We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner”

Queens Head Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly staff. The food was very good and served quickly. I liked the menu which had alternative options compared to what we had seen before.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank caceja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review Caceja & happy to know your visit with us was an enjoyable one. Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2018

Looking for somewhere to eat on a Sunday evening we came across the TA reviews on the Queens Head restaurant and made a booking. When we arrived we were shown to a small bar area for pre dining drinks and to study the menu. The three members of staff who served us through the evening were all very friendly and pleasant. The menu although not large has a good choice of options and for our main courses between us we opted for a pheasant curry, Pan seared venison and baked salmon. Everyone agreed the food was all tasty, cooked perfectly and very filling. We would all certainly recommend the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind comments Peter, & it's pleasing to know all of your party enjoyed their food & overall experience on your visit with us.
Although being here for 18 years we are continuously looking on how to improve all of our departments & trying to stay ahead of our competitors.
We do offer a limited menu of 7 starters & 10 main courses but this taking into consideration fresh local seasonal produce & trying to ensure all dishes are consistent from raw ingredients, mise en place & presentation to all our guests. Consistency & continuity is everything in our profession. Enough of me rabbling on!! Thankfully you all enjoyed & I will pass on your gratitude to all of our employees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

The food is superb and the staff very friendly.
One of us is vegan and they were very attentive.
Highly recommend.

Thank AmparoE812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Praise indeed!!! On a serious note though it's obviously in our own interest that we cater for peoples needs & requirements in this day & age or you will get left behind from your competitors.
In truth I personally think our chefs enjoy serving vegan food as their is a bit of diversity & it certainly keeps them up to date on legalities of having all ingredients itemised & giving the customer peace of mind, Lastly from our perspective dishes are therefore more consistent & there's also continuity from a cost.
Ps here's hoping you may return in the future?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We stayed at the Queens and used the restaurant for three nights the food is very high quality and substantial helpings all with great service

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phil Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

A big thanks for your compliments Phil & it's satisfying from our perspective everything was to your needs & requirements. Here's hoping we may see you both again in the future?.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Our favourite place for evening dinner in Berwick. An excellent menu and something of the atmosphere of an historic inn.

1  Thank MargaretI21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Many thanks Margaret for your kind words & it's very pleasing to know that the Queens Head is your favourite restaurant considering how much competition there is out in the town.
Been here 18 years hopefully we have gained a reputation for consistency & continuity & here;s hoping we can continue to deliver the same level in the foreseeable future. We are constantly looking on how to improve all sectors of our business & as you mentioned with being a historic Inn with characteristics we try to retain these whilst creating a contemporary feel & hopefully we achieve this?
Let's hope to see you both in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queens Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing