We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“evening meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cobbled Yard Hotel
Elland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“evening meal”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay here, just called for evening meal. The food was very good, reasonably priced and presented well. Unfortunately my partner and I were the only diners that evening, but the lady who served us was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiemay234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    19
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
34
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have stayed here quite a few times and its great food and ale and friendly staff near to the town centre. I have eaten breakfast once but now the train times have changed so I have to leave at 0630.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quitemystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nice place to stay clean, food good staff friendly. We ate breakfast and evening meals here all was very good. It has it's own parking and is convenient for all the sites. The staff were helpful and we were able to visit everywhere without using the car.

Room Tip: Room we had was fine didn't,t see other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We went at lunch time and opted for the daily special deal (£6.95 for 3 courses). All food was freshly cooked and delicious. A nice atmosphere and pleasant staff made it a very enjoyable visit. Highly recommend to any locals or tourists. Good grub nod good prices!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amn89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Had 2 night stay here. Although room was clean and functional, the food and owner's attitude left a lot to be desired. Complained about the food on Saturday evening but nothing was done, told the owner on departure but again nothing was done, still had to pay for an awful meal. Even after this, tried to make small talk but found a very hostile attitude, not what you want after a long journey and paying much more than it was worth. Experience shows that better options were available.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed in the cobbled yard for one night .. The man who gave me the key was uninterested, the room was small and poky hardly any room to walk around the bed the shower room was a converted cupboard but some how i managed.After a shower i visited the bar which only sold carlsberg lager very flat and overpriced carlsberg lager the barmaid was very pleasant and helpful though.Food was expensive and well below par a side order of garlic bread should consist of more than 2 paltry pieces surely, asking for a key to use the toilet was also impractical and embarrassing, and as for raising all this at the time why bother your hotel is so shabby and badly run whats the point u couldnt fix that place in a year never mind a night id just rather never come back ...also breakfast starting at 8.30 is useless for people who need to work and on leaving the premises no staff or reception meant the key got left in the porch and was left to let myself out the front door as all was locked up TERRIBLE

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barty76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Must admit, I was a bit unsure when I booked here for 8 guys on a golf trip.
Don't know why as the staff were excellent and so friendly. Food was great and rooms comfortable and clean. We were even running the bar at one point. Highly recommended if your looking for genuine hospitality and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berwick-upon-Tweed hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#11 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#9 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle Vale House
Castle Vale House
#12 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cobbled Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cobbled Yard Hotel

Property: The Cobbled Yard Hotel
Address: 40 Walkergate, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cobbled Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cobbled Yard Hotel Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing