We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food, defensive attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cobbled Yard Hotel
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor food, defensive attitude”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Had 2 night stay here. Although room was clean and functional, the food and owner's attitude left a lot to be desired. Complained about the food on Saturday evening but nothing was done, told the owner on departure but again nothing was done, still had to pay for an awful meal. Even after this, tried to make small talk but found a very hostile attitude, not what you want after a long journey and paying much more than it was worth. Experience shows that better options were available.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    19
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
35
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed in the cobbled yard for one night .. The man who gave me the key was uninterested, the room was small and poky hardly any room to walk around the bed the shower room was a converted cupboard but some how i managed.After a shower i visited the bar which only sold carlsberg lager very flat and overpriced carlsberg lager the barmaid was very pleasant and helpful though.Food was expensive and well below par a side order of garlic bread should consist of more than 2 paltry pieces surely, asking for a key to use the toilet was also impractical and embarrassing, and as for raising all this at the time why bother your hotel is so shabby and badly run whats the point u couldnt fix that place in a year never mind a night id just rather never come back ...also breakfast starting at 8.30 is useless for people who need to work and on leaving the premises no staff or reception meant the key got left in the porch and was left to let myself out the front door as all was locked up TERRIBLE

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barty76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Must admit, I was a bit unsure when I booked here for 8 guys on a golf trip.
Don't know why as the staff were excellent and so friendly. Food was great and rooms comfortable and clean. We were even running the bar at one point. Highly recommended if your looking for genuine hospitality and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay, had the luxury of paying for a double and getting the spacious family room, with a double and two single. Great room, TV/DVD and en suite, all singing and all dancing.
Friendly staff on arrival and departure. Nice breakfast. Private off street parking solved the work of Berwick's and North Northumberland council Hitler like Traffic wardens and their pay everywhere motto. The owners allowed us to remain parked a few hours after we had departed to allow us to visit the beer and food festival along the road at Parade.
Only downside was being wakened in the wee hours by Geordie drunken revellers singing and arguing in the street outside, no double glazing. Will be back though as excellent service and excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekiltedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Upon examining the contents of your review, let me make a few points. The construction of both male and female toilets in the establishment makes it impossible for there to be a smell of stale urine; also the toilets have appropriate ventilation.

Did you raise any of your concerns with the staff during your meal, if so the staff would have been sympathetic to your concerns and would have offered your party alternative dishes from the extensive menu. If you or any members of your party had concerns, it was something you should have raised at the time.

It is easy to take the route you have taken in making a complaint on-line with an element of anonymity, whilst I recognise that it is your right to complain, yours is a lone voice amongst hundreds of regular and satisfied clientele including some high-profile patrons in the county of Northumberland.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chefSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Had a lovely weekend at The Cobbled Yard from Friday 23rd to Sunday 25th August. The staff couldn't do enough for you and made you feel really welcome. The room was really comfortable and very, very clean. We decided to finish off our stay with Sunday lunch. I realize they were very busy but I'm not surprised - the dinner was extremely good and reasonable. The staff coped extremely well and everything I asked for was promptly seen too. The restaurant certainly is not shabbly but is, as anyone can see from the outside a lovely traditional hotel/restaurant. It's not a "boutique" hotel either with the breakfast tied to your door but lovely traditional english breakfast served in the restaurant which we both really enjoyed. Looking forward to another stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janet Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We booked for Sunday Lunch on Sunday the 25th Aug there was 5 of us. We arrived for our 12.30 reservation and were told that's your table in the middle the menu is on the wall. It all looked very shabby and the was a terrible smell of stale urine. We had to go up to the bar to get a drink, when our food arrived it was all very cold and it tasted like food that was left over from Saturday. We go to Berwick a lot and to say we will never go back is an understatement, the roast potatoes were like rocks and the veg is all frozen and burnt Yorkshire puddings, the put a blackboard down on the table and said that was the sweets. At no time did any one ask us if we wanted a sweet or a coffee or if every thing was okay, we paid the bill and went select where for a nice coffee, we will never go back to this place again.

Room Tip: I've didn't stay in the hotel, but after the bad food I would never stay any way
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berwick-upon-Tweed hotels
0.3 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
412 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#9 of 46 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wallace Green Hall
Wallace Green Hall
#12 of 46 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#11 of 46 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parade School Guest House
Parade School Guest House
#7 of 46 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cobbled Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cobbled Yard Hotel

Property: The Cobbled Yard Hotel
Address: 40 Walkergate, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cobbled Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cobbled Yard Hotel Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing