We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent every time”

Queens Head Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 26 January 2019 via mobile

Our fourth meal at the Queens Head and all have been excellent. This time we both had fillet steak, cooked to perfection in both cases and with really creative additions including haggis. Great cheese board and really friendly staff. We will be back.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Tonykedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind comments Tony & it's pleasing to know that on all of your visits to us have all ticked the boxes & you keep coming back for punishment! lol
On a serious note we really appreciate your continued support & fingers crossed we can continue to deliver the same sort of quality & consistency on any other future visits with us. See you both soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2019

We booked in the Queens restaurant for New Years Eve and had a great evening.

Arrival with a glass of bubbly in the bar then invited through to our table and the evening multi course taster menu. Starting with a plate of canapés through soup, fish, main, desert, cheese and coffee every course was beautifully put together, very very tasty and supplemented by a wonderful bottle of Italian Costalago Rosso Veronese.

Service was exceptional, very efficient but mixed with some very friendly chat.

I would have no hesitation recommending the Queens for both the quality of the food and the service, both are outstanding.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PJB071962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind words & we are most pleased that your evening with us was an enjoyable one. In truth 'taster menus are not to everyone's taste as with a certain amount of courses this does actually push up the price of the meal. Here's hoping we may see you return next New Year's Eve or if not before. Appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2019

good points: the one female wait staff was friendly and attentive; the place was busy;
less good points: the interior is a bit tired, one starter out of 3 was awful and microwaved to within an inch of its life, other 2 starters were ok (and before folk say 'why didnt you say 'ooo yuk please take this away?' and do what? they served it like this and they thought it was good enough to go out, so what would I have achieved and you just dont like to make a scene at xmas); the xmas main courses were just ok and on the skinny side in portion control (if we had one parsnip divided by 3 of us I would have been shocked and I would have had to lick the pattern off the plate to taste any 'bacon jam' I was told it was there lol!) and again the food tasted microwaved; didnt stay for dessert.So in conclusion,other people seem happy with it, and we aint a picky bunch believe me, but on this showing we would not return

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Firstly let me apologise for your unhappy visit with us in the December period Helen. I am certainly not on to contradict as you are the paying customer & in your review you mentioned your not picky? Feedback is everything & surely it's in our interest that customers leave our premises happy & content. If a dish is not too your satisfaction we would like an opportunity to rectify the problem or replace the dish rather saying nothing & leaving to post a review on Trip Advisor.
Looking at the starters which were in an inch of life, there were no dishes microwaved pheasant hock, cullen skink soup, marinated goats cheese, butternut squash pate, carrot & cumin broth & lastly crab pot??
With the main courses obviously the pork was not too your liking & the bacon & chilli jam was served in a separate dish & your comment seems harsh regarding one parsnip between 3 people?? But your not picky?
Apologies for any perspective customers regarding my response, we are only human & do make mistakes just please give us an opportunity to rectify the problem rather than saying nothing & posting it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

We had a really excellent lunch here and would highly recommend it.
Cauliflower and kale soup followed by very fresh fish and chips .
No hesitation in giving this 5/5. Third time we have eaten here and it has not disappointed.
Very friendly service and to make it even better, our dog was made very welcome.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank WMNichol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Many thanks for your great comments Mr Nichol & in truth it's pleasing to know you have visited us 3 times & on all occasions you have enjoyed the visit. Fingers crossed we can continue to provide your pleasant experiences in the future. Certainly makes a difference when you find a nice place which is dog friendly & who also provide dog treats. lol Here's hoping we see you both in the bot too distant future?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2018

This was our second visit here as a family. Our initial experience was utterly exquisite, a year later I am pleased to report that the standard is just as high, if not even higher. My father had the belly pork, which he described as the best he has ever had, and my sister and brother in law were both very complimentary about their meals as well. I had the cod wrapped in parma ham for my main, and it was divine - very simple but every mouthful was a delight. Gary is a wonderful host, providing a friendly and dedicated service. Simple touches such as taking our coats at the beginning of the meal, and providing bread and water on the table as standard service just added to the friendly and welcoming atmosphere. The only negative to this place is that it is so far from home - otherwise I'd be back at least once a week!

Thanks again for a wonderful evening, hope to see you soon!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2018

Wow kind words indeed Diana & I will certainly pass on your compliments to the staff. In truth not sure we deserve that kind of recognition. We are just doing our job to the level of what our customers expectations are & we continually look on how we can improve our standards across the board.
Fingers crossed it's not too long before you can return & hopefully enjoy a similar enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queens Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing