We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vension ever !”

Queens Head Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 13 February 2019

Enjoyed very much two lovely meals recently - early and late December - for birthdays. On both occasions had the venison which was the best ever ! Service was excellent - both young lady from Germany and on the latter occasion the owner. Both treated us very warmly, professionally but not "over the top". The food also was excellent - hot and very tasty. Will definitely recommend to friends and will certainly be back !

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JOHN04LEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

High praise indeed John!! In truth we really appreciate your comments & it's great to know your 2 visits with us were just as enjoyable as the other. Our aim regarding menus is to provide local seasonal produce & the venison you ate on both visits is sourced only 8 miles from Berwick. We buy the whole beast so we use all of the beast for stock & make our own burgers hence the reasoning of being able to offer pink burgers as the burgers are made on the premises.
Lastly thank you for giving recognition to our assistant manager who has been with us for 7 years & treats the business like it's her own. She is certainly an asset to the business.!
Here's hoping we see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2019 via mobile

My wife and I regularly do the journey between Newcastle and Dundee and thought we would treat ourselves to a bite to eat along with our canine companion. The positive reviews we read for the Queenshead lived up to expectation. Food and service were canny good! We will certainly be paying them another visit in the future.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank supermac21uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kind words indeed Supermac! Great to know you all enjoyed you visit with us whilst passing though. Obviously you did some research regarding finding dog friendly restaurants & in truth it does make such a difference finding somewhere where you can relax, enjoy your meal & receive good customer service.
The internet is a powerful tool & obviously I am aware it's impossible to please everyone we certainly try as it's in our interest that all customers coming though our door leave happy & content hopefully to either return or spread the word?
Here's hoping we see you return in the not too distant future when your passing through either way & you fancy a pit stop!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019 via mobile

Visited early evening in February with friends. Lots of choice on the menu, I had the venison stew followed by Lemon & Gin parfait, which were both excellent. The staff were really friendly and knowledgeable. We will definitely be back, and I will take the dog next time having found out it welcomes dogs.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Welltower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

A big thanks for your kind words & great to know all of your 2 legged & four legged friends all enjoy your visit with us. It certainly makes a difference where you can find a dog friendly eatery but at the same time provide good fresh produce at the same time. These days with the markets & competition being so competitive, you have to go that extra mile to ensure all customers have an enjoyable experience.
Although we have been here for 19 years one thing is for sure we continue to be pro-active. Hope to see you all again in the future if your returning to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2019 via mobile

We were a cold, wet family of 7 adults, 1 baby after getting caught in bad weather walking. Despite not having booked we were readily accommodated for Sunday lunch. The staff were efficient and welcoming, the food was excellent and we had a thoroughly good time. We came once before mid-cycle ride and had the pheasant curry which was also fantastic.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 695carolinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind review Caroline & it's certainly pleasing from our perspective that all of your party enjoyed their visit with us & fingers crossed if your passing through the area again you know where to visit & all being well we can deliver just as a enjoyable experience. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2019 via mobile

Our fourth meal at the Queens Head and all have been excellent. This time we both had fillet steak, cooked to perfection in both cases and with really creative additions including haggis. Great cheese board and really friendly staff. We will be back.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Tonykedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind comments Tony & it's pleasing to know that on all of your visits to us have all ticked the boxes & you keep coming back for punishment! lol
On a serious note we really appreciate your continued support & fingers crossed we can continue to deliver the same sort of quality & consistency on any other future visits with us. See you both soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queens Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing