We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Queens Head Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely meal. Nortumberland sausage for the young one, poached salmon and haddock for the older ones, and salmon and duck for the middle aged ones. Excellent service and a very good meal. Also loved the local pint.

Thank TheMortons001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Many thanks for your review & great to see an eclectic mix of people & we were more than happy to provide a variety of food for you all to enjoy. Here's hoping we may see you again if you all decide to return to this part of Northumberland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Fantastic food lovely staff, would recommend to anyone.
We are staying there next Friday,and having my fiftey wedding anniversary dinner with family and friends,it will be fabulous.

Thank emf0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Kind words indeed & not sure we are worthy of the praise as all we are doing is trying to provide a service for locals who can spread the word or generate some business through social media, recommendations, referrals & transient customers.
Her's hoping we can continue to provide lots more satisfaction for you both & you continue to support us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

We had a wonderful meal at the restaurant, steak was cooked to perfection (venison and beef), nothing too much trouble for the staff and the owner/chef. Highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mandalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Many thanks for your kind words & I will certainly pass on the compliments to the chefs in the kitchen. In truth it's a fine line what everyone's interpretation of how their steaks are cooked.
We source all of our produce locally except for salmon this year & good chefs are worth their weight in gold, thankfully having our chefs for some considerable time, continuity & consistency is everything. Preparing your meats leaving them at room temperature before sealing them & then leaving them to rest before they are served to the customer are all important factors in producing satisfaction from a customers perspective.
Thankfully everything was to your satisfaction on your visit with us & here's hoping we may see you in the future if you passing by again. Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

We come here fairly often. This time we took some friends and their dog. They come from London and were amazed at how good it was, and allowed to take their dog as well. There are some very good restaurants in Berwick and this is one of the best. We feel lucky to live close by! Excellent vegetarian choices and were prepared to offer vegan too so we were well catered for. The bread offered at the start is fantastic and we all thoroughly enjoyed our food. Service very friendly and attentive, but not OTT. Thank you, we'll be back again soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Millie116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Many thanks Millie for your comments & great to see you return with friends to enjoy another meal with us. I am aware you are vegetarian but with a varied menu which changes on a regular basis to accommodate seasonal produce, in this day & age & changing times it's important to provide dishes to suit peoples needs, ie vegans, allergies & intolerance's. All of our dishes have itemised ingredients to provide consistency & continuity in the kitchen & reassure our customers regarding their allergies.
The smaller touches, ie water, bread dips etc provided make such a difference & its appreciated when customers notice this & comment upon them.
Hope to see you in the not too distant future & fingers crossed we can continue to provide the same level of experience & enjoyment?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We liked this restaurant so much that we went back the following evening. The salmon is especially recommended - the staff are helpful and friendly and Gary the owner is a superb host. Highly recommended!

Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Kind words indeed Michael & please accept our thanks on returning the follow evening to dine with us. I am aware there is competition in the town & in truth it's great to see the standards& bench marks are improving all the time, maybe I am biased but I would like to think we still offer the best food in the town obviously taking into consideration all aspects of the business, ie consistency, continuity, service & atmosphere however that certainly does not make us complacent, if you stand still you get passed by from other food operators.
All being well let's hope we see you return to the hotel & enjoy the beautiful area we live in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queens Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing