced? However that not to say this did not happen. One particular reason why I asked the staff was in truth us giving a complimentary meal away rather than trying to rectify the problem which we would always try to do if we get an individual dish wrong, as it is most certainly in our interest whilst guests are dining with us they leave the hotel happy & content.
Again not sure how we could get 3 dishes wrong & not to your satisfaction but as previously mentioned consistency & continuity is a must in our trade & we take pride in this as other potential guests can see from other past reviews we have received many guests are more than complimentary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queens Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing