We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and Dog Friendly ”

Queens Head Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

We found the Queens Head on the doggiepubs website and we’re not disappointed. The food was excellent. We are from the specials menu and had Haddock and Chips (in top 5 of fish and chips ever) and chicken curry which was delicately spiced with just a bit of heat. The warmed carrot cake was amazing and made a delicious meal. I would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Chf32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Many thanks for your positive comments Chf32. The internet is a powerful tool & although it's impossible to please everyone, prospective customers can make their own decision if a place looks appealing & is right for them. Thankfully we ticked all your boxes & in truth I didn't even know that this site exists, most unusual where a site is not charging for their services??
Here's hoping we can continue to provide satisfaction to all prospective customers & man's best friend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

Great food and lovely service. Very welcoming for a Saturday night when we had children with us.
The homemade breads were amazing with the balsamic vinegars and olive oil,especially the jalapeño bread

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank rachelhesketh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you Rachel for your kind words & we would like to think it's the small details & personal touches that sometimes do stand out from the conglomerates. We make our own bread, dips & balsamic on site & reading from other previous reviews past customers do appreciate this. makes a difference when you are also child friendly offering a good selection of meals to try & cater for everyone.
Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

We visited here on the strength of it being a dog friendly lunch time spot. We are so glad we did the food was delicious and the service very friendly. Well worth a visit if your in the local area.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank lazytoad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Many thanks for your comments lazytoad & it's certainly pleasing to know that you managed to find a dog friendly restaurant who can offer good consistent local produce but also welcome's man's best friend with an offering of dog treats. Here's hoping you know where to return to if your passing through the area again. Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Just around the corner from our B&B we discovered this restaurant on our last night in Berwick. The food was just delicious and very plentiful. My wife had Venison Liver to start and Duck Breast for mains - both were perfectly cooked and delicious.
Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 895jonathanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thanks Jonathan for your kind comments & we appreciate your mention of delicious & plentiful food.
In truth we try to offer as much seasonal local produce as possible at customers perception of' value for money'. I can appreciate this does differ regarding each persons opinion but generally reading back on other reviews our past customers were more than happy & fingers crossed we can continue to provide this for the future?
Consistency is everything in a small town & recommendation, referrals & word of mouth certainly go a long way to achieving this especially in the winter time when you are reliant on locals as our town is very seasonal.
Hopefully we may see you again in the future if you decide to return to the surrounding area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

We were staying at Wooler & busted for the day. Great service & staff. We sat outside as the weather was so nice.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank coralh827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Many thanks for your comments Coral & it;'s certainly pleasing that your spontaneous visit with us was an enjoyable one. All being well if you return to the area, you know where to find us?
Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queens Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing