We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly service”

Queens Head Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We liked this restaurant so much that we went back the following evening. The salmon is especially recommended - the staff are helpful and friendly and Gary the owner is a superb host. Highly recommended!

Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Kind words indeed Michael & please accept our thanks on returning the follow evening to dine with us. I am aware there is competition in the town & in truth it's great to see the standards& bench marks are improving all the time, maybe I am biased but I would like to think we still offer the best food in the town obviously taking into consideration all aspects of the business, ie consistency, continuity, service & atmosphere however that certainly does not make us complacent, if you stand still you get passed by from other food operators.
All being well let's hope we see you return to the hotel & enjoy the beautiful area we live in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Came for a family meal whilst visiting the area. Very good choice. Nice old building, good ambience, friendly staff and excellent food. Good bread and oil served first. Starters (scallops and crab with avocado) could have been a tad larger for the price, but were tasty. Mains were excellent - local haddock with thick chips - very good. Braised venison and a lasagne were also tasty. Good desserts and cheeseboard - altogether an excellent meal in nice surroundings. Highly recommend.

Thank 39stepsBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Many thanks for your kind words & looking at your other reviews you are a seasoned traveller. In your review you mentioned all specific dishes which are all locally sourced excluding the scallops. We do our utmost to ensure all produce is sourced locally including cheeses etc. Thankfully your overall experience with us was a pleasant & most enjoyable one. Fingers crossed we may see you again if you are returning to visit the surrounding area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

What a great find in Berwick Upon Tweed. The restaurant of the Queens Head Hotel will not disappoint. A welcoming team who immediately put you at ease in their lovely restaurant. We first visited in July 2017 when visiting Berwick Upon Tweed with friends and decided to return again when we visited again this year and we were not disappointed. We enjoyed fabulous starters and mains and complemented by a lovely wine list. Well worth a visit if you're local you're already know about it but if you're looking for somewhere to eat in Berwick Upon Tweed there's a good reason the Queens Head Hotel Restaurant is number 1 on Trip Advisor so check it out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Kind words indeed Shona & your obviously gluten's for punishment??
lol
In truth though with the market being as competitive as it is, it's great to know your first visit had created a lasting impression that you decided to return & thankfully we managed to maintain & repeat the standards & experience you had expected.
We do not have an extensive menu but what dishes we select are chosen carefully taking into consideration seasonal local produce. In my own opinion an extensive wine list can be some what confusing & we would rather have on a list that sells at a price customers don't raise their eyebrows at, like in main high end restaurants.
Hopefully in time you may return to the area & you can visit us where we can provide just as much of enjoyable experience as your previous visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We booked this hotel and restaurant as an overnight stop. The hotel is excellent, grade 2 listed so a little quirky but lovely. Great greeting on arrival. The dinner was superb, service was excellent, friendly and efficient. The food was just lovely and I would highly recommend it.
Breakfast was very good too.

All in all an excellent overnight stop.

Thanks!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Many thanks for your kind words Peter & it's great to know all of the departments met your approval & more. In truth I think it's very important that we are able to deliver & meet the guests requirements & expectations as with the market being so competitive & if this is met guests are more than likely to return or pass on recommendations to family & friends.
All being well that you may decide to return in the future & your next visit will be just as an enjoyable one?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

We enjoyed dinner, we all had a different meal and enjoyed it. The service was friendly, cheerful and efficient.

Thank bramble40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Many thanks for your kind words & nice to see all of your group although choosing different dishes enjoyed their meals & the hospitality you were given. In truth their is such a fine line between being efficient & professional rather than being annoyingly intrusive, thankfully all the boxes were ticked & we may see you in the future all being well? Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queens Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing